We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at the Canal
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elkton Lodge(Elkton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
North Bay B&B(North East)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
113
11
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
11
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bsnug harborquaint little townnice view of the canaltrained chefrelaxing staysmallest roomfresh fruit cupgourmet breakfastexcellent chefbed and breakfastboth morningsgreat hostsbreakfast was amazingthe location is perfectthe air conditioningprivate balcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary. The innkeeper was very gracious and made a super breakfast! There were drinks and snacks in the dining room if we needed any. Our room was comfortable and had a view of the water. Chesapeake City is a quaint little town with some great shops. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valeriec341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I spent so much time searching for the perfect B&B to stay at on our vacation, and I'm so glad I eventually found the Inn at the Canal. First of all, Chesapeake City is a beautiful and fascinating place. You're never far from the water, and you feel like you've stepped back in time. Watching huge ships float serenely and silently by on the canal was really cool. The Inn itself is also beautiful and fascinating. We stayed in the smallest room, "Snug Harbor", but that's exactly what it was. A perfect place to relax on the blindingly hot July afternoons. The bathroom was a good size, and the bed comfy. Breakfast was yummy, especially the strawberry muffins hot out of the oven. Bob was a wonderful host, friendly and helpful. You felt more like an old friend visiting than a new guest. His staff was sweet and on top of things. I would definitely recommend this Inn. It was the relaxing, unique and fun stay we were looking for. Don't miss the crazy ceilings in the living room and dining room! You don't see those every day

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We just returned from an amazing stay at the Inn at the Canal. The inn is beautiful and the town is great. Our room was Cassidy wharf and it was very comfortable and very clean. I felt right at home and at the inn and truly enjoyed our stay. The AC in the room was amazing and keep us very cool in some the hottest weather (100+).

Each morning we had a great breakfast and cup of coffe to start our day. Bob and Carol were very friendly and made you feel right at home. They always kept drinks and cookies/cake available in case you needed a snack or something cool to drink.

Next time we are in Chesapeke City we wil certainly return for another relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skialot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The Inn was quiet charming and the owners were very nice but on days when it's 90 degrees outside there should be air conditioning running in the common areas of the Inn. It's nice that the individual rooms are air conditioned but it does not create a nice atmosphere when you can't even eat breakfast because of the heat. There weren't even windows open. I would suggest to the owners to invest in air conditioning throughout the entire Inn and it would make everyone's stay (during the summer) a little more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Me M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnattheCanal, Owner at Inn at the Canal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

We are very sorry your stay was not what you expected. The Inn DOES have central air conditioning thru-out the common spaces. We try to make all of our guests comfortable and adjust the temperature accordingly that is why we have gone to the expense of making sure each room has its own individual controls for heat and air conditioning. It upsets us that a situation like this that could have easily been resolved if the guest would just informed us while they are here that something is not to their liking. We could have easily lower the temperature to suite your needs if we only knew you were uncomfortable. We can only perform service recovery if we are made aware of a guests concern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Although I'm writing this review a year later, I felt others should know about a wonderful inn where my husband and I stayed. We love the Chesapeake Bay area and saw the "Inn at the Canal" online and made a reservation for the weekend. Chesapeake City is a 19th century waterfront village where the Inn at the Canal is located. The rooms in this old victorian home are so charming with such a comfy feel to them; and our room, Chesapeake Haven, had a nice view of the water. We enjoyed sitting out on the large porch watching the boats. What makes this inn so special are the owners Bob and Carol. They are helpful but not intrusive. And best of all is the gourmet breakfast they prepare for you and serve in the lovely dining room. Bob is a gourmet chef, so be prepared for a very special breakfast!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with a view of the water.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PerkasieJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews