We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long time since I was this disappointed”
Review of Blue Heron Cafe

Blue Heron Cafe
Ranked #3 of 46 Restaurants in Chestertown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$27
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“long time since I was this disappointed”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This place is tired. At a minimum we expected to have fresh seafood in this part of the world. Both of our entrees tasted frozen and and were way over seasoned and over cooked. Vegetables were frozen mixtures. One entree was served on a dish that had 4 chips around the rim. Obviously, the kitchen has no pride.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sneff222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    39
    16
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
central New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is smaller café but the food is delicious. The staff is friendly and we were greeted at the door when we arrived. We have dined at this restaurant each time we visit Chestertown and we are never disappointed.


Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank redsoxfan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Felt we were an embarrasment”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The food was good if a tad over priced, but on going into this restaurant on a very hot and steamy day in good quality shorts, as we had doen with all the other restaurants in town, we got whisked away to a table at the back well out of sight of the main body of the restaurant. As did similarly attired customers who came in after us. There was no way we could get sight of the menu until we were sat at the table and whilst the entrees and wine did have prices the first time we discovered how muc things cost was when the check was delivered. Perhaps this is the way establishments who over charge a bit get their custom??

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rossnagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

A lot of negative reviews of this place on Yelp, but it was quite nice when I went. The food was outstanding and the service, while a touch slow, was more of the "European standard." I certainly would not even remotely call it poor service. I had a wonderful steak and fantastic crabcake and one of their homemade ice creams for dessert. No one in my large-ish party was anything but complementary. I would definitely go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank miscrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is our special occassion place”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We love the charming atmosphere of this place with its white table cloth's and nice setting. They have a bartender who knows how to make a muddled old fashion and the tonic for the G&T is fresh. The oyster fritter is worth the calories. They always have something good and I like the seasonal dishes.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ronny224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Heron Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Heron Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing