We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh, local ingredients”
Review of Brooks Tavern - CLOSED

Brooks Tavern
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Brooks Tavern closed permanently on September 20th, 2014. We will be opening a new venture in our old Kennedyville Inn Building late fall 2014 - the KB Market and Kitchen School. Meanwhile, look for Tony Wong's Cafe Sado to take over the space in the Radcliffe Mill!
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh, local ingredients”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Brooks Tavern is a very small lovely restaurant that features fresh local meat, fish, and vegetables. The food is prepared to ones preference and the presentation is beautiful. The wait staff is well-informed and service is excellent. Brooks does not take reservations, but there is a small bar where one can "wait" for an available table.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBHarr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    34
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Food a cut above but uncomfortable setting”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

A recent meal of oyster fritter and fluke was good. My son had duck curry and enjoyed it. The menu is definitely more upscale than other local restaurants, and well prepared. Desserts (ice cream cake and chocolate pudding cake) were quite good.

Service was efficient. The one (significant) negative is that the tables were we sat were ridiculously close together. It was almost like eating family style. There was no way to avoid hearing the conversation of the people next to you, or in our case, the repeated belching of the customer sitting next to us. Our wait staff had to lean over my son to attend to anything on the table as there wasn't room to get next to the table. We even chatted with people 2 tables over. What was weird is it looked like they could have spread the tables out more, and not all tables in the restaurant were crowded together. There weren't any open tables so we didn't asked to be moved.

Being so close, I could see my neighbors food, and saw a very nice sized serving of fried calamari, and a well received plate of pork.

With one "small plate" (appetizer), two large plates, and two desserts, the tab was $86 without tip or drinks. No complaints based on the value received. Don't know if I will go back because I didn't enjoy being so crowded, and with my luck we would get the same table.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank loveambergris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The only disappointment at Brooks Tavern was they were out of Lemon Ice Box Pie! The food choices were diverse and delicious. Would recommend Brooks Tavern and will be back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food and cozy place”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We went with friends for dinner. The food was fantastic. This is our friends' favorite restaurant in Chestertown. We all had fantastic appetizers--the oyster fritter was unbelievable and the onion soup, super. The meals were also awesome--swordfish and trout both had oysters in them. Loved this place and would definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raeumlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“nice find”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

this place has really good food and drinks and its a very nice atmosphere to enjoy. If you are in Chestertown and looking for a special place to go I would highly recommend this one.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brooks Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing