We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Historic B&B on Maryland's Eastern Shore”

The Cambridge House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cambridge House
Ranked #2 of 5 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend getaway and enjoyed it greatly. The location is perfect, on a lovely street within easy walking distance of the marina and the downtown shopping/dining area. The house is on the National Register of Historic Places, and the owners have decorated it with a unique combination of period antique furniture and Latin American art from their years spent in South America. Just browsing around the public rooms was a treat! We also took full advantage of the large, comfortable porches (three of them!).

We stayed in the Governor's Room on the bottom floor, the most spacious and comfortable B&B room I've stayed in. It features its own side porch and wonderful chairs to lounge in by the electric fire.

The innkeepers are friendly and helpful, and their dog Max is a delight. Breakfasts were tasty and filling without being overwhelming; we enjoyed ours at a side table that offered a full view of the beautiful side garden.

A few minor things to bear in mind. Few bathroom amenities are provided, so you'll want to bring your own toiletries. We also found that, because of the house's age, people moving around above our room created some pretty loud noise in ours.

If you're planning a trip to the area, this is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Use the website to review the different rooms available and pick according to your needs and desires...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerrySK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

We enjoyed our stay and recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the eastern shore of Maryland. Location is central and near the river side. Accomocations were exceptional as was the breakfast.

Room Tip: Take the short walk to the river's edge and enjoy the view. Hostes are good source for local res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenrharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had a lovely stay for a girls getaway. Four of us girls stayed in the Dorchester room which was attached to a smaller room on the side. This set up was perfect for the 4 of us. It would be perfect for a family with kids as well ...the kids could stay in the smaller room on the side so as not to disturb the other guests. The room even had a fireplace and a balcony.

The location is just perfect. You can walk to the water and also to the center of Cambridge where the shops and restaurants are. We walked to a great restaurant in town (Poplar Bistro). WOuld highly recommend that restaurant also.

Best of all, the owners are wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed talking to them about all the placees they've lived in the world as Foreign Service Officers.

I'll certainly return here for a little getaway from DC.
Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank four_continents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We recently spent a lovely, relaxing weekend at the Cambridge House. We enjoyed the Schooner Rendezvous that was going on at the wharf and went on a walking tour of the town. Jim and Marianne, the B&B owners, gave great recommendations for restaurants and were very friendly and welcoming. They also cooked amazing food for breakfast both days we were there and our room was very comfortable. We would highly recommend this place to everyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hunt Room and it had an electric fireplace! Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed at the Cambridge House for a cycling trip to the Eastern Shore. On the way there we took a cycle trip from St Michael's and then went onward to Cambridge. The Cambridge House is a lovely B&B in the historic section of Cambridge. We were met by our host and given a short tour of the facility. Our room, The Governor's Room was on the ground floor and it was very comfortable and very quiet. Breakfast each morning was served in the dining room - two tables for two and one communal table. Breakfast was really tasty and fresh - a fritatta one morning and pancakes the second - I would have preferred more options like cereal or yoghurt for the fussier eater in our party but I enjoyed to food. The TV did not work in our room which was a bit disappointing as we like to chill and watch TV when we're away. Otherwise, it was wonderfully clean, very quiet and within walking distance of downtown restaurants and bars. Our host was friendly and informative re: cycling options.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alcarternj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

The Cambridge House has recently changed hands; the new owners are handling the transition well. It's a comfortable property, well-maintained, with large, well-appointed rooms and baths and pleasant common rooms. Cambridge House is also very conveniently located in a quiet neighborhood a few blocks off U.S. Rt. 50. It is within easy walking distance of several very good restaurants and a couple of blocks form the municipal marina and Cambridge Yacht Club, making it an indea place for a boater who wants to spend a night in the comfort of a small hotel. it is also convenient to some of the best cycling on the Eastern Shore of Maryland, and 12 miles from the Blackwater National Widlife Refuge.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAGTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
2.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Cambridge
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn And Suites
#4 of 5 in Cambridge
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
0.2 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#1 of 5 in Cambridge
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albanus Phillips Inn
Albanus Phillips Inn
#3 of 5 in Cambridge
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge House

Address: 112 High St., Cambridge, MD 21613-1844
Region: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: £21 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cambridge House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a romantic getaway or a productive business retreat in this charming 1847 manor located in the historic district, within walking distance to the marina, restaurants, specialty shops, galleries, and museums. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing