We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect choice for our getaway!”
Review of Inn at the Canal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at the Canal
Shillington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect choice for our getaway!”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife and I had a chance to get away for a couple of days in late June and decided to go to the northern Chesapeake area, an area we had never visited before, but had heard that it was quite a nice area. After an internet search, we decided to try Inn at the Canal for our two night stay, and wow, we're glad we did. Prior to our arrival, the communication and information we received, both through emails and a confirming phone call to us, was professional and genial. Once at the Inn, Bob was an outstanding host, making sure we knew about the options we had for exploring the area, tips for knowing when the ships would be going through the canal, making sure our room was perfect, and serving a wonderful breakfast both mornings. From the Inn, we were able to take day trips which included the Elk Neck State Park, Northeast, Chestertown, and Havre de Grace.... all very much worth the visit. We were also within a short walk of some fascinating shops and great places to eat. The more we stay in B&B's, the more we like them, and staying in the Inn at the Canal was an extremely good choice. We will certainly return in the future, and we will be recommending it to all our friends as an exceptional place to get away.
Mike & Carla B.

Room Tip: We stayed in Chesapeake Haven -- view of the canal from the window. Very nice room overall. Check ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SupportEducation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
70
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Spent a weekend here with another couple and really enjoyed it. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms were clean. The building is from the 1800's and is in relatively good condition and is filled the lovely period furniture and accessories. The breakfasts were delicious and the waitress/housekeeper was very friendly and attentive. The owner Bob made us feel very much at home.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shipm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire ,England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Although we arrived slightly late for check in time due to traffic we were warmly greeted by Bob, given a tour of the Inn,and shown to our room .
There can not be many ceilings in the USA like the ceilings in the drawing room and dining room ,the very best of Victorian workmanship .Incredible.I am sure it would cost a small fortune to restore them to full glory ,but in my opinion they deserve to be preserved .
Our room was comfortable with a great bed and a nice canal view .
Samantha the housekeeper is charming ,cheerful and efficient .She is very attentive at breakfast time and meets your every need .You may sit at your own table in the lovely dining room,or join other guests at a communal table.We thoroughly enjoyed chatting to guests at breakfast time and joking with Bob and Samantha.Bob provides chilled Soda and water in the guests fridge in the dining room and there are always goodies available for afternoon tea ,which is lovely taken on the porch watching the world go by.Park your car for the duration of your stay,step out of the Inn and this lovely little town is on your doorstep .Enjoy great little shops,very friendly shopkeepers and nice eating places .I recommend a meal at Schaefer's Canal House while watching the sunset ,and a trip aboard The Miss Clare should not be missed .The owners are so enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the canal .All in all a great stay in a lovely Inn in a lovely town

Green Features: There is a bin in each room to recycle glass and plastic .
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Booked the smallest room for a two night getaway , because we knew we wouldn't be spending a lot of time at the Inn . Bob was kind enough to upgrade us to a larger room . Didn't have much time to spend at the Inn because we were off visiting family, but it was a great place to come home to, after visiting. Breakfast both mornings was deliciously incredible, the "sweet" choice being our favorite. Fireplace during breakfast was a nice touch. Bob was extremely helpful offering many local things to do and great places to eat. We will definitely recommend the Inn to our friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We had planned to have a wonderful, romantic, off-season get-away at the Inn at the Canal, and Chef Bob provided a perfect setting. We stayed in Chesapeake Haven, and enjoyed a nice view of the canal. We learned a lot about opportunities for dinner and lunch the next day; Bob made us feel so perfectly at home. The Inn was very quiet, and we got a restful night's sleep.

Breakfast was a spectacular start on another great day in Chesapeake City.We enjoyed the fire in the dining room's fireplace, as we sipped our coffee and planned our day.

I highly recommend the Inn at the Canal for a great couples weekend destination.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Stayed at this B & B for a relaxing "sisters" weekend. Everything was pure perfection - the rooms, the breakfast, the host! This stay was exactly what we were looking for. Rooms are authentically decorated and spotlessly clean. The common rooms, especially the dining room, was breathtakingly beautiful. We had a "Downton Abbey" tea and had fun dressing up. The host played the Downton Abbey theme while dining. Bob is an amazing chef and host - very warm and welcoming and friendly. Extra little authentic touches were everywhere - an antique working telephone for guests, beverages and snacks were always available also. The location is prime - you can watch ships coming in from your room. The host is not only an amazing chef and host, but sentimental, as well - as he has his father's ships displayed throughout the inn. Highly recommend this place - you won't be disappointed!!!!!!!!! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahCiganek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I surprised my husband with a weekend away for his 60th birthday. Our stay at the Inn at the Canal in Chesapeake City, MD was the icing on the cake. Our room, Greenbrier Point, had a beautiful view of the canal. Bob, one of the owners and chef, created delicious and plentiful breakfasts. Samantha, who served breakfast and made sure our room was pristine, was a delight. The location is ideal, whether to stroll among the shops and to restaurants or drive in/out of town. We both did not want to leave!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socialb2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesapeake City
7.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newark - Elkton
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#1 of 1 in Middletown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkton
Hampton Inn Elkton
#2 of 8 in Elkton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elkton - Newark S. - UD Area
9.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
7.7 mi away
Days Inn Elkton Newark Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Canal

Property: Inn at the Canal
Address: 104 Bohemia Ave, Chesapeake City, MD 21915-1241
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Chesapeake City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chesapeake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Canal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and comfortable rooms filled with antiques in this Victorian Gothic circa 1874 home on the Historic Register. Gourmet breakfasts by owner/chef,C.I.A. Grad. Waterfront views of the Chesapeake and Delaware Canal, quaint town of shops, art and restaurants, and short drive to many desirable sites from Philadelphia to DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Inn at the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing