We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Harbor House Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 46 Restaurants in Chestertown
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This place is very up and down.
Been going here for 20 plus yrs
very disappointing today

hope it gets better

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank justus3621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennedyville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“After many great years, won't be returning”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Special occasion - sister's 55 birthday and Mother's Day. The parents make a reservation to use the published coupon to treat all to a lobster dinner. Note: they also advertised a Mother's Day buffet from 11-7. The reservation was for 6:30 so common sense would tell you we weren't planning on the buffet. Were told the coupon was no good for lobster and had to have the buffet. So for a bill of around $30 per person, got no drinks except for a puny mimosa (weren't offered even water), no bread, no salad, no meat, some dried out and cold old items and lots of desserts (we don't do dessert). Such a shame, After many great meals, we won't be returning to Harbor House. Hope they can make it on the tourists, because they sure have lost the locals.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings-Mostly Good”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Went with a group of friends. Service was excellent and food was delivered very quickly. The view was awesome. Salad and bread were really good. Our friends loved the food. They had oysters, chicken & filet. My wife and I thought the crab cakes and rockfish could have been cooked a bit more. I'd probably go again but try something else.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hill, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great staff, great view!”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

When a planned dinner wedding for 35 fell through, the Harbor House came to the rescue! With 6 hours to the event, the staff pulled together a great menu at a reasonable price, even adding nice touches like fliers congratulating the bride and groom.

The menu included choice of soup, salad, 3 entrees (crab imperial, rockfish, prime rib), and seasonal veggies. I had the crab, which was excellent, and heard rave reviews from others as well. Service was friendly and well-managed. The view from the back room, overlooking the river and Marina, was beautiful. The building is an old house, very quaint and unique. Harbor House is well worth the 12 minute drive tron Chestertown if you are visiting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Absolutely First Class!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had our wedding reception at this restaurant on August 4, 2013, and the food, service, and decor were absolutely excellent. Bob was so accomodating and personable that we had a great experience. Everyone raved about the food! Best crabcakes I've ever had, said one person. The fillet mignon was excellent said two guests. And the rockfish was wonderful added my stepdaughter. I had the baked stuffed shrimp, and they were perfectly cooked and the stuffing was excellent. The restaurant is a little hard to find. They are actually off Buck Neck Road, so watch for the sign on the right as you approach the end of Buck Neck. I highly recommend this restaurant if you want an excellent meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drjim1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harbor House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Harbor House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing