We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over smoked...”
Review of Mission BBQ

Mission BBQ
Ranked #1 of 52 Restaurants in California
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Solomons, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over smoked...”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had heard good reports, so decided to give it a try and got carryout one Sunday evening. We all got 3 Meat Platters, and opted for different meats so we could try them all. We thought the meat was over-smoked, salty, and dry. Even the corn bread was burned. The best meat was the chicken. We may go back and try eating in next time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBR973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    28
    9
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very dry and chewy brisket”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Was very impressed with the ambience and layout of the restaurant. We were a party of four, and two of us ordered the brisket sandwich. We both found the meat to be extremely dry. I eat a lot of BBQ, and this brisket was not nearly as good as I have had in the past.
I will go back and try the ribs or another option from the menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeloShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Mills, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
142 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The food was EXCELLENT and reasonably priced! I had a half rack of baby back ribs and didn't even put any sauce on them! The fresh cut French fries were also good and plentiful. I also enjoyed the military and first responder décor. However, it is a noisy restaurant! The place was maybe half full and it was difficult to carry on a conversation. Today they flew the flag at half mast to honor the victims from the Washington Navy Yard. Very appropriate!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful addition to the neighborhood!!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is a wonderful restaurant created with supporting heroes. Walls are decorated commemorating heroes of armed forces, fire, and rescue. The portion size versus price paid is great. A YUMMY selection of various barbeque sauces for any barbeque lover. Family style restaurant. No outside seating. Restaurant can be very noisy during the busiest of times. They do offer call ahead for pick up.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adragonflyhsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just awesome”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

This place is just fantastic. Great food and atmosphere. The staff are so friendly and if you're Military or Emergency services you are made to feel very special. The food is fantastic and good value too. I'm going back today!!
Thank you to the Staff of Mission BBQ!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MatMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mission BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Mission BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing