We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place”
Review of Half Note Lounge

Half Note Lounge
Ranked #18 of 121 Restaurants in Bowie
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: MD Rt. 450
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

I hosted an event here for about 21 people this was my first time every going though I have heard nothing, but good things. I was not impressed with the layout of the place, however it is a nice place to go and the food and drinks are awesome. The old school music was hitting and the live band that played while we were there sound really good there is also a small dance floor or you can dance at your seat. Ladies I must warn you the men are on a prowl every time we walked past the bar...so if you are single handle your business. Overall it was really a nice place to go and kick it with friends where the staff was on point and very knowledgable of the business. I suggest you go and just have some fun. I will be going back soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelingirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Group Nite Out”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We have never been to Half Note before, so we decided to check it out. When we called to make reservations for about 30 people, they wanted to charge us $1,200+ for the private room. So we opted to sit in the main dining room. Luckily for us, since we arrived early we were able to get the private dining room anyway. I ordered the shrimp and grits, which came with fried green tomatoes. The main dish was flavorful but the tomatoes had no flavor at all, just the taste of corn meal. Not sure the shrimp dish was worth the price either. Everyone else seemed to enjoy their food and dessert except for the bread pudding. Everyone said that it was missing something. The waitress was very nice and was on top of her game (almost- she forgot the mac & cheese that I ordered. But I don't think I needed it.). Everyone seemed to have a good time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nikkicapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
285 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“My Happy Place”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Hubby and I recently celebrated our anniversary at Half Note and it was amazing as usual. The atmoshere is always fun and lively. The music is always on point, plenty of space for dancing and the food is great. The customer service was commendable, the decor was impressive and there is ALWAYS something going on at this place...party party party! Going back soon with the Ladies for Karaoke Night (every Tuesday)...can't wait! Drink specials are an added bonus....come early, it gets very busy very fast. Happy hour is from 4-7pm, after that there may be a cover charge depending on the entertainment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Just_Me_Bernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Home cooking”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Half note is a jazz bar with a Sunday brunch that will knock your socks off. They brunch consist of waffles, crab legs, fried fish, baked fish, fried chicken, baked chicken, mac n cheese, grits, an omelette station and more. You would think your grandmother was in the kitchen cooking just for you.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I had a Great Time at the Half Note in 2009”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I took the young lady I was dating to the Half Note for her B-day in 2009. The live band was great and the place was packed. My food was pretty good. The waitress was very accommodating in bringing out the B-day cake as I had requested. I think they helped to make the night special for her.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barry a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Half Note Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Half Note Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing