We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A World Apart"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"A World Apart"”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We just got back from a two night stay in the Fairy Hill Suite at the Brampton Inn. This Inn is exceptional in every way--from the beautiful decor, to the gourmet breakfasts, the lovely surroundings and all the little details, so thoughtfully provided. We found so much to do in the area, fantastic dining at the Kitchen in Rock Hall and the Blue Heron in Chestertown, gracious landscapes to cycle through, a visit to the extraordinary Eastern Neck National Wildlife Refuge.

Now that we have discovered this part of Maryland--and especially this amazing inn--we are already planning return trips. It's only an hour and a half from where we live outside Baltimore.
What a find!

Room Tip: We loved the Fairy Hill Suite--it's almost like having a lovely little cottage, except that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne60811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    42
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
55
482
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Brampton Inn is a true gem! During our stay, the stress of our lives was lessened by every glass of lemonade on the wrap around porch, the yummy muffins in the morning, the great suggestions of local activities and restaurants , and the Mulberry Cottage. In the cottage we enjoyed the lucious bed, comfy chairs, incredible shower, porch swing, hammock, and the incredible Japanese soaking tub. If you want a little step back to a more relaxed time, stay at the Brampton. It is a beautiful find.

Room Tip: The Cottages are very private. Bright, large,and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl3927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband and I checked into the Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn on a Sunday and were in the Mulberry Cottage. We were greeted by Rita, who was extremely engaging an helpful. We drove our SUV into the red barn structure lining the private entrance to the cottage and opened the door into tranquility. I was reminded of literature--"Howard's End," "Lady Chatterley's Lover," "The Secret Garden," any sort of enchanted tale that involves a hidden world cleverly ensconced not far from the real one.

The cottage is completely private and boasts an outdoor shower, placed amid the hydrangeas and tiger lilies; a fantastic Japanese soaking tub in a close-by screened-in porch; a steam shower; and a whirlpool bathtub.

This was a big birthday (read: painful) for me and I wanted the perfect escape, and we got it. My husband and I got to reconnect, recharge, reinvigorate and--relax. We went to the main B&B plantation house for tea one afternoon, which was very nice, but for the most part we stayed on our own and opted for the very pleasant choice of having breakfast delivered to our cottage each morning. That was huge. We sat on the porch, underneath the ceiling fans, and had breakfast al fresco in our own private sanctuary.

We toured historic Chestertown one morning and then returned to the cottage to enjoy the solitude and the quiet. On our last evening, we soaked in the Japanese tub and marveled at the tiny paparazzi show of fireflies lighting up the meadow and the tress beyond in spectacular fashion.

It took two nights of superior service, accommodations and attention to detail for us to really feel like we had gotten away, and gotten back to the best part of ourselves. We bade farewell to Danielle, the warm and inviting proprietress, on our last day, determined to return again.

Room Tip: Mulberry Cottage, a private area adjacent to a meadow, is lovely.
See more room tips
Green Features: There are locally grown products in their beautiful garden (we had asparagus omelettes this morning; they have an opt-out for towel washing...
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Overall very good experience. One caveat - in June the bugs are out and it is heavily wooded, so we did not get to take advantage of walking the grounds. Otherwise everything was great. Breakfasts were excellent. My wife said the mattress was the best she ever slept on (and she is picky). No cable, but TV got NBC so I was set for Stanley Cup (besides, it's a romantic getaway). The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
We greatly appreciate your review and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Walking the grounds after all the rain these past few weeks was indeed a bit of a challenge. Thank goodness for the porch with the ceiling fans that make it possible to enjoy the outdoors protected from the critters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My name is Kimberly Scott and my husband is Astley Scott and we stayed at the Brampton Inn for our 10th wedding anniversary from Friday, June 14, 2003- Monday, June 17, 2013. We were taken away from the very beginning as we entered the beautiful drive way that greets you with an arch made from natures own greenery. The main guest house looked like a southern mansion straight from Augusta Georgia with a beautiful wrap around porch that sat guest as they read. We stayed in the Sunset cottage which was a true to form from all the previous reviews and pictures on their web site. The room was comfortable, the bed was soft, the TV was a flat screen that my husband loved! The bathroom was spacious with a jetted whirl pool tub that we both could fit nicely in. We enjoyed breakfast every morning in the main house as the culinary staff prepared fresh, local products for our taste buds which never disappointed us. The local bacon and sausage was to die for. The fresh produce and herbs picked every morning was a delight to sample, thanks Danielle and team. You made our 10 year anniversary even special with all the little touches that were added. Tea time at 4pm with specialty pastries was great. We enjoyed kayaking on the river, golfing at the club, and the restaurants your team recommend to us for dinner and lunch. May your establishment continue to make many couples happy as you made us this past weekend.

The Scott's.

Green Features: Very environmentally-friendly practices in place, great to see.
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Kimberly and Astley, Happy anniversary!
Thank you so much for your amazing review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Olivia's Meadow Cottage for 2 nights and it was perhaps the best vacation of my life! Our 15th Wedding Anniversary, it was an incredibly relaxing, romantic getaway. The service was excellent: very attentive yet never intrusive. Always only just a call away. The cottage was clean and in excellent shape, like it had just been built for us. We took strolls throughout the property noticing squirrels, rabbits and deer... and of course the owner's friendly outdoor cats (I'm not a cat person, but they left you alone until you showed interest). The food was top notch and we found ourselves getting excited to see what would come the next morning! We made use of the owner's rental kayaks and drop-off/ pick-up to and from a nearby tributary where we saw plenty of waterfowl and enjoyed a great day on the water. Trust the hostess's recommendation on restaurants. We took her advice on a nearby hole-in-the-wall restaurant we never would've tried but were incredibly pleased with. On the flip side, we ignored some advice to stay away from another establishment that sounded good in it's menu... and we should've listened to our hostess!
Lots of DVDs and books to borrow if you forget your own. They have really thought of everything here and you won't regret this choice!

Room Tip: The Olivia Cottage was every bit as great as the Mulberry, with perhaps even a bit more privacy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. It is a pleasure to know that you had a great time while visiting the Brampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Our first visit to the Brampton was in July 2011. I took my then fiance for a surprise get-a-way for his birthday. I booked the Mulberry Cottage because on the website it seemed to everything that I was looking for, and when we got there it was simply perfect!! We loved our stay at the Brampton so much, that when we got home from our first visit there we cancelled the trip we had booked elsewhere for our honeymoon and booked our honeymoon in the Olivia Cottage at the Brampton.

As soon as we turned into the driveway, we knew that we were someone very special. The main house is simply stunning and so beautifully restored and decorated. The Mulberry and Olivia cottages are further back on the property, private and secluded, which is exactly what we wanted on both trips. They are both extremely well appointed, very spacious and comfortable with great furniture and decor. The steam shower, spa tub and Japanese soaking tub on the screened in porch are all outstanding! Most mornings we had breakfast in our cottage and a few mornings during our honeymoon we actually ventured inside the main house. We really appreciate the flexibility of breakfast times and choices at the Brampton. Each morning- the food was truly delicious and scrumptious! The use of homegrown, homemade and local foods are such a special touch and you can tell that the food is made with love. The afternoon goodies and tea and homemade cookies are such a wonderful treat! We were the only guests staying on the property one day and were able to look at all of the cottages and rooms available, we felt that each was lovely and distinct. I don't think you can go wrong with any of the choices as to which room or cottage to stay in.

The July weekend we stayed, we enjoyed a special dinner of fresh crabs, corn-on-the cob and cobbler on the front porch with a few other couples staying there, and we had the best time! During our Fall 2011 week long stay, we enjoyed walking around the property each day and watching the leaves change. It is so peaceful and serene, definitely a place to go to unplug and get away from it all. Went spent most of our time at the property, but Chestertown and Rock Hall are quaint little towns with cute shops and restaurants to choose from.

The hospitality at the Brampton is hands down, the best! Danielle and Michael are so gracious, accommodating and welcoming. As is Rita, who took such extra,special care of us during our honeymoon. They are exactly what you would want in innkeepers, they are there if you need them, they are extremely friendly and helpful but are never intrusive. We simply love the Brampton Inn and cannot wait to unwind and relax again there in the future!!

(our stays were July 2011 and October 2011, but I waited so long to write this review that Trip Advisor's time line does not go back that far)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Hi Lindsey, Thank you for the fantastic review. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 2 in Chestertown
115 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kent Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
7.0 mi away
Great Oak Manor
Great Oak Manor
#2 of 11 in Chestertown
360 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Inn at Osprey Point
The Inn at Osprey Point
#1 of 10 in Rock Hall
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 25227 Chestertown Rd., Chestertown, MD 21620-3944
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Chestertown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an historic and award winning bed and breakfast in Chestertown, MD. Our romantic Chestertown, Maryland hotel is situated on 20 beautiful acres with gorgeous gardens, glorious views and scrumptious breakfasts! Unforgettable rooms and suites at our Chesapeake bed and breakfast offer whirlpool tubs, body-jetted showers, wood burning fireplaces, robes, flat screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Treat someone special to the most romantic setting of any of Maryland's Eastern Shore inns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brampton Hotel Chestertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing