We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Get-Away”
Review of Ship Watch Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chesapeake City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ship Watch Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Wescosville
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Get-Away”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Ship Watch Inn was a fantastic place to just get away from it all. I typically do not stay in Bed & Breakfast Inns. I am a Marriott girl at heart. This place was quaint, quiet and very clean. Renee the Inn Keeper could not have been nicer. We had a room on the first floor with a lovely view of the canal. We watched boats go by for hours. We had the hot tub all to ourselves.
The breakfast the next morning was just delicious. Fruit cup, pancakes and bacon! Fresh squeezed OJ and coffee.
We will definitely be back for our next romantic get away!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleQWescosville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    39
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
146
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Absolute best place in Chesapeake City to sit on the porch and watch the big ships go by. Renee, the Inn Keeper, makes you feel like family. You will come away spoiled by all the baked goods and wonderful breakfasts - eggs benedict, pancakes, french toast.... Loved the Dorchester Room on the third floor. I wish I could try all of the rooms at least once!! The third floor, in July, can get very hot because there's no roof over your head, but the umbrellas made it comfortable. We ate our breakfasts on our rooftop deck, right outside our bedroom patio doors on each of the four mornings. It was perfect!!! The hot tub wasn't hot at all, which was excellent for early morning magazine reading on a lazy hot July morning. Fireworks viewed from the third floor deck at our own little table were incredible. We already made plans to go back next July 4th.

Room Tip: All rooms have patio doors giving you access to a deck. There is no better place for ship/boat watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenandgrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Delaware, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This was our first trip to the Ship Watch Inn and another great Bed and Breakfast. The weekend weather was awesome and the views from our room were breath-taking. Check-in was warm and welcoming and our room was absolutely charming. Breakfast was awesome and the service was exceptional. We did have somewhat of a rowdy group of wedding partiers that came back to their room after getting drunk at the Chesapeake Inn Restaurant which is only a few blocks away with great food and music. At this point, the walls seems to be paper thin but they were extremely loud. If they were respectful guests I don't think we would have been disturbed in the middle of the night! I would love to go back again and enjoy breakfast on the balcony outside our room as we watch the boats go by.

Room Tip: The rooms are the first 3rd floor and a suite would have been much more quieter than a 2nd floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkemske63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed one night before the season. Place was empty, as was the town, but still great service!

Public spaces, as well as the room and bath, are in exquisite condition. Many antique pieces gracefully mixed in with newer furniture. Very cozy and attractive.

All rooms overlook the C&D canal, where you can watch the big ships go by -- they are surprisingly quiet, though! We had fun, rocking on the veranda and trying to guess what would go by next.

We arrived in the afternoon to the scent of a fresh pineapple upside-down cake coming out of the oven. This was later presented on a covered cake stand, and available for snacking whenever the mood hit, along with refrigerated juices, waters, sodas and a Kuereg coffee-maker with selection of brews.

Breakfast, served indoors or out on the veranda, was delicious.

Overall, a great place, and a cute little town. Consider for a romantic getaway, or a weekend with the girlfriends!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penelopeCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Sitting on the porch outside my room and looking at the canal was refreshing and much needed. The inn keeper does a marvelous job with hospitality - there were delicious cupcakes at check-in and those small touches that count throughout.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kemily321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, New Jersey, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Ship Watch Inn. Our room was spacious and very clean. The king size bed was very comfortable and the furnishings were beautiful. Renee the house keeper was great! The breakfasts were fabulous with fresh fruit, Belgium waffles and eggs benedict and great coffee and juice. We will certainly return. The little quaint town of Chesapeake City was very enjoyable with great restaurants.

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground floor which we like alot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tioga, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Just got back from a much needed mini-vacation in Chesapeake City, MD. While the temps are not FL's, when we left Sunday morning our temp was -7 degrees. So to arrive in 45ish temps was a delight! I selected the Ship Watch Inn because of pictures I had seen on the internet. I wanted a room with a view. And I got it! This B&B has 3 floors with ALL rooms looking out over the canal. There are porches on each of the levels that are accessible from the rooms! I chose the Queene Anne's room because it had a king size bed and the jacuzzi bath. I have decided that it was the best choice of all the rooms on the 2nd floor because of the view. When I opened my eyes around 6:15am Tuesday morning I looked across the porch to the east end of the canal to see a beautiful sunrise!. I was able to grab my camera and run out on to the porch to capture a picture. I can't say enough about the hospitality. Renee was efficient, friendly and accommodating! And her full service breakfasts are to write home about! I can't decided whether I liked the crab & cheese omelette or the belgian waffle with sausage better! The cakes, cookies and cupcakes left for our enjoyment just added another special touch to a wonderful stay, It was so nice to be able to walk to restaurants and shops. The Inn is centrally located so you could park your car and not move it until the end of your stay! We will definitely go back - and if at all possible, stay in the same room! Thanks Renee for everything!

Room Tip: The balcony for the rooms on the 3rd floor do not have a roof. But the view from up there is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ga_flatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesapeake City
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkton
Hampton Inn Elkton
#2 of 8 in Elkton
333 reviews
7.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newark - Elkton
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#1 of 1 in Middletown
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elkton - Newark S. - UD Area
7.7 mi away
Days Inn Elkton Newark Area
11.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship Watch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Watch Inn

Property: Ship Watch Inn
Address: 401 1st St, Chesapeake City, MD 21915-1227
Region: United States > Maryland > Chesapeake City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chesapeake City
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only waterfront bed & breakfast in historic Chesapeake City. 8 rooms and 2 suites boast amazing views of the C&D Canal, all with outdoor decks and private, en suite bathrooms. A range of room accommodations are available to meet everyone's individual preferences. Full service, home cooked breakfast, unlimited beverages and home baked goods are complimentary and included with your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ship Watch Hotel Chesapeake City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing