We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$153
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
US$163
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$118
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
US$151
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (701)
Filter reviews
701 results
Traveller rating
159
197
164
100
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
197
164
100
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttletrain stationnational mallcontinental breakfastfedex fieldminute driveyogurtmicrowaveshampoo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 701 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

5 minutes away from stadium, property/grounds are average. Checked in without problems, booked via hotel.com 24 hours prior. Room had odor, probably carpet. Beds slept okay, free breakfast, would stay again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank 098744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest; Thank you for being our guest and for selecting the Howard Johnson Cheverly as your place to stay when going to Fed Ex Field. We are pleased to see you had a nice stay.

We did want to mention though, with game day and evening rush hour traffic, it is going to take longer to get to and from the stadium. We look forward to seeing you during the football season and anytime else you need a comfortable, clean and affordable place to stay.

Thank you again for being our guests.

Sarah
Howard Johnson Washington DC North
Cheverly, MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

If I had t stay here again I wouldn't give it a second thought. Was such a good experience. The hotel was clean. The room was clean, white sheets you can smell the cleanliness when you walk into the room. Bathroom was too. My family and I loved staying there. Very impressive breakfast was served. Fruit, sausages, eggs waffles coffee etc. The staff was polite and helpful. Shuttle service to the Cheverly station which took you into Smithsonian, Washington DC. The shuttle drivers were polite and helpful. We loved it Would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: Take the top most floor that way you wont have any kids running up and down at 1am.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Marilyn;

Thank you for the very kind review and positive feedback for us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the Howard Johnson a good fit for your needs. The best compliment we can receive is a return guest and a recommendation to others, we appreciate that and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to DC.

Sincerely,
Sarah
Howard Johnson Washington DC North
Cheverly, MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel 7/31/14. We were with a group and after the hotel by a leader in the group, we read the reviews. After we were assured by the manager Monika that the problems in other bad reviews had been addressed, we decided to keep our rooms. However, just like other reviews have said- the hotel room smelled of cigarette smoke and the rugs were so dirty that they were sticking to our feet!!! There was mold on the shower tiles and soap dish as well as a think layer of dust on the shower vent. The pool is empty!!! The evening front desk clerk, Hudson, who is mentioned several times for how rude he is, was very unfriendly to the point of surliness. My son and I both have asthma and when requesting another room, we were told he only had one other and gave me the key to a room to check to see if it would be better, that was in the bowels of the hotel, filled with black mold and the lights did not work! When I said that that room was worse, he said he was sorry but the hotel was filled and yet before I left the desk area a woman came in with no reservation and asked for a room and Hudson said they had several rooms available!! According to our contract we needed to stay one night and could cancel our second day if done before 11AM. My son and I went out of the hotel all day and came back just to sleep- we were so grossed out! Came down for a tasteless breakfast and cancelled our next night at 7:30 AM, well before the 11AM cut off. I was given my receipt by a lovely man and was assured there would be no more costs. However, later in the day when checking my visa bill, it came up that I was charged for an additional day. Now fighting that with them. If you think that this negative review is because of the bill problems, let me reassure you it is not. It was just the straw that broke the camel's back. Stay away from this hotel. The negative reviews written are spot on. As a matter of fact, stay away from the College Park Howard Johnson's down the street where I went initially by accident. They have a bullet proof glass in front of their front desk clerk. Doesn't make you feel real safe to stay there either!

Room Tip: Just don't go there and if you have to, stay on the second or third floor. You can see and smell the mold on the first floor which is more like the basement floor. And if you were looking for a hotel with a pool for the kids, the pool is empty. They have occasional shuttles to the Hilton. Just stay there! Or better yet, stay at the Best Western Plus down the street which is beautiful and cheaper!!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Missy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Missy; Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding your recent stay with us. Sorry that you did not enjoy your time as our guest we let you and ourselves down by not providing the high quality and exceptional service we are known for.

We will reach out to you personally to work on the billing issue and hope you can accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you faced. We cannot take back the experience you had, thank you for sharing it with us so we can focus on the areas that need our immediate attention.

Sincerely,
Sarah
Howard Johnson Washington DC North
Cheverly, MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I visited DC on business for 4 weeks. My company booked the hotel based on our budget. My first impression upon arrival was to find another place to stay. It looks a little run down. However, the place is more than adequate. It's safe and quiet. The room is spacious and the beds are very comfortable. There is a microwave and fridge in the room. The cleaning staff is excellent. The front desk staff is pleasant and accommodating. The hotel is a 25 minute drive from DC (without traffic) and there is a shuttle from the hotel to the local Metro station. The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast which is OK..... Cereal, apples, oranges, bananas, make-your-own waffles, some scrambled eggs (which I've heard mixed reviews about), bagels and toast. Also, juices, coffee, and tea. They have a pool but it is currently under repair and has no water in it. If you plan to sightsee during the day and need only a place to sleep at night, this will do.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank WABJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Wabjr; Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to leave your review. We are pleased to see that your extended time with us was pleasant and left you with a good impression. We do get mixed reviews about breakfast, we understand that and appreciate all criticism and feedback we receive. We will continue to do our best to provide a good variety of healthy choices and the waffles are a delicious added bonus.

We closed the pool in early July and it will not be re-opening, we will keep our guest posted about what we will be utilizing the space for in the months to come.

Thank you again for your business, we hope to welcome you back for a future visit to the hotel.

Sincerely,
Sarah
Howard Johnson Washington DC North
Cheverly, MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

HoJo was a cheap way to see DC due to the distance. It would take about 40 minutes from the time we left the hotel until we were in the city. The free shuttle to the Metro was great. The hotel conditions were ok. We were really disappointed that the pool was drained when it was the last week of July.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jleahy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest - Thank you for selecting the Howard Johnson as your place to stay while visiting Washington DC. We are pleased to see you had a pleasant experience and found the location a good fit for you. We are sorry to disappoint our guests about the pool, it did close early July and will not be reopening due to a underground leak that cannot be repaired. We hope to transform the area early 2015 and will keep our guest posted about that.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Sarah
Howard Johnson Washington DC North
Cheverly, MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews