We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming B&B on the Eastern Shore”
Review of Mill Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mill Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This was my wife and my second stay at the Mill Street Inn. Obviously, we like it the first time! We came back this time to celebrate the graduation of two of our children from Salisbury University and to host a graduation party at a nearby restaurant in Cambridge. Some of our family stayed the first night with us. The Mill street Inn is lovely, homey, warm and cozy. The innkeepers, Jenny and Skip were as warm and welcoming as the beautiful and lovingly kept property they run. There are only 3 rooms, all of which are immaculate, nicely furnished and cared for and comfortable. We stayed in the largest of the three rooms and some of our family stayed in the other 2 rooms. I just can't say enough about Jenny and Skip. They are so warm and friendly. They went out of their way to make us feel at home and even welcomed some of our out of town guests while we waited for the restaurant to open after the graduation. Truly above and beyond. The breakfasts are delicious, and the common spaces are both comfortable and interesting, with many books and colorful artifacts from the area, which has quite a rich history. We stay in many B&B's and similar properties around the country and in fact around the world and I can wholeheartedly say, this is now among our favorites. Highly recommended for a break from urban stress and business. It is an easy 1.5 hour drive from the DC area for us. If you are looking to explore the Eastern Shore or just get away for a little bit, the Mill Street Inn is a fantastic choice.

Room Tip: The large room (suite) has a sitting room and a jetted tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adorfmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennie R, Owner at Mill Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Thank you! The pleasure was ours. Wishing you, your family, and the new graduates a very Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Just finished my second stay here, which was every bit as good as the first. Every detail was looked after. Breakfasts are to die for, and, after my friend and I returned from a long bike ride, the soaking tubs were fantastic. The owners are so warm and welcoming that I felt as if I was visiting old friends. There wasn't anything they would not do to acomodate us and our bikes. Cambridge is a lovely town and the B&B is within walking distance of almost everything. Lots of interesting art galleries and the Harriet Tubman museum was fascinating. Love this place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lchandlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennie R, Owner at Mill Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Repeat guests -- the ultimate compliment. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a beautiful building beautifully looked after. The owners are very helpful and friendly. Everything you could think of is catered for. It is ideally situated for walking around the town and finding a restaurant. We ate on the waterfront. A lovely spot.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennie R, Owner at Mill Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for your kind words. One of the unexpected pleasures in running our B&B is hosting delightful, discerning, and interesting guests -- but then to discover we have a famous artist with us is a little like having Martha Stewart in one's kitchen! Such a talent! We hope your teaching and travels will bring you back to the Eastern Shore. We would welcome a return visit.

Jennie and Skip .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Spent the weekend at Mill street Inn for our anniversary. Lovely victorian house, beautifully decorated. The owners could not have been nicer, very helpful full of advice on where to eat, things to do and see. Was very surprised the first night after returning from dinner to find some bubbly in our room to celebrate. I did not let them know when I booked that is was our anniversary, only mentioned it as we checked in. What a lovely surprise. I would definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmg50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Nice location in Cambridge. Owners are very welcoming. Very good breakfast. Lovely rooms that are very clean. Nice bathrooms. We would highly recommend this B and B. Can't wait to go back. This place fills quickly as there are only 3 rooms. We had the one on the sunny side of the home and very nicely appointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank columbiatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We enjoyed the atmosphere of this B&B a lot. The innkeepers Jenny and Skip are friendly, engaging, and informative. They joined us for breakfast, and the night before, offered us a glass of wine in their covered porch while they told us a bit about their town. I liked that Jenny pays attention to the small details in our room--a small bunch of fresh flowers in the bathroom, single serve red and white bottles, maps and current list of activities in and around town, cookies in the foyer, and even notecards with a pencil drawing of the inn's facade on it. The place was immaculate and though they have cats, they were never allowed in the public areas. The house is well furnished and tastefully decorated. Unfortunately, the day we were there, most of the shops downtown were closed because of the July 4th holiday, and there was not much to see. But their fireworks display was superb for a small town like Cambridge, thanks to an endowment from the DuPont family, as noted to us by Skip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I made a reservation for our 5th Wedding Anniversary on July 5. Jennie asked about food allergies and I informed her I was lactose and gluten intolerant. She went out of her way to make breakfast very special, tailoring the menu to my needs. We thoroughly enjoyed spending time with Skip and Jennie, and meeting their son and his wife. Lovely experience. We stayed in the yellow room, so charming!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
9.1 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
45 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn And Suites
#4 of 5 in Cambridge
187 reviews
16.8 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
0.2 mi away
Albanus Phillips Inn
Albanus Phillips Inn
#3 of 5 in Cambridge
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Address: 114 Mill St, Cambridge, MD 21613-1629
Region: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: £177 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mill Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing