We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chestertown
York, PA
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“More than I expected”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We brought a group of high school students to this hotel on a weekend in April. Very good group rates. When we arrived, one of the rooms was not cleaned and it was replaced by a clean room. After that everything went smoothly. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pensfan1York_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    51
    32
    2
    4
See reviews for
58
29
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
FFX Va
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights to attend a wedding and was pleasantly surprised to find such a beautifully decorated, high quality (bed linens, towels), comfortable hotel room. Desk staff helpful, breakfast attractive, and coffee delicious. Definitely a step above the usual HI.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderlustyFFXVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

For many reasons: We had to change our reservation from 2 nights to 1, and we were only charged for the one night. They were gracious hosts to our son's (very well behaved) college lacrosse team. Front desk was responsive and available. The room and overall facility was very clean and in good repair. The location is convenient to the college, the town, and shopping for misc shopping (drug store, snack, etc.). They accommodate pets for a small additional fee. And last, I accidentally left something in my room after check out, and when I called, Chuck, at the front desk, went to find it while I stayed on hold. Then they sent it UPS and I rec'd it the next day. He was just as gracious as you would be if someone had left something behind when they were visiting your home. This is our second stay at this facility, and we will be back, and recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyMom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear HappyMom2014,

Thank you for expressing your gratitude regarding your recent stay with us. We understand the stress of traveling and we try to make every guests stay as accommodating as possible. Thank you again for the kind words and we look forward to seeing you and your son's lacrosse team again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

we had 9 rooms for a Saturday function and the stay was magnificent. Tara was outstanding, I have never seen a front deskperson so caring. The bunch loved the stay....we had the hospitality room and was not given a time limit. The bunch was thrilled to be able to enjoy the country sites and not pay alot for the hotel stay

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkgilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear hawkgilb,

Thank you for taking time to complete a survey regarding your most recent stay. I will forward your comments to Tara and thank her for provided a caring experience to you and your group. We hope you visit us again the next time you or your group visits the Chestertown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Great hotel that I bought with IHG reward points. I wasn't really expecting much based on some previous comments, but it was obviously recently updated and was fantastic. It wasn't really walking distance to anything but otherwise everything was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzy_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Jazzy_Mark,

Thank you for your fantastic review of our hotel. We know you have many options when traveling and we certainly appreciate you choosing to stay with us. Award points are a great way for our hotel to get our members to visit and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you travel to Chestertown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We arrived at 830 pm to a room which felt like a refrigerator - 55 degrees. The heat completely turned off. It took almost an hour to get to 65 degrees. Why no heat? The front desk reply: "to keep costs down." I don't expect you to heat all your rooms when you only have 30 guests. But you should at least keep those 30 rooms at a livable temperature for your guests with pre-paid reservations.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear kms,

My apologize for the unpleasant temperature of your room upon arrival. We should have done a better job preparing for your arrival and I apologize for the oversite. Please stop by again the next time you are in town so that we may show you our true level of hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed here for a quick visit to Chestertown. The hotel is nice and clean, rooms are pretty comfortable and new-feeling with HDTVs, fridge and microwave. The breakfast however was a complete disappointment. The food was terrible and even the cereal they provided tasted badly. The staff was friendly and responsive and seemed to make all guest comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachtravelerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear beachtravelerrr,

Thank you for your taking time out of your busy schedule to complete a survey regarding your stay. We thank you for your kind word regarding the cleanliness and amenities we offer. We understand the breakfast bar options are in need of improvements so if you travel to an IHG property within the first quarter of 2014, you will notice new breakfast items available. We hope to see you again should your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 2 in Chestertown
115 reviews
19.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 4 in Grasonville
141 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kent Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kent Island
1.7 mi away
Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn
7.7 mi away
Great Oak Manor
Great Oak Manor
#2 of 11 in Chestertown
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown
Address: 150 Scheeler Rd, Chestertown, MD 21620-1031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Chestertown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chestertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Chestertown, Maryland near Washington College. Our new Chestertown hotel near Washington College provides comfortable hotel rooms in Chestertown, Maryland. Our Chestertown hotel is located near several Chestertown attractions including the Hopkins Game Farm, Goose Valley Farms, Crimson Staples, Crumpton Auctions and the Waterman's Museum. Guests can further enjoy their Chestertown vacation by taking advantage of the one-of-a-kind shopping experience historical downtown Chestertown offers. Downtown Chestertown, just minutes from our hotel, houses several locally owned and operated stores. Conveniently located near the Chester River, guests of our hotel in Chestertown, Maryland, can enjoy Maryland's picturesque New England scenery while paddling or riding down the Chester River. Visitors can also take walking tours of historical Chestertown, MD, discover Chestertown's rich maritime history or take daytime or sunset sailing tours. Unlike other Chestertown hotels, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Chestertown, Maryland, offers comfortable rooms and is conveniently located near Washington College. During your Chestertown visit, enjoy our hotel's signature hot breakfast bar along with other amenities such as high-speed, wireless Internet access and an indoor pool. Make your reservations at our Chestertown, MD, hotel today and enjoy our excellent hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Chestertown
Holiday Inn Chestertown
Chestertown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing