We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a quick getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
washington, dc
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick getaway”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife & I were married in Washington, DC on Saturday, and decided to do a little mini-honeymoon here on the Sunday-Tuesday.
The drive from DC is easy, especially if you don't hit any traffic. It's a straight shot once you leave DC, and we made it both ways in under 2 hours.
The entrance to the resort itself is right off the main highway (which is filled with fast food restaurants & grocery stores). The hotel is a pleasant 5 minute drive past the front gate, and feels very secluded. The property itself is huge -- I saw only a fraction of it while we were there -- and very well laid out. There's three pools (one inside) and a hot tub, and hundreds of deck chairs. Given that we were there on a non-holiday Monday & Tuesday, it felt almost deserted -- we only saw a handful of people at the pool, which made it feel very private. They are generous with beach towels, and it was easy & quick to order drinks & food from room service.
We paid a little extra to get a room on the top floor so that we could have access to the Hyatt lounge. I'd strongly recommend that -- the drinks were cheap ($3 beers, compared to $5.50 at the pool), and they had ample free food that was much better than you'd expect. Our room was good sized & had a nice view of the water, but otherwise pretty typical for a Hyatt.
The hotel has several restaurants, but we ended up eating both meals at the Water's Edge. The food was good and reasonably priced for a resort. But what impressed me was the outstanding service -- the servers couldn't have been more friendly or helpful.
There was a lot of stuff at the hotel that we didn't do -- including the spa, a nice looking golf course, mini-golf, and a sand volleyball court. And the view of the bay was really nice.
I hadn't been to this property before, but hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: Pay extra for access to the 6th floor lounge. Excellent view, service, and food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,025
    675
    280
    110
    49
See reviews for
798
618
38
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

There's something to do for everyone. We went primarily for a golf weekend and enjoyed the beautiful course and also played some tennis. Our visit was in the Fall, so no outdoor pool for us. The indoor pool was filled with screaming kids, so I'm not sure how you could even hear the "dive in" movie if you were to attend, but it should be a fun time nonetheless. There is a putt-putt course on the property and walking paths. Overall a nice weekend destination for a family or couples getaway. It's just a bit pricey!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JojoRockville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I attended an event at the resort in early April and was very pleased with it. The staff was very attentive and helpful, the resort was clean and well-managed, and the meeting space was very nice. The food was delicious, whether it was catered during the meeting or in a restaurant. The hotel was sold out during the meeting so I was concerned the hotel would be overwhelmed, but they weren't. Great location, although there isn't too much to do in the immediate area, so be prepared for that.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luf2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our family with four children, 2 teens and 2 younger, spent Memorial Day weekend at the resort this year. After this vacation, we plan to do it every year! Indoor and outdoor pools are wonderful, the staff is friendly, and there are enough activities to keep everyone happy. Also there is plenty of space to accommodate those who want to be around children as well as those who do not. Food was good, and there is a refrigerator in the room so you can keep some snacks and drinks in the room as well. The spa is very nice as well, and offers almost any service one might desire.Truly a lovely resort.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra money to pay for a room with a full balcony, rather than one with a "step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katerina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audubon, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Overall I liked it there and would go back, lots of things for the kids to do and a nice setting. BUT the one issue we had there on Memorial Day weekend was with the outdoor family pool. A child threw up right on the edge of the pool. They immediately closed off the pool, which was great. But they left the vomit at the edge of the pool for about an hour, which is pretty unbelievable. It seemed like no one felt it was their job. Several people nearly stepped in it and a lifeguard was nearby the entire time and didn't seem concerned. Even when someone did come out to clean it she seemed unprepared and didn't know what to do right away. And I am not exagerating - it was easily an hour. There were other issues, we got a call the day before we were to check in that the type of room we had selected over a month earlier was no longer available and we also had a call that the restaurant we booked a reservation for was oversold. Despite that, our kids had a great time, which I guess is the bottom line. I think they were just overwhelmed staff wise on a busy Memorial Day weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChesaBayManagement, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for providing feedback on your recent stay. We’re pleased that you and your family had a great time. While Memorial Day is one of the busiest days of the year, know that we strive to provide a four-diamond experience for every guest that stays at our resort. We sincerely apologize for the issues at the pool, as well as with the restaurant and rooms reservation. These comments will be reviewed with the management team in order to ensure appropriate steps are taken. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay in the near future!
Best Regards,
Chris Levine
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soldotna, Alaska
Level Contributor
153 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My Grand-daughter graduated from a nearby university (Salibury) and we elected to have a dinner here. We had reserved a room and had two people in attendance at all times taking care of every need. It was on a Thursday, a buffet night, but most all of the entrees were great. A super salad bar and a large selection of desserts topped off our evening. It was very reasonable, and the surrounding were what you may expect of a Hyatt...beautiful.

Some of the guests staying here commented on the rooms and the fairly good rates.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the ocean side would have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenaijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

While I normally stay at independent facilities with more character, we elected to stay at this hotel as I was traveling with my family. I was pleasantly surprised and how well it caters to families and small kids. We paid $199/night over Memorial Day weekend by bidding in Priceline. They provided us a pack-and-play (free of charge) for our infant which was very helpful. The pool area has several activities during the day for kids including a movie at night at the indoor pool area. The rooms were nice and beds were comfortable however, the exterior of the facility is in desperate need of repair. The paint is peeling and the siding is damaged from the weather and lack of maintenance. A lot of the common doors are warped and do not close properly. We didn't dine at any of the restaurants so I cannot comment on them.

All employees were very nice and very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ballardtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
18.4 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
16.7 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn And Suites
#4 of 5 in Cambridge
173 reviews
15.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Easton Inn & Suites
10.7 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Property: Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
Address: 100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the pampering luxury and picturesque landscape of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa and Marina. Located on the beautiful Choptank River, Hyatt Chesapeake is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort that encompasses more than 342 acres. Our resort offers a wide range of fun recreational activities, including an 18-hole championship golf course, which received a 4 1/2 star rating (out of 5) from Golf Digest. Our acclaimed Sago Spa & Salon boasts 14 treatment rooms providing a complete range of signature Eastern Shore spa treatments. The River Marsh Marina has 150 full service slips that dock upto 150 ft yachts. Other amenities include two outdoor pools, a glass-enclosed Wintergarden pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, private beach with boat/ kayak/Jet Ski rentals, wildlife preserve, four lighted tennis courts, and more.Regional seafood specialties and waterfront views are just two of the attractions at Hyatt Chesapeake's six restaurants and lounges. The property offers 400 luxurious guest rooms. In addition to step-out balconies with magnificent views, each room has 37" flat screen TVs and inviting leather armchairs with ottomans. Come enjoy this luxury waterfront destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa And Marina
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina Hotel Cambridge
Hyatt Regency Cambridge
Hyatt Cambridge
Hyatt Chesapeake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing