We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time here- can't imagine staying elsewhere”
Review of Ship Watch Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chesapeake City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ship Watch Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Third time here- can't imagine staying elsewhere”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This is our third visit to Chesapeake City and our third stay at this beautiful B&B. We've stayed in both Suites and they are large, comfortable, tastefully decorated, and boast fantastic views. We've also stayed in the smaller Kent and Dorchester and I loved those rooms as well. Each room is unique. While there are plenty of beautiful antique furnishings, it doesn't feel like great grandma's house. All rooms are bright and cheerful. Every room steps out onto a balcony where you'll enjoy a delicious homemade breakfast right outside your door. The view of the canal from the 2nd or 3rd floor can't be beat. The dining room is also available if you prefer to eat there. When you enter the inn, you are likely to see Rene or Tatum baking the delicious cookies, brownies, and cupcakes that are available to you throughout the day. Water and soda is available as well. As much as we like to try new places, I really can't imagine staying anywhere else but here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank karenandgrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    39
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
146
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We come to Maryland every year to visit family. We just discovered this year this wonderful bed and breakfast. The rooms are so well decorated. The ability to walk out of your room on to a large deck was great. ( every room has it!) The experience exceeded our expectations and had excellent location on the water.
We paid these prices at the Hampton Inn for years. Not any more. See you again next year. Looking forward to it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank PEG2CABO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

From the time we check in til our hugs good bye, Renea ALWAYS make us feel welcome! The rooms are clean and comfortable! The homemade breakfast (yummy waffles with fruit or eggs benedict with crab meat) are out of this world! Wonderful weekend getaway!

Room Tip: I personally like the second floor rooms in case it rains you are under cover to set out side and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mlsorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Took my wife there for her Birthday June 2014 and we loved it. Nice place to recharge.Staff was excellent and shop were in walking distance of the Ship Watch Inn. Also there are a lot of nice resturants, especially the Chesapeake Inn. We stayed in the Cecil Room. It was very special sitting on the deck with my wife watching the boats come in under the bridge.

Room Tip: Shops open at 11am
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

On our way home from VA, we stopped in Chesapeake City, MD because of a steamed crab restaurant that was recommended by a family member so we booked a room at Ship Watch. We stayed in the Kent room which was just a bit small but decorated nicely. Renee greeted us upon check in and couldn't have been nicer. My only suggestion would be to clean the bathroom floor with another cleaner, we stuck to the floor! Our breakfast the next morning was delicious - orange juice, coffee, fresh fruit cup, waffles, and sausage!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claymont, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Aside from the gorgeous weather and great company, the Ship Watch Inn was the perfect place to spend our wedding weekend. Our wedding party and families stayed the weekend and it couldn't have been better. The rooms were absolutely beautiful—each with a gorgeous view of the canal. Breakfast was delicious each morning, the hot tub was a great place to relax, and the location was perfect for walking around town. I'm so glad we picked the Ship Watch Inn for our wedding weekend. I would highly recommend it for anyone heading to Chesapeake City!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chesapeake Suite which was absolutely beautiful. All of the rooms have beautiful vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This was our first time ever staying at a bed and breakfast and we loved it! the rooms were very nice (we had the Queen Anne's room), the view was fantastic. We wish it had been warmer so we could've spent more time outside on the deck. We stayed during my best friend's wedding and the inn was full, but the noise level was very reasonable, not very loud at all. Breakfast was good, the only thing I would recommend is perhaps having more of a choice with the food. I'm very picky with food, but what I did eat was very good. I would stay here again, as we had a great time!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank onthebeach823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesapeake City
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkton
Hampton Inn Elkton
#2 of 8 in Elkton
333 reviews
7.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newark - Elkton
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#1 of 1 in Middletown
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elkton - Newark S. - UD Area
7.7 mi away
Days Inn Elkton Newark Area
0.0 mi away
Inn at the Canal
Inn at the Canal
#2 of 4 in Chesapeake City
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship Watch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Watch Inn

Property: Ship Watch Inn
Address: 401 1st St, Chesapeake City, MD 21915-1227
Region: United States > Maryland > Chesapeake City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chesapeake City
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only waterfront bed & breakfast in historic Chesapeake City. 8 rooms and 2 suites boast amazing views of the C&D Canal, all with outdoor decks and private, en suite bathrooms. A range of room accommodations are available to meet everyone's individual preferences. Full service, home cooked breakfast, unlimited beverages and home baked goods are complimentary and included with your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ship Watch Hotel Chesapeake City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing