We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We were looking for a romantic getaway not too far a drive from the Brandywine River Valley area in PA/DE, which is where we were starting out. We came across the Brampton Inn and based on TripAdvisor reviews and the right traveling distance, we decided to book it without knowing much about the area. We were spending only two nights so it seemed like there would be enough to do in the area though we did find it amusing that Longwood Gardens (essentially where we were coming from) was listed as one of the activities in the “Plan Your Stay” section of the website. We booked what was at the time the least expensive room, the Red Room, located on the third floor in the main house. Room rates have recently gone up, so though the Red Room is still the least expensive, it is now among a group of rooms offered at the same higher price so the Red Room in particular has become less of a value. The room itself was cute and spacious. It had a nice high (queen) bed with steps to help you up, a small TV with DVD player (DVD collection downstairs), a sitting nook with two chairs, and of course private bath with shower. In keeping with the historic character of the house, lighting was pretty dim after the sun went down. There were four lamps scattered throughout the room but I guess the poor lighting is supposed to preserve the old-timey feeling. This is an old historic house with many charms but you do have the issues of age—creaky floors and plumbing/heating noises coming from the walls. A nice thing about breakfast was you had a choice of entrée—both mornings, they offered a sweet, a savory, or eggs any way as options. The baked goods were the tastiest parts of the breakfast. One morning, we had apricot scones and the next, blueberry muffins. There was also tea and snacks between 4 and 5pm and cookies, sherry, and soda available throughout the day. I had emailed Danielle in advance to ask about dining recommendations and she was very helpful about that. We had a great dinner at The Kitchen at Rock Hall. Upon check-in, we also received a list of area restaurants with mini-descriptions that seemed like they were spot on. As for activities, we visited the Eastern Neck Wildlife Refuge, which was very pleasant and peaceful. We also did the self-guided walking tour of historic Chestertown (get the map from the Visitors’ Center in Chestertown; the woman there was very helpful and had lots of tips and stories to share as well as every kind of map you could need—we got the Eastern Neck Wildlife Refuge trails map and descriptions there so we were well-prepared when we arrived at the refuge) as well as the free i-pod walking tour offered by Washington College (pick up the i-pods at The Custom House building). We had a lovely and pleasant stay at the Brampton Inn, enjoying a slower pace and discovering the charms of the Chestertown environs.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelTotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful and detailed review. Our area does have an amazing wealth of places to visit and see and many wonderful restaurants to choose from. We feel pretty lucky.

I very much appreciate your comment about the lights in your room. I will make sure to either change the bulbs or add another lamp. Good lights are imperative.

Again, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at the Brampton Inn for a mid-week getaway and it was truly wonderful. Very beautiful setting - and they have thought of everything. Every detail covered . Afternoon tea with homemade cookies! Very clean, excellent breakfast all with a comfortable relaxed hospitality that feels very natural and friendly. Perfect fall location.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggywa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Thank you for your kind words. Fall on the Easter Shore was spectacular this year. After a wet start we enjoyed the most amazing autumn weather. I'm so glad you got to enjoy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

How do I begin to describe this weekend? We had our small wedding of 15 at the Brampton, and we ourselves stayed in the Mulberry Cottage. It was just heavenly--highlights included exchanging our vows under the very old and majestic beech tree, being able to dance with our guests in the dining room reception afterward. The food was wonderful--the cake in particular was so rich and wonderful it could hardly be considered food for mortals.

Having the friendly and unfailingly helpful staff at Brampton to handle the arrangements freed us up to just enjoy the event. They were also completely flexible with our special requests. This is a very delightful place--a real gem. We plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

It is not everyday that we get to watch a bride and groom dance the tango in our dining room. You did it perfectly. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Brampton Inn in Olivia's Cottage. The cottage was wonderful - we loved the outdoor patio and Japanese soaking tub. I can not say enough about the service. We had breakfast delivered to our cottage each morning, which arrived promptly after we called to say we were awake - it was absolutely delicious and they give you a few choices to choose from includes eggs any way you want them. Reeda and her husband really go the extra mile.

We were a little disappointed not to be able to make a big fire in the fireplace (they don't do this till late fall / winter), but they did provide us with a starter log each night that burned for a few hours. Please note very few stations come in on the TV, but they have a great DVD collection in the main house (oldies but goodies). For dinner, I highly recommend Brooks Tavern, which is almost walking distance to the inn. We would definitely return. A great place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBN712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Fireplace season starts on November 1st and my husband is splitting wood and getting ready for real fires in the fireplaces as I write this. Thank you for your wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed at the Brampton B&B over the Columbus Day weekend and have to rate the experience among the top B&B's we have stayed in over the past 20 years. The Inn was spotless and the "Blue Room" which we chose was exceptionally comfortable and quiet.

The Innkeepers are extremely accommodating and have thought of several little touches which are much appreciated (afternoon tea & snacks, endless cookie jar,,,) which add to a feeling of relaxation.

The breakfast served are not skimpy nor over the top - just nicely balanced and inventive but if you would rather opt for simple eggs and toast, they will gladly do that as well. We hope to be back and HIGHLY recommend the Brampton if you are considering spending time in the Chestertown area.

Room Tip: The Blue Room is on the second floor with nice views and a great shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJMADM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

We very much appreciate your review, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

First time at the Brampton, stayed in Sophies Suite that was very comfortable, great amenities, separate little lounge/TV area. The Inn is a wonderful example of old charm with great amenities, from the everlasting cookie jar, sherry and hot water that are always available to the afternoon tea buffet and wonderful breakfast. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKintheUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Thank you for your review and your recommendation. We very much appreciate it. The cookies are Carole's creations. She is our amazing breakfast chef and baker and always happy to share a recipe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We got married at the Brampton Inn. It was an intimate, romantic, and elegant wedding. The scenery at the inn gave us the most beautiful pictures. The inn took care of everything. We wouldn't change a thing about our wedding or our stay and plan on coming back for our one year anniversary. Thank you Brampton Inn for our perfect wedding!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newlyweds091011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Thank you! We are delighted that it was the perfect wedding for you and it is our greatest pleasure to be part of a stress-free event. Much happiness to both of you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 2 in Chestertown
121 reviews
20.8 mi away
Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Great Oak Manor
Great Oak Manor
#2 of 11 in Chestertown
379 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Inn at Osprey Point
The Inn at Osprey Point
#1 of 10 in Rock Hall
343 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Inn at Mitchell House
The Inn at Mitchell House
#4 of 11 in Chestertown
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 25227 Chestertown Rd, Chestertown, MD 21620-3944
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Chestertown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range: £142 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an historic and award winning bed and breakfast in Chestertown, MD. Our romantic Chestertown, Maryland hotel is situated on 20 beautiful acres with gorgeous gardens, glorious views and scrumptious breakfasts! Unforgettable rooms and suites at our Chesapeake bed and breakfast offer whirlpool tubs, body-jetted showers, wood burning fireplaces, robes, flat screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Treat someone special to the most romantic setting of any of Maryland's Eastern Shore inns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brampton Hotel Chestertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing