We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“return visit”

Bayard House Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“return visit”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We go down to the Bay quite often from our home in Pa. Bayard House is a very good restaurant, great food, good service and a lovely view from the windows of the C & D Canal. We were down on 10/19-it was a beautiful day and the canal was busy with many boats heading down the Intercoastal waterway.
I want to especially praise our waiter, Ben, for his excellant service. For example, he thought my coffee had gotten cold and he placed a new cup on the table and filled it with hot coffee. Great service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolkParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    74
    32
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Spectular view, so so service”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Wonderful view of the Canal! We ate outside and really enjoyed it. The food was fantastic but the service was very slow.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank elivela67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake City, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome food, great views”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

loved the historic atmosphere. the BAR, aptly named "the hole in the wall" gives you a warm cozy feeling of historic Revolutionary war era. Very Cool!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank powerbrokers54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great food and atmosphere at a great price.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Service for starters was excellent. The food was spectacular. Best chef salad I have ever eaten. Atmosphere was so relaxing with a great view of the bay. Hands down a great experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shatadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestertown, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Above average, but not very good”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

For starters, we had lobster bisque: too salty, ground lobster, not much flavor. Moules, sandy, soft shells crumbled into Provençal sauce. Oysters on the half shell: rave review, excellent. Mains: Fried oysters, just OK, not great as they should be! Grilled Salmon, good, nothing special. Filet tips with mashed were appreciated. Salads, fine. Desserts: key lime pie, pretty tame, not limey enough for me. Chocolate mousse, he loved it.
In the end we expected better food for the prices charged.
On the positive side: Good service. Lovely setting. Perfect weather to eat on the outdoor patio.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle21620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayard House Restaurant also viewed

 
Chesapeake City, MD
Chesapeake City, MD
 

Been to Bayard House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing