We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip down memory lane”

Schaefer's Canal House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A trip down memory lane”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I live in Australia and I worked here in the 1970s as a server....
It was nice to see this restaurant reopened and again a "place to go for visitors and locals alike".... The crab cakes are still great and the ambience excellent. What a wonderful place to watch the world from.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    150
    48
    25
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bear, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Now it's casual.”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

I've been to this restaurant when it was formal place. Then it closed for a while. Went for an anniversary dinner. We were over dressed. Service was good. We had ordered mixed seafood platter. The broiled seafood was perfectly cooked. We enjoyed the meal as well as the lovely view. We had gone for breakfast in April one sunday morning. The seafood omlet was perfect! Would recommend going again especially with a group of friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whitestar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice outside deck seating.”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We decided to try this place even though we were told not to. We left the other side of the bridge after shopping the antique shops to have lunch here. We got an outside table right away but the service was really slow. The food was not enjoyable at all. The next time we will stay on the other side of the bridge for lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great lunch”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

food was good, service was good, loved sitting outside to watch passing boats, Although it was busy (Labor Day weekend) they seemed well staffed and organized. Would like to go back again to try dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carla_m001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
715 reviews
601 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 626 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

It's been a looooong time since I visited Schaefer's, and a Sunday afternoon probably helped, since they were not overwhelmed with customers at noon. We had a lite lunch. A Manhattan done nicely, and an outstanding $5 Bloody Mary. The Wings (10) for $10 were meaty, crispy and not too greasy. The Crab Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms (3) $10 were hefty and tasty. Service was very competent and friendly. We sat at the bar with a great view of the water. There is a good view no matter where you sit. I'll be back soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripper516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schaefer's Canal House also viewed

 
Chesapeake City, MD
Chesapeake City, MD
 
Chesapeake City, MD
Chesapeake City, MD
 

Been to Schaefer's Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing