We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect lodging option for the four of us!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simply Bed and Bread

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chestertown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Simply Bed and Bread
Ranked #3 of 11 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westerly, Rhode Island
1 review
“Perfect lodging option for the four of us!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

My husband and I traveled with his parents to Chestertown for a wedding. We could not have found a better spot to spend the weekend. Cheryl and Dave were the perfect hosts. The B+B was spotless and filled with many pleasant surprises. I loved the Godiva mint chocolate drops that were waiting for me in my room. Each room had a mini fridge and a flat screen TV. The breakfasts were wonderful, again filled with special treats. Chestertown is a great little gem of a town-many cute shops, and a wonderful farmer's market, all within walking distance from the B+B. We enjoyed our time at Simply Bed and Bread, the perfect lodging option for the four of us, and very affordable.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkelly1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
78
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MDtravelguy08
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

We were amazed to find Simply Bed and Bread nestled in historic Chestertown. A short walk from downtown and the river-front, you don't have to go far to find things to do. The proprietors were very welcoming and provided us just the right balance of attention and privacy. The room was great, with comfortable bed and a large TV. The breakfast was amazing! Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDtravelguy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

Cheryl is the perfect hostess - eager to serve, loves to talk and yes, listen too - and cooks up a delicious and creative breakfast, with plenty to eat. Her husband David is down to earth and a pleasure to get to know.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobarms2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

We had a lovely stay at Simply Bed and Bread. Cheryl and David made us feel right at home. They have only been doing this for a short time, but it seemed like they were old pros. The bedroom and bathroom were both spotlessly clean. Breakfast and other snacks were delicious. Cheryl was always ready and willing to serve us and to meet our needs. When we got lost in Chestertown, David came to our rescue. A lovely couple with a delightful B&B. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparksrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

What a treat to stay at Simply Bed & Bread! We felt so at home and found the owners to be gracious and also very helpful in planning our day trips. Great breakfasts, books and information on Delmarva and located so close to downown and the water.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soapmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

My husband and I were celebrating our 36th anniversary and needed some respite from the challenges of caring for our special needs daughter. We made plans to visit Chestertown, MD because we enjoy historical architecture and exploring different neighborhood settings. The B&B location was perfect - a quiet side street close to Washington College, and an easy walk into the center of town. Our hosts Cheryl and David were warm and gracious, and very helpful with info about the area, local events, restaurant recommendations etc. Our charming room (with a california king-size bed and flat screen tv) was spacious and filled with so many surprises which I won't spoil for future guests! Suffice it to say that there is much attention to detail here. Breakfast was tasty with generous portions, and the homemade cinnamon buns are to die for!!
Many thanks to Cheryl and David for making us feel so welcome and helping us to relax and regroup.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nursealto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

If you are looking for a place to stay that is impeccable in every sense of the word, then stay at Simply Bed and Bread. This new B & B is located near Washington College and within walking distance of downtown Chestertown. We stayed here while house hunting for a second home. The innkeepers, natives of Chestertown, could not have made us feel more welcome. The house and rooms are meticulously maintained with every detail thought out and provided for. This is a small B& B, with two rooms and a shared bath and the second floor. Both rooms were spotless and charming. The beds were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was also spotless (this from someone who gets the heebeegees fairly easily). Reasonable, you'll get way more than you pay for....a trye hidden gem.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChappaquaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown
1.0 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 2 in Chestertown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kent Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Inn at Haven Harbour
Inn at Haven Harbour
#1 of 3 in Rock Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn
8.1 mi away
Great Oak Manor
Great Oak Manor
#2 of 11 in Chestertown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simply Bed and Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simply Bed and Bread

Property: Simply Bed and Bread
Address: 208 Mount Vernon Ave, Chestertown, MD 21620-1324
Region: United States > Maryland > Chestertown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think home-y, not hotel.Think character, not cookie-cutter.Think individualized, not generic.Think fresh, not frou-frou.Think stocking feet, not stuffy.Think friendly, not formal.Private. Yet personal.2 cozy, spacious, allergy-friendly upstairs rooms in a 1947 Cape Cod on a quiet street 100 yards from Washington College. Close to the hospital, Heron Point, historic downtown and the waterfront. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing