We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$148
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
US$163
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$118
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
US$151
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (701)
Filter reviews
701 results
Traveller rating
159
197
164
100
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
197
164
100
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttletrain stationnational mallcontinental breakfastfedex fieldminute driveyogurtmicrowaveshampoo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 701 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I was confused by the varying reviews of this hotel, but decided to take a chance because of the great rate. The truth is there are good and bad things and you have to decide if it is worth the $40 you will save staying here vs. somewhere else. So here is the skinny:
1 - I can't say much about the neighborhood, we did not look around, but it is right off the interstate which is nice.
2 - the hallways are smoky, but our room was not.
3 - the elevator is slow and small. The luggage cart barely fits into the elevator with one person, so the rest of our family had to wait to ride when loading/unloading.
4 - the room and bathroom were new and clean. The TV was flat screen, plenty of channels, wifi worked great. Iron, hair dryer, coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, toiletries. Beds were comfortable.
3 - there was plenty of warm water for a shower, but it varied from slightly too hot to slightly cool the whole time you take a shower.
4 - the hotel either has heat or ac, not both, so when you go during winter (we went in March), but it is a warm day, you will have no ac. The windows cracked slightly, so at night, which was the only time we were there, we were able to cool the room off after a little while. The hotel found us a fan which also helped a lot.
5 - the shuttle service was great, van was brand new and luxurious, driver extremely nice and helpful
6 - breakfast was your regular free type breakfast, no complaints except they start cleaning up at 9:30, so don't plan on sleeping in!
Bottom line, after a long day walking DC I'd personally rather pay a little more to come back to a hotel where I can completely relax and not have to worry about any of these things.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Emily; On behalf of the Howard Johnson, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. All feedback is appreciated as it allows us the opportunity to see where we are doing well and where we may need improvements. The weather in the DC region has been down so much that the hotel had to make a decision to leave the heat on in March (it does run one or the other) and then the weather warmed up a few days. Thank you for the compliments for the new shuttle van and drivers as well as the comfort and cleanliness of the guest rooms. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I enjoyed my stay I asked for a smoking room because i smoke cigarettes and i was given a non smoking and had to go in the cold to smoke my cigarettes the room was decent but the bathroom wasnt all the way clean and security was lurking standing by other guest rooms sort of like ease dropping and you can hear other guests thru the walls but other than that my stay was good

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Laheera B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest; Thank you for sharing your trip with us. We appreciate your feedback. We do our best to accommodate guests special requests for a specific room type but our inventory changes at a moments notices and sometimes we are not able to honor the request. We apologize for any inconvenience. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Howard Johnson in Bladensburg Md my stay was Excellent Hudson who works at the front desk was always polite and friendly when came down stairs the rooms are clean and the whole staff was great I would stay again and again in the future

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank TamekaKnowsgodi... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are delighted to see a 5 star review and appreciate the praise and compliments for our team member and hotel. We are pleased to see you had a great stay and look forward to being your choice hotel the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

So me and my Girlfriend stayed here for 5 nights. We chose a smoking room so that smell was normal i guess. The TV was like a 1980s Tube tv that flickered as if it was shorting out and it was really dark. The floor seemed like it wasnt even vacuumed, hair clips and other left over garbage by the beds. The heater broke one our last night and the maintenance man said he cant fix it he'll have the front desk call us to switch rooms. We ended up sleeping in the cold and got no calls. Breakfast was simple. The most annoying part is the other guests. I felt as if people were living in the hotel. At night loud noises as if a party was going on in the hood. The water was the worst. as we showered the temp kept going from hot to cold during all 5 days. It just seemed like a really run down hotel who even had a sign that said they are not responsible for damages to our car which is parked outside the hotel. There are many other hotels near the city which i think will be 100% better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohamed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us and express your concerns regarding your recent stay. We appreciate you bringing these items to our attention. We have made great strides in the condition of the hotel over the years and more quality improvements are on the horizon for the hotel. What you experienced is not typical of the high brand standards that we uphold every day, for every guest. Please accept our sincere apologies that your time with us was unsatisfactory and did not reflect the level of pride we have in our hotel. We know we cannot take back the experience you had, but we can learn from your feedback and concentrate on the areas that we can improve upon immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews