We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Inn at the Canal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at the Canal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was amazing. Food was outstanding and rooms were clean and cozy. The area is great and the hosts are amazing. We also loved the area. The housekeeping lady was so very friendly and did a fantastic job.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimandJoan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

After reading the reviews of the few Inns in the town I chose this one--We have stayed at various B and B's in numerous states and I am still trying to find 1 that I can even rate 4 stars.
We had the largest 3 rd flr room which is pricey but I heard other people talk of how very small their rooms were. We had a private balcony for the 2 nites and that was very nice. But, as with other B and B's it was decorated with a hodge podge of colors and not so nice covers on some of the furniture in the room. The worst of the stay was the very dirty carpet in ours. I didn't want to walk in bare feet. The best of the stay was the location. Breakfast was tasty and the room was quiet and large.

Room Tip: pay extra for 3 rd flr
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickPhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnattheCanal, Owner at Inn at the Canal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Hi, Sorry to hear your stay was less than perfect. Glad you enjoyed breakfast and your balcony. Not really sure what you meant by "heard that the rooms were small" was the reason you chose the 3rd floor suite. We have 7 rooms fit for many tastes and budgets. Two smaller rooms, 4 large rooms and the suite which you thought was pricey but I have yet to see a room that large anywhere. Three rooms, a master bedroom a kitchen and sitting area, a living room, a large bath a foyer and a balcony. I apologize for the rug but would like to point out that it is never dirty. There was a minor wine stain that was promptly cleaned with a rug shampooer. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and as you can see by our other reviews it is continually mentioned how spotless our Inn is. I would also like to implore our guests that if at any time during your stay something is unsatisfactory we will correct and make it right while you are here. Again we are terribly sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

it was our first visit to Chesapeake City and we chose the Inn at the Canal online. We're glad we did. Our host, Bob, was welcoming and also an excellent chef, serving up a gourmet 2 course breakfast. The room was large with a view of the C&L canal. The entire Inn is filled with antiques and tastefully decorated. The location is perfect. No need to get in your car. Walk to restaurants and shops. We will definitely return to the Inn at The Canal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

couldn't have asked for anything better. Bob and Carol are so welcoming and friendly...I felt at home. The breakfast was unbelievably good. You couldn't ask for a better location and would definitely plan to visit again.

Room Tip: worth it to have a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We just got back from a 3 night stay in Chesapeake City, Maryland at Inn at the Canal. It was fabulous in every way. The innkeepers truly care about their guests and make sure that everyone is comfortable at their B and B . Our 3 teenage sons had the entire third floor suite and we stayed in the room called Back Creek. Our room was comfy and cozy and the boys loved having the whole third floor to themselves. My husband loved having breakfast in the comfy robe provided in our room and we all LOVED Bob's scrumptious breakfasts! Plenty of bacon, per the boys request. We had an incredible couples massage in the main parlor , the ambiance perfect! We recommend the Inn at the Canal to anyone wanting a very laid back and peaceful home away from home. FIVE STARS all the way around! The proprietors really care about their guests!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zweigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife and I had a chance to get away for a couple of days in late June and decided to go to the northern Chesapeake area, an area we had never visited before, but had heard that it was quite a nice area. After an internet search, we decided to try Inn at the Canal for our two night stay, and wow, we're glad we did. Prior to our arrival, the communication and information we received, both through emails and a confirming phone call to us, was professional and genial. Once at the Inn, Bob was an outstanding host, making sure we knew about the options we had for exploring the area, tips for knowing when the ships would be going through the canal, making sure our room was perfect, and serving a wonderful breakfast both mornings. From the Inn, we were able to take day trips which included the Elk Neck State Park, Northeast, Chestertown, and Havre de Grace.... all very much worth the visit. We were also within a short walk of some fascinating shops and great places to eat. The more we stay in B&B's, the more we like them, and staying in the Inn at the Canal was an extremely good choice. We will certainly return in the future, and we will be recommending it to all our friends as an exceptional place to get away.
Mike & Carla B.

Room Tip: We stayed in Chesapeake Haven -- view of the canal from the window. Very nice room overall. Check ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SupportEducation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Spent a weekend here with another couple and really enjoyed it. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms were clean. The building is from the 1800's and is in relatively good condition and is filled the lovely period furniture and accessories. The breakfasts were delicious and the waitress/housekeeper was very friendly and attentive. The owner Bob made us feel very much at home.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shipm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesapeake City
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkton
Hampton Inn Elkton
#1 of 8 in Elkton
348 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#1 of 1 in Middletown
326 reviews
7.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newark - Elkton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elkton - Newark S. - UD Area
12.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
276 reviews
11.1 mi away
Best Western North East Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Canal

Address: 104 Bohemia Ave, Chesapeake City, MD 21915-1241
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Chesapeake City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chesapeake City
Price Range: £87 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Canal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and comfortable rooms filled with antiques in this Victorian Gothic circa 1874 home on the Historic Register. Gourmet breakfasts by owner/chef,C.I.A. Grad. Waterfront views of the Chesapeake and Delaware Canal, quaint town of shops, art and restaurants, and short drive to many desirable sites from Philadelphia to DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing