We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the place and the room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Friendly helpful staff. Rita, the Inn Keeper, was the nicest person and gave great recommendations for restaurants. We stayed in the Blue Room which was large, comfortable and beautiful. Nice attention to amenities and details. The best breakfast on our 3 week trip, and cooked to order AND wonderful. We enjoyed our stay and the great treats. Well done. Thank you! PS some folks were not happy about the bugs, yes there are bugs, but they do not bother the guests, they are just trying to enjoy the room. They are not an issue unless you are terrified of bugs. They are not the result of poor housekeeping any more than mosquitoes are at your home.

Room Tip: We loved the home and the blue room. Not sure other rooms have the car was shower but the Blue Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeonNoel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words. Rita is indeed wonderful and I'm so glad you enjoyed our breakfast and treats.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Brampton Inn for an extended weekend visit. Fairly clean and charming, the inn comprises a main brick house with sleeping rooms as well as external cottages. We stayed in the quaint yet modern Mulberry Cottage, which included a wood-burning brick fireplace, a lovely window seat, a wet bar, a comfortable bed, lots of natural light, a deep tub and steam shower, and a spacious sun porch with a large Japanese soaking tub. The innkeepers were very courteous and were careful to ensure that we received the same level of service in the cottage as those in the main house.

We enjoyed the following:
+Delicious breakfasts (French toast, omelets, fruit bowls, pastries)
+Afternoon tea in the main house’s dining room (a variety of strong teas plus tasty finger foods and cake)
+Soaps and body butters for sale in the main house’s sun room
+”Ssshhh…For Lovers Only Package” (Includes sparkling wine, roses, chocolate-covered strawberries, a picnic lunch, a romantic feast at the Imperial Restaurant, and cookies and ice cream)
+Local restaurants (Brooks Tavern, Imperial Restaurant – served the best creme brulee I ever had)

The following are areas of improvement:
-Hidden entrance to inn and dark parking areas at night
-No microwave or phone (Keep cell phone charged :-) in the cottage
-No cable (though you can watch local channels or borrow DVDs from the inn’s DVD library)
-An occasional bug due to wooded areas

Room Tip: Choose the Mulberry Cottage or Olivia Cottage so you have the option of the For Lovers Only package
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TT777_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We very much appreciate your feed-back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed in The Apartment in Camellia Cottage as we were travelling with our 2 dogs. The cottage is much larger than it appears in the photographs and well appointed. We enjoyed the comfy bed and cozy lounge area with the log burner. It truly is a quiet spot, perfect for relaxing and escaping the busyness of life. We enjoyed walking our dogs around the grounds; we saw deer and lots of geese. They even supplied a doggy bowl and some home made treats for the dogs, which was a nice touch. The floors are mainly tiled, so we were glad we brought our slippers. The B&B does supply 2 fluffy bath robes, so after using the 6 jetted shower, you'll feel like you are at a day spa.
As it was my birthday, my parents called from London to pre-arrange a birthday cake and card, which the B&B supplied - a delicious carrot cake. Thank you for making that possible!
We also would recommend visiting the nearby Eastern Neck Wildlife Preserve where we spotted several bald eagles and foxes, The Kitchen at Rock Hall and JR's in Chestertown for dinner (try the crab soup.) If you are visiting with dogs, visit the dog park just off Schauber Road (off route 291 heading out of town.) It has 2 large fenced in areas where your dog can stretch his legs. We ran into the mayor of Chestertown whilst at the dog park, and when he asked where we were staying, he replied, "oh, that's one of the nicest places in Chestertown."
Breakfast at The Brampton is something to look forward to. You can ask for it to be delivered to the cottage, but we preferred to go to the main house. Everything we sampled, at both breakfast and afternoon tea, was delicious.
We also enjoyed the well stocked library with DVDs, books and games.
If you are looking to get away, far from the madding crowd, with high attention to detail and excellent food, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: If travelling with pets, book The Apartment in Camellia Cottage .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonLawyer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

We are so glad your birthday getaway was what you hoped for. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Attention to detail... towel warmers, double headed "car wash" shower, cookies, coffee, tea 24/7, afternoon tea, delicious breakfast, large selection of DVDs, friendly helpful staff, etc. This b&b is perfect for unwinding and relaxing.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Polly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for your review. I hope we turned you into a B&B convert!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Over the past 20 years my husband and I have spent a great deal of time in Chestertown and the surrounding area. We have always stayed at my mother-in-law's sprawling home about 20 minutes away in Church Hill. The unfortunate passing of my husbands mother brought us to the area again and deciding we were not comfortable staying in her home we booked "the apartment at camellia cottage." From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Danielle, the Innkeeper, we knew it was the right choice. Tea and apple tarts were ready on our arrival, and every afternoon thereafter, from 4-5pm, we were treated to afternoon tea service that included a variety of savory and sweets all of which were delicious. Breakfast was available in the dining room or delivered to "the apartment" the perfect accommodation for us; truly a complete apartment with stove fireplace, full kitchen, small dining table & living room, separate bedroom with king size bed, a shower with multiple heads, quality amenities and a towel warmer. Everything we ate was phenomenal, homemade cookies, granola, breads and mango lassie's. Both Danielle and Michael could not have been more accommodating and gracious not to mention thorough; area maps, restaurant recommendations & reviews, fire logs, puzzles, books, movies, really everything we could have wanted or needed. I am particular about where I stay. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Actually I would love to come back and stay in Olivia's Meadow at the Inn, maybe in the spring. I would recommend the Brampton B & B to anyone. It was a clean, comfortable, accommodating, delicious experience that made a tough situation much easier.

Room Tip: The Apartment was a more modern accommodation, not the typical antiques and lace like the big house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you Beth, we appreciate it very much that you took the time to write about your experience and we are so glad we were able to provide a comfortable place during your difficult times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband and I wanted to get away for a quick weekend trip to set our family and personal goals for this year. Brampton is a little less than 2 hours from us, and when I saw pictures of their two cottages, I was sold. We stayed in Olivia's Meadow, which is a detached cottage near the back of the property.

The Cottage:
The room was clean and has a modern feel, which is great since both my husband and I prefer a more modern feel than the more antique feel that most B&Bs have (though I can't speak to how the other Brampton Inn rooms look). Since we were there for some personal goal setting time, it didn't bother us that we were slightly separated from the fun of the big house and the afternoon teas and cookies there. Even though it was early February and freezing outside, my husband and I took advantage of the japanese soaking tub -- you actually don't notice the cold air at all once you're in the tub! We also loved the large shower/steam room, and the B&B's shampoo, conditioner, and body scrub smelled fantastic. The fireplace was already set up for us when we arrived, and additional logs were also provided (you get one complimentary bag of logs which lasts about an evening's worth of fire, and you would need to pay a small fee for any additional bag of logs). The small wet bar area was well stocked with hot chocolate and tea as well as a mini fridge, plates, silverware, and an electric kettle for heating water. The amenity that was most used was the awesome TV that hangs right above the bed, so you can lay in bed and watch TV without being propped up by a ton of pillows. We ended up spending the majority of our time lying in bed watching the Olympics and setting our goals.

Service:
Since we didn't leave the cottage except for dinner, towels were left in a bag at the front door with a note saying that, since we did not want to be disturbed, here are some towels in case we needed more. The innkeepers have compiled a big list of nearby restaurants and directions on using the cottage's steam room, jacuzzi, and soaking tub, which was great so we didn't have to keep bugging them to ask questions. With the cottages, you get an option for breakfast to be delivered in the morning, which we chose to do both mornings. The food arrived within 15 minutes of us calling the order in, and both meals were great.

Additional Info:
- The wifi was a little spotty in the cottage - it was ok for quick internet searches, but was difficult for streaming and heavy internet use.
- There are a lot of food options in the area, but some may have a hefty price tag for what you get. I would definitely check reviews and the menu before heading out to a restaurant.
- Personally, I didn't find that there was a lot to do and see in the nearby town, but it we also visited in the middle of the winter which may be a factor.

Overall, we had a fantastic stay and relaxing time. Though the daily rate is quite high, you do get a lot of great amenities you normally don't see at a B&B, and it's worth the cost if you take advantage of them all. If you don't plan on being in the room all day and just need a nice place to sleep, the other rooms in the inn may be a better fit for the cost. We were lucky that there was a promotional discount for one of our evenings, so you may want to see if there is a similar discount as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the cottage provided the necessary sanctuary for a relaxing getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We came back again to Brampton Inn, a family group of 8 adults. We felt welcome, cared for and restored at the end of our 4 day stay. We all stayed in the main house, all the rooms were lovely and comfortable. We spent a lot of time in the common rooms, as the snow kept us mostly indoors for a day and a half. There were terrific, intricate puzzles, good light for knitting and reading, a warming fire and great snacks. The breakfasts were wonderful, good choices for carb lovers and egg eaters alike. Danielle and the rest of the family and staff made us feel like part of the family. Will return againl.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful words. It was our absolute pleasure to have your family stay with us for a second time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 2 in Chestertown
122 reviews
7 mi away
Great Oak Manor
Great Oak Manor
#2 of 11 in Chestertown
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Inn at Osprey Point
The Inn at Osprey Point
#1 of 10 in Rock Hall
354 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Inn at Mitchell House
The Inn at Mitchell House
#4 of 11 in Chestertown
80 reviews
1.5 mi away
John Stam House
John Stam House
#5 of 11 in Chestertown
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 25227 Chestertown Rd, Chestertown, MD 21620-3944
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Chestertown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range: £139 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an historic and award winning bed and breakfast in Chestertown, MD. Our romantic Chestertown, Maryland hotel is situated on 20 beautiful acres with gorgeous gardens, glorious views and scrumptious breakfasts! Unforgettable rooms and suites at our Chesapeake bed and breakfast offer whirlpool tubs, body-jetted showers, wood burning fireplaces, robes, flat screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Treat someone special to the most romantic setting of any of Maryland's Eastern Shore inns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brampton Hotel Chestertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing