We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Classy, Great Spot in a Small Town”
Review of Blue Heron Cafe

Blue Heron Cafe
Ranked #3 of 46 Restaurants in Chestertown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$27
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Classy, Great Spot in a Small Town”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Loved everything, the food is pricey but you get what you pay for. Awesome wine selection and great appetizers. Definitely a treat every time we go. Don't skip dessert at this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    37
    15
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A special meal ... Great steak”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

A nice restaurant off the Main Street in Chestertown. We hadn't made a reservation but they fitted us in... And we had a lovely meal and very good service. The steak was superb ... Couldn't manage a desert but they looked good!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liney1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“long time since I was this disappointed”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This place is tired. At a minimum we expected to have fresh seafood in this part of the world. Both of our entrees tasted frozen and and were way over seasoned and over cooked. Vegetables were frozen mixtures. One entree was served on a dish that had 4 chips around the rim. Obviously, the kitchen has no pride.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sneff222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is smaller café but the food is delicious. The staff is friendly and we were greeted at the door when we arrived. We have dined at this restaurant each time we visit Chestertown and we are never disappointed.


Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank redsoxfan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Felt we were an embarrasment”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The food was good if a tad over priced, but on going into this restaurant on a very hot and steamy day in good quality shorts, as we had doen with all the other restaurants in town, we got whisked away to a table at the back well out of sight of the main body of the restaurant. As did similarly attired customers who came in after us. There was no way we could get sight of the menu until we were sat at the table and whilst the entrees and wine did have prices the first time we discovered how muc things cost was when the check was delivered. Perhaps this is the way establishments who over charge a bit get their custom??

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rossnagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Heron Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Heron Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing