We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Relaxing, Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Max Inn Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 21 August 2011

What a wonderful getaway for a long weekend. The Inn is very clean, the hosts polite and the breakfasts were made fresh eat morning. Warm cinnamon muffins, eggs benedict, fresh fruit and fresh squeezed orange juice were just some of the delights each morning. There was coffee or hot tea and cookies throughout the day as well and a small fridge stocked with sodas and water for guests as needed.
We stayed in the Hermann room which was the last room down one of the hallways on the 2nd floor. Very quiet, large room, nice sized bathroom. When guests are not staying in a room, the doors are left open so you can take a peek. All rooms were clean and cozy and the 2nd level rooms with balconies were very spacious. Every local we met in Chesapeake City let us know we picked "the best" B&B. Chesapeake City itself is quaint, friendly, cozy and great for a few days. If you are looking for a party, stop at the Chesapeake Inn. Otherwise, sit back and relax in one of the nicest B&B's in the area!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank colleen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Blue Max Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2011

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast walking distance to all shops and restaurants in Chesapeake City. The room was nicely decorated and we had a private bath. The highlight for us was the wrap around porch (2nd level) off of our room. We could sit on the porch at any time and enjoy the cool breezes and have a class of wine. Another room next door opens up to the same porch and we enjoyed the company of the other couple when we were all out there at the same time. The breakfasts were superb. There was a daily special such as french toast or an omlet. There was always fresh baked goods as well as fresh fruit. Coffee and tea were available all day. The owners were very nice and hospitable. I highly recommend the Blue Max.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with access to the porchl.
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nreigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Truly enjoyed our ONE night stay in the The BLUE MAX INN as well as walking the shopping district of Chesapeake City. The RANDALL Room we had was on the 2nd floor and was lovely & spacious. The assigned private bath for this room was a short walk down the hall - love the gylcerin soaps & thick towels. The view from the walk-out porch faced streetside and was scenic as we saw 'Blue Max', people walking, birds chirping, and watching traffic go across the bridge over the Bohemia River.
This overnight was a surprise trip for me for my birthday and we packed a lot into that day. We had parked the car and never had to use it until we left; walking through town visiting the shops and going out to eat at the Bayard House where we did get to see a barge pass on the river. Had we had another day, we probably would have taken a boat tour as well as seeing the C&D canal museum. You can see as much or as little as you want there.
Breakfast the next day was delicious including the coffee! We chose to sit in the windowed sitting area in the corner overlooking the side yard and watched the fish swim in the pond. Complimentary water & drinks were available during the day which was helpful since it was unusually warm while we were there. Tea and cookies were also available in the afternoon. There is plenty of common space on the main level complete with a baby grand piano.
There were many small items that kept our rating below a perfect rating:
- Very noticeable wallpaper 'medallion' had most of the edges falling from the ceiling that is trying to cover up an old fixture space or water damage. It is such a shame to have such a nice room with a poor view while looking up from the bed.
- Mold on the bathmat.
- For us, it was a little on the noisy side - from the outdoors mainly - tons of birds chirping, traffic going over the bridge; but we did hear the neighbors tv that was probably turned up more than normal since one can not hear well when the ac is running in the room.
- Also a lot of light - at night as well as in the morning; there are no room darkening blinds. The window hospitality lights kept the room quite bright throughout the night and the early morning light is great if you are an early riser.
We were able to peek in a couple of the other rooms and next time we may try the LINDSEY, on the main level. Seeing the different seasons of fall & winter would be nice here as well as small reunions. Murder Mystery events are held at certain times of the year which also sounds like a lot of fun.
Overall, a very nice inn and we'd come here again - esp when we want to just 'get away from it all!'
Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelingCoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending our 38th wedding anniversary at the Blue Max. From the moment we step into this charming B&B we felt right at home! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts were delicious; and the room was very comfortable and charming.
Since Chesapeake City is such a tiny little haven, the Blue Max was close to everything: shops, restaurants, canal. We will definitely make this trip again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebeeve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

I called to get information on the place and the woman I had talked to was just rude. She said not interested and hung up the phone. WOW what a way to run a business. I was looking into see a fee for all the rooms. But I guess I will not be staying here. How can you not be interested in someone that is wanting to rent the rooms. Just plain rude.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Service
3  Thank jjbigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2009

The Blue Max Inn was as beautiful as I had read. It would have been a wonderful stay except that we had no hot water and had to take cold showers in the morning. The owner was no where to be seen in the morning and although I emailed her, I received no response. For the money we paid we should have been able to take a hot shower.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jerseygirl62_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2004

The hosts were so friendly and accommodating, the room very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast rivaled any we've had anywhere, and we've stayed at quite a number now.

6  Thank Traveler0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesapeake City
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkton
Hampton Inn Elkton
#1 of 8 in Elkton
348 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#1 of 1 in Middletown
322 reviews
7.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newark - Elkton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
273 reviews
11.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn
9.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Max Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Max Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 300 Bohemia Ave, Chesapeake City, MD 21915-1244
Region: United States > Maryland > Chesapeake City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chesapeake City
Price Range: £63 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing