We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not even consider this hotel!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheverly
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel 7/31/14. We were with a group and after the hotel by a leader in the group, we read the reviews. After we were assured by the manager Monika that the problems in other bad reviews had been addressed, we decided to keep our rooms. However, just like other reviews have said- the hotel room smelled of cigarette smoke and the rugs were so dirty that they were sticking to our feet!!! There was mold on the shower tiles and soap dish as well as a think layer of dust on the shower vent. The pool is empty!!! The evening front desk clerk, Hudson, who is mentioned several times for how rude he is, was very unfriendly to the point of surliness. My son and I both have asthma and when requesting another room, we were told he only had one other and gave me the key to a room to check to see if it would be better, that was in the bowels of the hotel, filled with black mold and the lights did not work! When I said that that room was worse, he said he was sorry but the hotel was filled and yet before I left the desk area a woman came in with no reservation and asked for a room and Hudson said they had several rooms available!! According to our contract we needed to stay one night and could cancel our second day if done before 11AM. My son and I went out of the hotel all day and came back just to sleep- we were so grossed out! Came down for a tasteless breakfast and cancelled our next night at 7:30 AM, well before the 11AM cut off. I was given my receipt by a lovely man and was assured there would be no more costs. However, later in the day when checking my visa bill, it came up that I was charged for an additional day. Now fighting that with them. If you think that this negative review is because of the bill problems, let me reassure you it is not. It was just the straw that broke the camel's back. Stay away from this hotel. The negative reviews written are spot on. As a matter of fact, stay away from the College Park Howard Johnson's down the street where I went initially by accident. They have a bullet proof glass in front of their front desk clerk. Doesn't make you feel real safe to stay there either!

Room Tip: Just don't go there and if you have to, stay on the second or third floor. You can see and smell...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Missy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Missy; Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding your recent stay with us. Sorry that you did not enjoy your time as our guest we let you and ourselves down by not providing the high quality and exceptional service we are known for.

We will reach out to you personally to work on the billing issue and hope you can accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you faced. We cannot take back the experience you had, thank you for sharing it with us so we can focus on the areas that need our immediate attention.

Sincerely,
Sarah
Howard Johnson Washington DC North
Cheverly, MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I visited DC on business for 4 weeks. My company booked the hotel based on our budget. My first impression upon arrival was to find another place to stay. It looks a little run down. However, the place is more than adequate. It's safe and quiet. The room is spacious and the beds are very comfortable. There is a microwave and fridge in the room. The cleaning staff is excellent. The front desk staff is pleasant and accommodating. The hotel is a 25 minute drive from DC (without traffic) and there is a shuttle from the hotel to the local Metro station. The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast which is OK..... Cereal, apples, oranges, bananas, make-your-own waffles, some scrambled eggs (which I've heard mixed reviews about), bagels and toast. Also, juices, coffee, and tea. They have a pool but it is currently under repair and has no water in it. If you plan to sightsee during the day and need only a place to sleep at night, this will do.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank WABJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Wabjr; Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to leave your review. We are pleased to see that your extended time with us was pleasant and left you with a good impression. We do get mixed reviews about breakfast, we understand that and appreciate all criticism and feedback we receive. We will continue to do our best to provide a good variety of healthy choices and the waffles are a delicious added bonus.

We closed the pool in early July and it will not be re-opening, we will keep our guest posted about what we will be utilizing the space for in the months to come.

Thank you again for your business, we hope to welcome you back for a future visit to the hotel.

Sincerely,
Sarah
Howard Johnson Washington DC North
Cheverly, MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

HoJo was a cheap way to see DC due to the distance. It would take about 40 minutes from the time we left the hotel until we were in the city. The free shuttle to the Metro was great. The hotel conditions were ok. We were really disappointed that the pool was drained when it was the last week of July.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jleahy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest - Thank you for selecting the Howard Johnson as your place to stay while visiting Washington DC. We are pleased to see you had a pleasant experience and found the location a good fit for you. We are sorry to disappoint our guests about the pool, it did close early July and will not be reopening due to a underground leak that cannot be repaired. We hope to transform the area early 2015 and will keep our guest posted about that.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Sarah
Howard Johnson Washington DC North
Cheverly, MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed again in the Howard Johnson Cheverley.

Overall, pleasant stay and I want to acknowledge that there is progress there (have been here a number of times). Every time they have attended to something new. This time it was a new microwave in the room. Outstanding is the poor gym maintenance and now the leaking swimming pool (I hope I misread that it will be permanently closed?)

The hotel is unfortunately dated and one must realise that this is a two-star hotel with low rates. In a way you get want you pay for. I have read some harsh comments below and disagree with the viciousness of that. I come here every six months and the customer service is in general good and friendly. The food is fast oriented, but with good variety for a basic breakfast, including some hot foods such as grits, scramble eggs and waffles.

I completely disagree with their pet-friendly policy as this is probably the source of the odour complaints.

In the end the Howard Johnson offers you an honest deal and low rates. But is is a two-star hotel and a bit dated in a completely isolated area. You must be fair with your expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christiaan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hi Chris; Very nice to see you again. I cannot thank you enough for your continued honest and candid review of the hotel. You have let us know over the years where we excel with service and value and where we were a bit flawed. We are pleased to see you acknowledge the efforts are being made to improve where we can. Thank you for the compliments and kind words for the staff and services.

The outdoor pool has been permanently closed due to an issue that could not be repaired. We will be updating our guests as we can in the months to come of what we will be utilizing that space for.

We listen to all our guests and we promise to keep working on the hotel, if you keep letting us know where you see improvements are needed. Thank you again Chris for being a long time guest of the hotel. See you soon!

Sarah
Howard Johnson Washington DC North
Cheverly MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Worst experience ever! The lobby was nice and clean, but once you start walking into the hotel rooms there was a funky smell. The carpets were visibly dirty and disgusting. I had no phone in my room so I had to walked into the lobby to ask for extra bed sheets and towels, and when I did, the rude guy at the front desk asked me why I was asking for extras things with a very bad attitude. I'm surprised that they even have him there attending all of their guests. I would have fired him there on the spot! The free breakfast wasn't great either there were too many fruit flies all over the place and the food wasn't that appetizing. The neighborhood was also not that great, so just remember you get what you pay for. I would never stay there again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone!!! Honestly I wouldn't even give this place one star, the only reason I did was because I had too in order to submit my review!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Gotmyangel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest; I appreciate you reaching out and expressing your dissatisfaction with your recent stay. I am sorry that we failed to provide you the attention you deserved when inquiring about extra amenities and services.

We know we cannot take back your first impressions of the hotel and please know that your comments have been shared with the General Manager. All we can do is move forward and let you know that steps will be taken to ensure the items you mentioned are remedied quickly and satisfactorily. We apologize once again for your unpleasant experience and do appreciate your time.

Sincerely,
Sarah
Howard Johnson Washington DC North
Cheverly, MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

After searching for a hotel that would meet our needs and price range, we settled on this hotel. Upon arrival, they attempted to charge us again for the room, although it was already paid for. We had requested a top floor, but were informed they were all taken. After a brief discussion, we got our keys and were off to our room.
On the way to our room, we journey down a long hallway and all of a sudden a dog, from inside a room, begins yapping. While the ruckus continued, we opened the door to find our room already occupied by another. There were clothes on the floor and the beds were unmade. We quickly returned to the front desk to find the staff puzzled by who could be in that room. They even questioned me, “Are you sure there was someone in the room?” The front desk staff, then, apologized and quickly gave me a key to a new room on an upper floor, which only a few minute earlier was unavailable. We were off again.
We entered the new room to find the air conditioner not working and a foul odor in the room. We adjusted the fan and went off to find the pool. We found a locked gate and a pool that was clearly out of order for some time. When we questioned the front desk about the pool, they said it had a leak that occurred the previous day. Please look at photo and determine that for yourself…
The last straw was when we called for a roll-away bed. Even though we checked earlier and were told there was no charge for the roll-away, when we got to the hotel, we were told it would be a $30 charge for the bed, per day. It was after this we decided this was not the place for us. This was clearly a deteriating hotel with staff members who lie and provide false information to attract customers under false pretenses.
My advice: Avoid this place and spend the extra few dollars to stay somewhere else; it will definitely benefit you in the long run!

Room Tip: avoid this place
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Mark; I appreciate you taking the time to share what took place and hope you will accept my sincere apologies for the many inconvenience you faced. We pride ourselves on delivering an exceptional guest experience and we dropped the ball on your stay and let you and ourselves down. We will take immediate steps to correct the communication breakdown that you experienced to ensure it doesn't happen again.

The pool recently was emptied and is now permanently closed, we are working as quickly as possible at alerting the websites that we can of its closer. Again, I am very sorry for your disappointing experience and wish we could have provided a better more pleasant stay.

Sincerely,
Sarah
Howard Johnson Washington DC North
Cheverly, MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a nice, clean hotel and it's easily accessible to the Baltimore-Washington Parkway which leads either to Washington, D.C. or north to the Baltimore, Maryland Area. The staff is very courteous and we had a pleasant stay for two nights.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Jackie; Thank you for the very kind review and positive feedback for us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and a good location for your travel needs.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to the DC area.

Sincerely,
Sarah
Howard Johnson Washington DC North
Cheverly, MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheverly
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway
3.0 mi away
Metro Points Hotel - Washington North
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Largo/Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Courtyard New Carrollton Landover
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Lanham Washington D.C
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway

Address: 5811 Annapolis Rd, Cheverly, MD 20784-1201 (Formerly Howard Johnson Washington DC North / BW Parkway)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Cheverly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheverly
Price Range: £90 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Wyndham Garden Washington DC North. The hotel is located just off the Baltimore-Washington Parkway near Interstate 95. Our Cheverly, Maryland hotel offers the comforts and conveniences of home with each room equipped with a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. A delicious hot Full American Breakfast cooked fresh is available for an affordable cost daily. Take advantage of our free Wi-Fi Internet access, on-site fitness center, meeting facilities, 24-hour front desk, shuttle service and free large-vehicle parking. Let our free shuttle service escort you to and from the Cheverly Metro Station/Orange Line as well as the Prince George's Hospital Center. The hotel also features a lobby bistro and bar, business center with copy and fax service, and meeting / banquet facilities for your next event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Washington Dc North/Bw Parkway Hotel Cheverly
Howard Johnson Cheverly
Cheverly Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing