We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodations with a Beautiful View!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodations with a Beautiful View!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Wendy and I popped into the Chesapeake Beach Hotel and Spa for a NYE show with friends. We were warmly greeted by the front desk receptionist and promptly shown to our third floor room. BEAUTIFUL! Spacious room with tremendous amenities and a breathtaking view of the Chesapeake Bay. Although we couldn't use the balcony due the cold weather, we commented how we would return to take full advantage of all this exceptional property has to offer!

Room Tip: Balcony with waterview is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    185
    101
    34
    31
See reviews for
136
241
31
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Arm, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Very nice room. Spacious. Great jacuzzi tub. Could have been cleaner, found trash under table. Excellent massages at the spa. Nice dinner at Rod and Reel, good breakfast at Smokey Joe's but slow service at both. All in all, we liked it here but think it was a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamotusaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was a great overnight getaway. Quiet and relaxing. The food at the Rod n Reel restaurant was very good. We ordered the mini crab cake appetizers which were tasty. We also ordered the stuffed shrimp and filet mignon. Food was great. At check out the next day we headed to the spa to end our trip with the extended relaxation massages. That was the cherry on the top! We will go again.

Room Tip: Junior suite was the perfect size for the two of us. Very roomy. Glad we had the walk out balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I love the atmosphere here.It is over a hr drive for me but the decorations at the holiday time are breathtaking.I have always been placed on the 3rd floor so that must be the non smoking floor.Front desk staff are always curteous and friendly.Smokey Joe's is my favorite eatery because they are reasonable and just a lively spot.The rooms are too pricey for me but a coupon always works.Can't wait to do another great escape.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I recently spent a weekend at The Chesapeake beach resort and spa. The room price was $200.00.
My room was right over the building outdoor A/C unit and it was very noisy and no sleep was had. When I asked to be moved to a different room, there were none available because of a wedding party. I was told that they were aware of the problem and that they front desk has been trying to get someone in management to do something about it. However they still assign people that room for $200.00, with no apologies or discounts offered. If that wasn’t bad enough the sheets look like they were a hundred years old. My self and another friend who was in a different room also said she didn’t think they had even been changes since the last guest. We went to the front desk and were told housekeeping would come up. That never happened, even after several calls to the front desk. We both slept in our clothing on top of towels.
Never again will I go to the Chesapeake beach resort and spa, and it’s really too bad. It’s in such a beautiful location.
The only positive remark I can give them is that the spa it’s self was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorin J, Marketing Coordinator at Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and provide us with feedback about your recent stay with us. We apologize for the room you were given over the loud AC unit and that we could not move you due to a different room due to full occupancy. Our housekeeping staff changes the sheet after every guest checks out of the room, but we are sorry that you felt yours were not clean and were never brought new ones. We are currently in the process of getting new bedding for all rooms in the hotel. We also want to apologize that neither housekeeping nor management was in contact with you during your stay after several calls to the front desk and we have let everyone know of the issues you experienced. Again, we apologize for the unsatisfactory experience and we appreciate you sharing this feedback with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

A perfect distance and scenic drive from Baltimore city; groupon added discounts and coupons that kept costs down. Our room on the second floor was an upgrade fee for king with a water view but a 3rd floor or higher would have satisfied the extra charge for waterview as opposed to view of the trees and fencing. Closet was too smile for a couple - two bed rooms were prob larger. Customer service and friendliness were outstanding, along with responsiveness. It's a great and affordable get-away for us. Hoping to return soon.

Room Tip: For the waterview room, reserve a 3rd floor level or higher to see more water than trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King George, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Everything was quite nice. There was a Keurig in our room, and coffee available in the lobby with a variety of creamers, etc. Everything was nice and clean, and the discount on breakfast at the neighboring restaurants was excellent as well. We attended an event at the Rod'n'Reel, got snacks/drinks after at Smokey Joe's, and had the brunch buffet at the Rod'n'Reel as well. All were excellent (especially the crab dip at Smokey's).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesapeake Beach
18.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
18.4 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
443 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Inn at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prince Frederick
SpringHill Suites Prince Frederi...
#1 of 3 in Prince Frederick
120 reviews
24.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina
18.1 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 4165 Mears Ave, Chesapeake Beach, MD 20732-5116
Region: United States > Maryland > Calvert County > Chesapeake Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chesapeake Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesapeake Beach Hotel And Spa
Chesapeake Beach Hotel Chesapeake Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing