We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check it out now.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Play it again Sam

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Play it again Sam
Ranked #14 of 43 Restaurants in Chestertown
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Check it out now.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Play it Again Sam's is under new management. The food was usually pretty good there--especially the soups in winter. The sandwiches were good too, although the salads were heavy on the greens and not so significant with the main item. The atmosphere was a bit run down but perhaps under the new management, there will be some improvement with the furnishings and extended menu items.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bjbrooks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chestertown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can you say unsanitary?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Went to Sams for a couple sandwiches this afternoon and was appalled by how I witnessed them being made. I watched one woman who was helping make them eat a bagel, lick cream cheese off of her finger and the proceed to assist in constructing my food. Not to mention the fact that neither of the sandwich makers were wearing any gloves, I could hardly believe that. Surprising that such a thing was happening right under the supervision of a new owner. Sadly, such a wonderful space seems to be completely neglected.

Helpful?
4 Thank Epats203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
179 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Love Sam's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Been going here for 2 years and don't plan on stopping, great food and great atmosphere. Coffee here is also incredible. Can't go wrong with anything

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glubetrutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
231 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Get coffee and wine in the same place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is a very fun, cheerful coffee shop to spend some time with friends. My boyfriend and I like to visit for cappuccinos and to study at one of the outdoor tables in nice weather. The staff is very friendly and the coffee is bold & tasty. There is also a few racks of wine available for purchase, which I find a fun combination with the coffee shop feel.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SMLove226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Relaxed local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

A great relaxed feel ... Coffee, beer and wine, freshly made sandwiches, a mix of furnishings and a small courtyard out the back and pavement seating out front ... Students, locals, tourists all mix together. My son is at Washington college and loves it here ... Scrabble, chess, plug in your laptop and relax!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liney1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Play it again Sam also viewed

 

Been to Play it again Sam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing