We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality (and a whole lot of history)”
Review of Doc Smithers B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chesapeake City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Doc Smithers B&B
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We recently stayed at Doc Smithers B&B and it was wonderful. From the moment we entered the home, Ed and Suzan made us feel welcome. Our stay began with a tour of the home which took us back in time, hearing about all of the places they lived while serving in the military. Suzan shared stories about antiques she collected along their travels, their family treasures, the history of the house, etc. She welcomed us to "be at home" and enjoy our stay, offered to take us on a tour of the town, schedule reservations for dinner, etc.

Ed and Suzan certainly know how to bring back "southern hospitality." Every meal is served on fine china - using linen napkins and home-made recipes passed down from generations. Suzan is a wonderful cook and gracious hostess, and Ed is a true gentleman.

If you are looking for a step back in time, while in Chesapeake City, we recommend visiting Doc Smithers. The house is conveniently located in the center of town and the innkeepers are truly delightful! It was a pleasure meeting them and we look forward to another visit in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Shannan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had a great time using Doc Smithers B&B for our stay in Chesapeake City. The character and history within the bed and breakfast are amazing. Sue and Ed provide tea, an ice cream social, a wonderful breakfast, and fascinating conversation. It is located in the heart of Chesapeake City and provides easy access to the many small shops and historical buildings there. It is a 5 minute walk from the Chesapeake Inn which provides both fine dining and a great summer outdoor deck. Ed and Sue are incredibly gracious hosts, you won't regret the stay.

Room Tip: There is one primary room with its own shower and bath. They can provide accommodations for two mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had the best time, taking advantage of a last minute cancellation, to spend a night at this charming B&B. We had the upstairs bedroom with private bath, canopy bed (very comfortable), modern en suite bathroom. Wonderful breakfast with the host, Ed, and his lovely mother, Alicia. Great location, wonderful hospitality! Great value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CapeMayLover309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I arrived in the early evening and the host was most helpful in giving me an orientation of the places to eat, and also sharing some fascinating history about the house. My room was lovely and my only regret is that my trip was too short.

Just oozing warmth and charm, with lovely and charming hosts - you will be booking your next visit before you leave!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This B&B in the quaint town of Chesapeake City was absolutely charming. Owners were very friendly and shared some wonderful stories. The breakfast was awesome but even enjoyed relaxing on the front porch. I definitely would recommend for a getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelew1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My daughter and I really enjoyed our stay with Susan and Edward!! They were a wealth of knowledge about the area, things to do with children, and provided excellent tea, sundaes, and great genuine hospitality! We would definitely stay here again in the future! What a nice getaway for us! :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelanieHinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I have to start off by saying Ed and Susan (our hosts) went above and beyond to make our stay the most enjoyable we have ever experienced.
We stayed in the Commodore Room and it was absolutely lovely. The bed and linens were extremely comfortable and the charm of our room was incredible.
The food was delicious and Ed, Susan, and Alicia treated us like family.
We will be returning to Doc Smithers to tour the beautiful little town since we had a wedding to attend this time around. This is the only (the best) place to stay when visiting Chesapeake City, Md. You will not be disappointed!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank SharonHess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Doc Smithers B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doc Smithers B&B

Address: 204 Bohemia Ave, P.O. Box 711, Chesapeake City, MD 21915-1242
Region: United States > Maryland > Chesapeake City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chesapeake City
Price Range: £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1848 this charming B&B is only one block from the C&D Canal. Featuring a nice front porch with rockers, and it is walking distance to shops and excellent restaurants as well as the Marina. Full Breakfast at 9AM, and refreshments between 3PM and 5PM. Separate sitting room/library with a 60" flat screen HD TV, with Netflix. Fully restored in 1998. The B&B has many lovely antiques and an elevator for your convenience. It offers "Yesterdays Charm" with today's Comfort. Innkeepers: Captain Ed & Suzan Schweizer (USNavy, Ret.) Two rooms. $145 & $135 Friday - Sunday and $135 & $125 weekdays plus 6% Maryland sales tax. Payment method: Cash or Check. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing