We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The way it used to be”
Review of Spocott Windmill

Spocott Windmill
Ranked #6 of 29 things to do in Cambridge
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The last remaining windmill of its kind in Maryland.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“The way it used to be”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We found this place listed in a guidebook at our motel, and it fit with our exploring travel plans for the day. This is a restored and/or transplanted set of buildings -- a one-room schoolhouse, the windmill, a store and an old cottage. We enjoyed the one-room schoolhouse the most, especially as my wife is a retired teacher. There were all kinds of old books, blackboards, the old fireplace, teacher's and couple of student's desks. The cottage was OK. The windmill was just to look at as the stairs going up were blocked and locked. The store was also locked. No guidebooks or anything. If you are in the neighborhood and this type of thing appeals to you, go ahead and stop. But not worth a special trip to see it. Best thing is the cost -- free!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Truly authentic! Living history!”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The simplicity is striking. Absolutely fantastic for anyone who enjoys history--or the lines of beautiful architecture and craftsmen. Built by the families of some of the best boat builders of the Chesapeake Bay! It shows!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Betsy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

If you are interested in history or have young children it is worthwhile. The little school house and small house are all very interesting to see. My kids love it every time we stop by. It's like going back in time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jamoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, MD
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just a windmill in a field”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

It's just a windmill in a field. Not particularly worth any special trip. Wouldn't go out of the way to see it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyMadison_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany NY
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“history up close”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Self-guided tour of a windmill that was relocated to the area. Several outbuildings in which you can enter and look around (watch out for bees!) There are some interpretive signs and brochures. Windmill and general store were closed during this visit, but a worthwhile stop. Donations requested - no fee.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank global2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Spocott Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing