We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A sense of History and great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Mitchell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Mitchell House
Ranked #4 of 11 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A sense of History and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent a delightful night at the Inn at Mitchell House. We had wrongly thought that it was in the town of Chestertown but is, in fact, about 10 miles away in a secluded area. However the hosts, Tracy and Jim, made us very welcome and have done a brilliant job in restoring a "great house" of the 18th century, making it comfortable, and being knowledgeable about the history of the house and area. We would second the comments of Kelly33333. We visited the nearby site of the Caulk's Field Battleground which, Tracy explained, has recently been surveyed by a team of archeologists. It was a bit of history we would otherwise never hear of, but was a critical skirmish in the War of 1812.

Room Tip: they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kima's_Consort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatmitch, Owner at The Inn at Mitchell House, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
We are always excited to meet fellow history enthusiast. Our location can be a bit confusing - being outside of Chestertown and located on Maryland Parkway which is actually a gravel driveway. Hopefully the peaceful country setting and being only a half mile from the Bay makes up for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had a delightful weekend at The Inn at Mitchell House. Jim & Tracy were great and the breakfast were first rate. Bird watching at Eastern Neck Wildlife Refuge was beautiful and the Farmers market was fascinating.

Room Tip: We enjoyed The Mitchell Room but the Stones Throw cottage looked really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catonsville, MD
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

No need to pull shades at night, there is not a house in sight! We watched spring bursting out all around us, enjoyed a comfortable bed and two delicious breakfasts. Jim and Tracy are friendly and helpful hosts. Ignore the two boisterous golden retrievers or else they will love you to death! Speaking of death . . .don't miss dessert to die for . . .chocolate bread pudding at The Kitchen at nearby Rock Hall.

Room Tip: Website is very specific in describing the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOT_Catonsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Innkeepers Tracy & Jim Stone were most friendly throughout our stay; period appointments at the Inn dating from the 18th and 19th century. What a history! The grounds are immaculate and rolling hills provide a fabulous view of the country side. The Inn itself is spectacular, each room different from the other and all cozy and inviting. Would most definitely recommend to anyone visiting the Eastern Shore.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatmitch, Owner at The Inn at Mitchell House, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thanks so much for staying with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Jim & Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

My then fiance and I went to the Inn at Mitchell House in August of 2009. We had a wonderful time, and found the host and hostess to be absolutely amazing. During our stay we became familiar with what we were told were sea nettles (jelly fish) that live in the Chesapeake Bay. After our encounter in which we both were stung several times, our hostess was very kind in helping us treat our somewhat uncomfortable but not so bad stings. I should clarify that our encounter was not near the Inn, but rather at a public beach near by (which I believe she warned us about)
Afterwards, we were able to relax on our own private deck and enjoy the food and beverages left for us in the kitchen of the Stones Throw Cottage. The cottage is somewhat secluded from the rest of the house and guests, however it includes a TV, laundry facilities, a kitchen and a refrigerator with food and drinks. Additionally, the cabin is well kept, and an overall enjoyable place to relax.
Overall the property is very well kept and beautiful! Again, the host and hostess were amazing, and my now wife and I hope to return soon!
While this is not related to the Inn itself, one word of advise I would give, is find somewhere to eat early. During our trip, we found 9pm to be rather late for restaurants in the area. We were able to find one place, but were told they don't do carry out on Friday and Saturday nights.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AreWeThereYet2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatmitch, Owner at The Inn at Mitchell House, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thanks so much for staying with us. Jellyfish are usually not a problem where we are, only during a dry year because of the salinity. We hope to see you soon! Jim & Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn at Mitchell House. The Inn keepers were really friendly and accomodating. The "Stones Throw" accomodations were great and very private. There are several windows in the main room that do not have coverings which results in early mornings for anyone sleeping on the couch. My largest complaint is that you do not get the great breakfast that everyone raved about in the reviews. Since the cottage has a kitchen, the inkeeper leaves eggs, milk and fruit for you to make breakfast. I would think that after paying double the amount as other guests that we would have the choice of making breakfast or eating with the other guests. I would give them a five if they would fix the breakfast issue.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daweitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

Just spent 3 days at the Inn at Mitchell House over the fourth of july weekend. The innkeepers are very down-to-earth, pleasant people. The Inn sits on 10 acres, back a gravel road. The setting is very serene and quiet. Sitting outside by the pond in the evening was very relaxing. The home-cooked breakfasts were delightful and plentiful.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatmitch, Owner at The Inn at Mitchell House, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thanks so much for staying with us. When the main house is not full we can ask guests from the cottage to have breakfast with us. There is just not enough room to accommodate everyone if the Inn is full which was the case that weekend. Breakfast at the cottage is mentioned on our website and it was mentioned upon your arrival, but we will try to make sure there is no confusion in the future. Your son was a delight catching frogs in our pond and releasing them! Hope to see you again. Jim & Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown
8.7 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 2 in Chestertown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
5.5 mi away
Inn at Haven Harbour
Inn at Haven Harbour
#1 of 3 in Rock Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The Inn at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
3.8 mi away
Great Oak Manor
Great Oak Manor
#2 of 11 in Chestertown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
7.3 mi away
Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mitchell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mitchell House

Property: The Inn at Mitchell House
Address: 8796 Maryland Pkwy, Chestertown, MD 21620-4209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Chestertown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Mitchell House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Maryland's Eastern Shore between Chestertown and Rock Hall in Kent County, this lovely 18th-century manor home sits like a jewel on 12 manicured acres. The Chesapeake Bay is a mere 1/2 mile away, where guests may use the private beach and full services of the Tolchester Marina. The Inn's six guest rooms, two parlors, screened porch, and numerous fireplaces provide a casual and friendly atmosphere. Our new "Stones Throw" cottage is the perfect romantic getaway or retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Mitchell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing