We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheverly
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I was confused by the varying reviews of this hotel, but decided to take a chance because of the great rate. The truth is there are good and bad things and you have to decide if it is worth the $40 you will save staying here vs. somewhere else. So here is the skinny:
1 - I can't say much about the neighborhood, we did not look around, but it is right off the interstate which is nice.
2 - the hallways are smoky, but our room was not.
3 - the elevator is slow and small. The luggage cart barely fits into the elevator with one person, so the rest of our family had to wait to ride when loading/unloading.
4 - the room and bathroom were new and clean. The TV was flat screen, plenty of channels, wifi worked great. Iron, hair dryer, coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, toiletries. Beds were comfortable.
3 - there was plenty of warm water for a shower, but it varied from slightly too hot to slightly cool the whole time you take a shower.
4 - the hotel either has heat or ac, not both, so when you go during winter (we went in March), but it is a warm day, you will have no ac. The windows cracked slightly, so at night, which was the only time we were there, we were able to cool the room off after a little while. The hotel found us a fan which also helped a lot.
5 - the shuttle service was great, van was brand new and luxurious, driver extremely nice and helpful
6 - breakfast was your regular free type breakfast, no complaints except they start cleaning up at 9:30, so don't plan on sleeping in!
Bottom line, after a long day walking DC I'd personally rather pay a little more to come back to a hotel where I can completely relax and not have to worry about any of these things.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Emily; On behalf of the Howard Johnson, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. All feedback is appreciated as it allows us the opportunity to see where we are doing well and where we may need improvements. The weather in the DC region has been down so much that the hotel had to make a decision to leave the heat on in March (it does run one or the other) and then the weather warmed up a few days. Thank you for the compliments for the new shuttle van and drivers as well as the comfort and cleanliness of the guest rooms. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

I enjoyed my stay I asked for a smoking room because i smoke cigarettes and i was given a non smoking and had to go in the cold to smoke my cigarettes the room was decent but the bathroom wasnt all the way clean and security was lurking standing by other guest rooms sort of like ease dropping and you can hear other guests thru the walls but other than that my stay was good

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Laheera B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest; Thank you for sharing your trip with us. We appreciate your feedback. We do our best to accommodate guests special requests for a specific room type but our inventory changes at a moments notices and sometimes we are not able to honor the request. We apologize for any inconvenience. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Howard Johnson in Bladensburg Md my stay was Excellent Hudson who works at the front desk was always polite and friendly when came down stairs the rooms are clean and the whole staff was great I would stay again and again in the future

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank TamekaKnowsgodi... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are delighted to see a 5 star review and appreciate the praise and compliments for our team member and hotel. We are pleased to see you had a great stay and look forward to being your choice hotel the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

So me and my Girlfriend stayed here for 5 nights. We chose a smoking room so that smell was normal i guess. The TV was like a 1980s Tube tv that flickered as if it was shorting out and it was really dark. The floor seemed like it wasnt even vacuumed, hair clips and other left over garbage by the beds. The heater broke one our last night and the maintenance man said he cant fix it he'll have the front desk call us to switch rooms. We ended up sleeping in the cold and got no calls. Breakfast was simple. The most annoying part is the other guests. I felt as if people were living in the hotel. At night loud noises as if a party was going on in the hood. The water was the worst. as we showered the temp kept going from hot to cold during all 5 days. It just seemed like a really run down hotel who even had a sign that said they are not responsible for damages to our car which is parked outside the hotel. There are many other hotels near the city which i think will be 100% better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohamed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us and express your concerns regarding your recent stay. We appreciate you bringing these items to our attention. We have made great strides in the condition of the hotel over the years and more quality improvements are on the horizon for the hotel. What you experienced is not typical of the high brand standards that we uphold every day, for every guest. Please accept our sincere apologies that your time with us was unsatisfactory and did not reflect the level of pride we have in our hotel. We know we cannot take back the experience you had, but we can learn from your feedback and concentrate on the areas that we can improve upon immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The rooms are very nice but the hallways are really pathetic. You feel like you going into a jail house.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Ahmed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guests; Thank you for taking the time to write a review and express your concerns with us. We have made great strides over the years with improvements to the guest rooms with new queen size comfort mattress to replace the doubles and upgrades to the bedding as well as new faster internet service. We are glad it showed with your accommodations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the rest of the hotel and will work with the team on a solution to this. Thank you again for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The whole place was a bit tired looking. My room was average, with a stained carpet and an “industrial” looking ceiling. It was dull, but clean, no bugs, no smells. Facilities included a fridge, microwave, hairdrier, iron and ironing board, a clock, coffee machine but no kettle. The air conditioning was good. Vending machines were down the corridor.

If you’re after a lift [elevator], this hotel has two adjoining blocks but only one has a lift, in the main reception block. The floors are not completely interlinked on the same level so if you’re in the other block you will still have to use stairs at some point.

The supplied breakfast was ok and adequate. But there were a lot of people stocking their own bags up for the day to take away. Some appeared to be stocking up for the week.

The hotel runs a shuttle bus to Cheverly Metro Station, which will take you to DC. For your return you need to phone up the hotel. A small point, but foreign tourists can get caught out with their foreign phones, or struggle to work a public phone. Or even forget to take the hotel phone number with them. The shuttle arrived within around 10 minutes.

For those with cars, the hotel has two entrances. One of them is immediately adjacent to a freeway entrance with little division between them or distinction, especially in the dark. Make sure you don’t find yourself accidentally entering the freeway. It’s a few miles before you can turn back. Guess how I know.

Staff were good and helpful. The car park was big with no parking difficulties. I would quite happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelE-England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest; Thank you for the wonderful and detailed review regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time as our guest. We appreciate yo taking the time to list the positives as well as the areas we may need to work on. The best part is knowing you had a pleasant stay and will return again, thank you. We look forward to being your first choice for accommodations the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Clean, comfortable and spacious room. Very attentive and friendly service. Good breakfast. Hotel is a little hard to spot from road. Fine Italian restaurant adjacent to hotel. Great food at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest; Thank you for your very kind words and 4 star review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and the hotel was a good fit for your travel needs. We will pass along the compliments to Fratelli's restaurant as well. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheverly
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway
3.0 mi away
Metro Points Hotel - Washington North
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Largo/Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Courtyard New Carrollton Landover
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Lanham Washington D.C
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway

Address: 5811 Annapolis Rd, Cheverly, MD 20784-1201 (Formerly Howard Johnson Washington DC North / BW Parkway)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Cheverly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheverly
Price Range: £89 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Wyndham Garden Washington DC North. The hotel is located just off the Baltimore-Washington Parkway near Interstate 95. Our Cheverly, Maryland hotel offers the comforts and conveniences of home with each room equipped with a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. A delicious hot Full American Breakfast cooked fresh is available for an affordable cost daily. Take advantage of our free Wi-Fi Internet access, on-site fitness center, meeting facilities, 24-hour front desk, shuttle service and free large-vehicle parking. Let our free shuttle service escort you to and from the Cheverly Metro Station/Orange Line as well as the Prince George's Hospital Center. The hotel also features a lobby bistro and bar, business center with copy and fax service, and meeting / banquet facilities for your next event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Washington Dc North/Bw Parkway Hotel Cheverly
Howard Johnson Cheverly
Cheverly Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing