We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice find in quaint town”
Review of Inn at the Canal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at the Canal
Baltimore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice find in quaint town”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

For my 50th birthday, my husband surprise me with a night away. We chose Chesapeake City because it was close to an event we were attending the following day. We were warmly greeted by Bob and given wonderful dinner recommendations before being shown to our beautiful room. It was a cold, rainy night when we arrived, and our room was toasty warm and so inviting. The bed was comfortable and the place was very quiet, so we slept really well. Very early the next morning, Bob made us a lovely breakfast before we had to leave. We would love to have stayed another day to enjoy the historical town and to have another special breakfast. Bob takes alot of pride in his inn and makes you feel pampered.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
70
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington,PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

I loved staying at the Inn at the Canal. My two friends and I go on a little roadtrip each year and always stay at a B&B. I have to say that Bob and Carol were the nicest hosts we've ever had. They made us feel so welcome and became like friends to us right away. We loved our beautiful suite and the breakfasts were magnificent. We would highly recommend this inn to anyone who wants to feel at home while away from home.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank squeaker07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athol, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Smack on the Chesapeake-Delawrae Canal, where immense ships pass by often, sits the Victorian house known as Inn at the Canal. It's run by Bob and Carol, and Bob's a Culinary Institute of America- trained chef, who puts out lovely breakfasts. The Inn is decorated in genuine Victorian styles, and has some lovely hand-painted ceilings of the period. There's a wonderful back porch where one can sit and observe the surprisingly frequent traffic on the Canal. Great situation, pleasant rooms, wonderful food, what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutthroatbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Inn at the Canal is a good value for your $$ and a lovely place to stay and visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn at the Canal. The owners are very kind and our breakfasts were outstanding. Our room was very clean and cozy. It is also in a great location- so close to shopping and dining. We would love to go back for another great weekend as soon as we get the chance. It is a beautiful place with very interesting and beautiful decor.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mywhitesasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havre de Grace, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Our stay at the Inn was perfect. The owners were very accomodating as we were getting married at Chesapeake Inn and were supposed to check in by a certain time. We didn't make that time and didn't make the second time given. However, there was a key left for us with directions to our room. Waking up to breakfast cooking and being waited on the next morning was wonderful. A very relaxing stay. Our honeymoon night/morning was perfect! Very enjoyable time at the Inn!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berlyslp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Stayed in the 3rd floor upper bay suite. Includes bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, living room, and deck with water views!! Would recommend this suite to any family with children!! Inn keepers are personable, breakfasts are great.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom2fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesapeake City
7.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newark - Elkton
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#1 of 1 in Middletown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkton
Hampton Inn Elkton
#2 of 8 in Elkton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elkton - Newark S. - UD Area
9.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
7.7 mi away
Days Inn Elkton Newark Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Canal

Property: Inn at the Canal
Address: 104 Bohemia Ave, Chesapeake City, MD 21915-1241
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Chesapeake City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chesapeake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Canal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and comfortable rooms filled with antiques in this Victorian Gothic circa 1874 home on the Historic Register. Gourmet breakfasts by owner/chef,C.I.A. Grad. Waterfront views of the Chesapeake and Delaware Canal, quaint town of shops, art and restaurants, and short drive to many desirable sites from Philadelphia to DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Inn at the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing