We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Place to be Married!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayard House Restaurant

Bayard House Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chesapeake City, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to be Married!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband I were married at Bayard House on May 24th.We had a Gorgeous Wedding!!! The Owner and his staff were Wonderful and very attentive to our every need. I would definitely recommend this Restaurant and its Beautiful landscape to everyone! The food was Outstanding! Everything That the staff did for us was so nice:)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sammy7039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    68
    30
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
568 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Tough to Rate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The set up is geared towards a straight five star 'excellent' rating in every category. The location... a sweeping view of the C&D canal. The service casually professional. The menu... creative and diverse. The prices... big city.

We went here on the Friday of Memorial Day week-end with another couple and had reservations. We were seated promptly on the glassed in terrace with a somewhat obstructed view of the canal by a 'wedding' tent that had been set up for an event on Saturday. Still the view was exceptional as the sun was setting.

We shared a warm brie pastry, which was pleasant and was enough for four to get a couple of good spreads on the bread/cracker starter set.

Our friends went with double Tourneau Baltimore (which is their go to dish at Bayard), my wife the halibut and had the Scottish salmon. Both the fish dishes were cooked perfectly and had light flavorful sauces. And our friends cleaned their plates.

We finished with coffee and a shared piece of Smith Island cake.

This was a very pleasant evening with friends... except for the noise. The terrace was full and folks were having a good time. But... the glass enclosure seem to expand what is normally just background noise to the foreground and became a distraction at times.

The conundrum of rating a very good experience any better is determined by the value you receive. Everything was very good... and should be at the prices charged. You certainly wouldn't want to get anything average. .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hokie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
335 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Love the view of DEL & Chesapeake Canal traffic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We took a side trip to Chesapeake City to visit the Canal Museum and see traffic along this still very active canal (although it wasn't very busy on a Sunday lunchtime when we were there). We chose Bayard House for the porch with views right on the Canal and thus ignored the standard advice to get better food at a place without a view. We both ordered the crab cake lunch and it was pretty good -- mostly crab meat and very little filler. The vegetables were a snore, a little overcooked. For what we got on the plate, prices were high. But then we were paying for the view.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake City, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great outdoor "umbrella bar" located on the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

A little pricey in the upstairs dining area. Cute little bar downstairs. The "Hole in the Wall" bar!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TMCMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So So”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch. We had a choice of either lunch or brunch because it was Sunday. We chose lunch. I got the French onion soup which was Ok, nothing spectacular. It tasted like a packaged onion soup. Thin broth. My mother got the crab bisque and that was much better. She also got a Reuben sandwich which was tasty too. It had a lot of corned beef. She couldn't eat it all so they boxed it up. However she accidentally left it on the table. Now we parked across the street and she walks quite slowly, so there was ample time and opportunity to let us know when they cleared the table. Yes it was our mistake that we forgot it, but poor customer service on their part. I am very disappointed that a staff member would not/could not bring it out. We didn't realize we had left it until we got home in PA. I got the Bayard House burger with bleu cheese. It was again just OK, not very flavorful. The sweet potato fries were OK too. Will I return? Maybe in a couple of years. It does have a nice view though.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank readingrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayard House Restaurant also viewed

 
Chesapeake City, MD
Chesapeake City, MD
 
Chesapeake City, MD
Chesapeake City, MD
 

Been to Bayard House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing