We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was great then, not so now......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Was great then, not so now......”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My family and I have vacationed at the Hyatt Regency every year since 2008. When we first started going, the staff was awesome, very attentive and nice, and often remembered us from year to year. I would say in the last 2-3 years it has REALLY declined in a big way. Last year, 2013, unfortunately was our last year. We will not be returning back for the following reasons. The pools are filthy. Last year we mentioned it to several guards, got a shrug of the shoulders, and were ignored. We even mentioned it to the manager (outdoor) and he said it would be cleaned. It was, once in our 7 days there and the rest of the time it was dirty. I refused to swim anymore after coming up with stuff in my hair after going in. The restaurants are average but very expensive. A typical lunch by the pool can cost anywhere from 60-100 dollars for a family of four. Although people do, you are not allowed to bring coolers with food items on the pool deck, so you are stuck if you want to try and save a few dollars. There were plenty of nice touches in the first couple of years we went to the Hyatt. Turn down service was free and included a little piece of chocolate each night. They also sprayed a nice smelling mist in the room to freshen the air. Not so, especially during our stay in 2013. Turn down service meant they turned on your TV to the hotel station and that was it. Because my husband was a diamond club member, we often received access to the Concierge Floor, which was a huge savings to us. They served light breakfast items in the am, appetizers at happy hour time, and even desserts after dinner. It started as a nice touch and something we enjoyed a lot. Again in the past 2 years they have allowed people to "purchase" access to the floor club room as an obvious money maker. No longer did they care about customer service. They ambience went from relaxing and nice to many of the new clientele coming to the club in wet bathingsuits, or even their pj's in the morning. We found that people budged in line, were rude, and loud. Instead of having a place to sit to eat we often had to take our food back to the room because it was so crowded and no longer relaxing. Many times during our last stay we would try to come 5-10 minutes before the club closed in order to get a seat, but instead were faced with employees giving us dirty looks and putting the food away early. The pools get so crowded that it is impossible to find chairs to sit in. Last year they closed the baby pool and covered it over to make more room for lounges, but that wasn't nearly enough. My daily routine included getting up at the crack of dawn to "save" chairs so that we come down at 9 am and have a place to sit. Forget trying to go off the property for eating. There are zero nice restaurants in Cambridge and the concierge will only direct you to the on site dining (and one seafood place 15 mins away). We often traveled 30-45 mins from the hotel to get a nice meal without having to pay 200-300 dollars for a family of four. Be sure to stay away from the resort on any of their "theme weeks" or holidays. Everything I've said is magnified by 20x. There is very little beach area and we were never able to use the water due to the huge amount of jellyfish. 3-5 jellyfish per square foot at times! The kicker for us last year was when we booked with a Hyatt agent on the phone and used my husband's upgrade certificate to upgrade our room. We were told that we would be able to buy access to the Concierge Floor at the time we checked in (we were not able to do both at the time of booking, as per the agent). When we arrived we were told that they were sold out for the week, which now upped our cost for the trip by hundreds. The staff member that checked us in was VERY rude (I think her name was Summer). My husband has all but stopped staying at Hyatts for this very reason. Using points to book our summer vacation here at the Hyatt Regency makes no sense anymore. Staff is awful. Hotel is overbooked and no where near as clean as it once was. And the whole trip is no longer the relaxing vacation it once was. We spent thousands here for the last 7 years but will not return. I really hope that this Hyatt gets its act together and returns to the awesome service and attention that it once had. Until then, this family of four is going elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChesaBayManagement, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to let us know about your stay from last summer. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations and make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback regarding the difference you felt from one year to the next is extremely valuable to us. We admit that at the end of last summer we sat down to review all of our guest feedback and items such as overcrowded Regency Club and overall experience on our pool decks were top on the list to change. We are excited to announce that we have added new, energetic, service-driven managers to our team whom have been in meetings and brainstorming sessions during our slow season to review all of our guest comments and create new, innovative ways of managing sold out time frames to meet all of our guests needs. And it's all because of feedback such as yours that allows us to continue to improve our service and property on a daily basis.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay last year and hope to see you during your next visit.

If we can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact our Director of Rooms, Suzanne Via, directly at 410.901.6315

Best Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,025
    675
    280
    110
    49
See reviews for
798
618
38
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful resort in a gorgeous location, on the Choptank River just where it runs into the Chesapeake. Stunning pools (indoor and outdoor, heated and not), great fitness center, market/general store that sells food and minimizes restaurant fees, very friendly staff, pet friendly. A couple of little botched things on this Memorial Day weekend: housekeeping left only 3 decaf coffees for our in-room coffee maker (so we would have to pay for the general store's Starbucks, perhaps?); their computer locked us out of our room after the first night of a 2-night stay; no answer at front desk (we let it ring 40 times) when we called at 6AM to complain about the coffee situation). But the big stuff far outweighs the little stuff, and we'll return, especially if we can get a walk out verandah like this time!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NorthPotomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This Hyatt participates in the international exchange program which is great but when they don't speak English at all it makes my stay a little annoying. Playing translator is tough! Also everyone comments on that creepy be quiet sign in the elevator. That girl is creepy looking! There's a reason someone tore it down in one of the elevators!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Umrugby99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
386 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times. It is a beautiful hotel on the Choptank River about an hour east of Annapolis, Maryland. Cambridge, Maryland is a small historic town across the highway (Rt. 50) about 5 minutes away. This hotel has several pools, one inside that has movies for the kids at night. There is an outside adult pool and a kids pool with slides. The golf course is very nice but pricey. There are sailboats and other water craft to rent in warm weather. There is a large marina for your boat if you come by boat but there is a fee for that. The restaurants are excellent. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. Spurge on a waterfront one for a great view.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My boyfriend and I visited this property as an incentive from his company. The trip was 2 nights, over a weekend. The hotel was extremely clean and the staff was exceptionally friendly. Everywhere you went they would say hello with a smile, and tell you to "enjoy your stay." We were not, however, impressed with the food. Both nights the event was catered for us. Friday night the food was ok. Nothing impressive. It was not bad by any means just not impressive. Saturday, it was a bit better but still, we were not impressed. We had appetizers at the bar upon arrival Friday, and they were delicious. Saturday, I had lunch (a salad) at Water's Edge and it was very good as well. Service at Water's Edge was very slow though. Took a while to have your waiter/waitress bring your initial drinks and check-ins were rare throughout your meal. Overall, I would go back to the resort. Again, it was very clean and beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveler04_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The location of the Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Resort is interesting, if not a bit deceiving. Although right on the shores of the Choptank river, it has a limited access to the water because of the shalow water level. But you are here for the hotel right? So it is alright, nothing extraordinary except perhaps the price which for the area is certainly quite high. It is a family oriented place so do not think that your privacy as adults will be insured. The restaurants are fine, a bit expensive as well. Rooms are what you expect at the Hyatt chain. The SPA is small and a bit of a disapointment. You expect some more comfort for a resort of this class.. It does not feel plush. There is not even a whirlpool and the segregation by gender precludes a couple's enjoyment together.The staff is pleasant, at times indifferent which is not what you expect. It is about one and a half hour from Washington which makes it practical for a week end escape. So overall above average, the place is alright.

Room Tip: Higher floor on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hypnos001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent two days here and enjoyed every minute of it. As always the hotel is spotless, spend the extra money for the water view rooms. We were there during the week, so there were not a lot of children there. (I don't mind children, but so many parents are lax on discipline it can ruin your stay.)
The staff at the hotel are fabulous, the bellmen are some of the most gracious I've seen at any hotel or resort. The restaurant as usual was terrific with prompt service and great food as.
The River Marsh golf course is amazing. Once you've played there, most courses are going to pale by comparison. It really ruins you for other courses. It's challenging, but not so difficult that the average golfer gets frustrated by it. The golf club staff for the most part is great. We had one incident and the manager responded quickly and graciously to it. We are looking forward to returning there and bring family with us next time. I find the resort to be addictive, I never want to leave.

Room Tip: Water view rooms on any level are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
18.4 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
16.7 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn And Suites
#4 of 5 in Cambridge
173 reviews
15.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Easton Inn & Suites
10.7 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Property: Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
Address: 100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the pampering luxury and picturesque landscape of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa and Marina. Located on the beautiful Choptank River, Hyatt Chesapeake is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort that encompasses more than 342 acres. Our resort offers a wide range of fun recreational activities, including an 18-hole championship golf course, which received a 4 1/2 star rating (out of 5) from Golf Digest. Our acclaimed Sago Spa & Salon boasts 14 treatment rooms providing a complete range of signature Eastern Shore spa treatments. The River Marsh Marina has 150 full service slips that dock upto 150 ft yachts. Other amenities include two outdoor pools, a glass-enclosed Wintergarden pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, private beach with boat/ kayak/Jet Ski rentals, wildlife preserve, four lighted tennis courts, and more.Regional seafood specialties and waterfront views are just two of the attractions at Hyatt Chesapeake's six restaurants and lounges. The property offers 400 luxurious guest rooms. In addition to step-out balconies with magnificent views, each room has 37" flat screen TVs and inviting leather armchairs with ottomans. Come enjoy this luxury waterfront destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa And Marina
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina Hotel Cambridge
Hyatt Regency Cambridge
Hyatt Cambridge
Hyatt Chesapeake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing