We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ritzy shops - Over Priced area - Below Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ritzy shops - Over Priced area - Below Average Hotel”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Pros:
1. Ritzy shops if you like to overpay for clothing, food and accessories
2. Convenient parking ($15 per nite)
3. Bellman is very helpful. We called him Mr. Deeds
4. Fast free wi-fi

Cons:
1. Booked room using points. I was told upon arrival, I could not use points to book a suite.
2. No hotel shuttle. So, disabled and elderly persons are forced to pay for taxi, if they can't make it 3 blocks to the Metro.
3. Shower has no water pressure! I'm sure they sell this as a water saving feature. But if it takes you 10 minutes to rinse off, I'm not sure you are actually conserving water.
4. Very small rooms
5. Very Expensive - Very basic-basic stay and one of the most expensive Courtyard Marriott hotels in the D.C. area

Room Tip: We paid $209 per nite, after my points ran out. For that price, you can stay at Courtyard Marriott h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twillis600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    155
    63
    9
    14
See reviews for
137
59
29
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Wife and I went down to Chevy Chase to assist my daughter with a move. I have stayed at Courtyards before and this one did not disappoint. Although the room size was smaller than I was used to at the other Courtyards I've stayed in it was clean and well laid out and when our daughter surprised us by staying with us the first night the fold out sofa was very handy. Check in was a bit confusing as the layout of the lobby is not clear. We arrived after 8 PM and after picking up our daughter just went down stairs to Trattoria 5520 get something to eat. I'll have a separate review of that experience. Overall a good value close to DC.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobaloo000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I managed to get a great deal online and for the price I paid I was more than happy with what I received. The location is great with the shops right outside the entrance and beds were really comfortable.
Rooms were nothing special however, they were comfortable, had air con and a shower.
Having a pool was a God send on the humid summer's day, but it's a shame the 'life guard' ruined what should have been a relaxing afternoon. All the other staff at this hotel were to lovely, but the life guard seemed determined to be as off and unprofessional as possible. I ended up leaving the pool area as a direct result of him.
I was only there for a few nights, and it was the first time I've travelled solo and I felt really safe here. The valet and bar men were lovely and couldn't do enough for you. If I ever have to go back to Bethesda, I will book here for the location over the other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkle043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The air was controlled by the hotel. They said they had a new system to save energy. It's really just to bring more bucks to them no matter what the customer has to endure. The AC is a motion sensor machine, which means it's too cold when you're awake and outside the covers, and then too hot when you're under the covers. The TV volume made dramatic and annoying changes on its own. The hotel has offered no compensation and they claim to have the right to charge upwards of $500.00 per night. Had I fallen on the extremely slick tub floor I would have filed suit. There are better and newer places in Alexandria, Arlington, DC, other more areas in and around DC.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dalvord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asf1
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

As some previous writers have stated, the wifi is "obnoxious" - it does not work....the air conditioner shuts off when it hits the temperature youve selected (minimum 65 degrees) .. then turns back on. When this happens all night long (On/off/on/off.. as you're trying to sleep... well, you get a poor night's rest. The pillows are small... and the water pressure is poor. Oh yeah, Ive read the comments it's a GREEN hotel. many people say the room is small... I'd call it standard.

Not all bad.. the staff was very helpful and friendly. Location was great. many great restaurants and shopping within a few blocks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

It's an old real estate rule, but location is really key when you are picking a hotel in/near DC.
Lived in the area for over 30 years, and the traffic is the worst it's ever been, it's make LA look like a breeze. This property was redone about 3 years ago, its walking distance to great restaurants, shops, and most importantly metro. This hotel works well for govt types m-f, so they can travel to various agencies in the city for meetings but still come back to a smaller urban oasis with pool and good eats nearby. Weekends, tourist and family event types take over and things quiet down. Rooms are very small, a family of four and four smallish travel bags filled the room, so be warned, but again your paying for location and access to NW Washington or suburban Maryland. Staff was generally really helpful and nice, but the same plate and tray in the hall after three days is not impressive. The pool hours are odd opens at 10:00 am closes at 8:00 pm because life guard has to be present due to local laws, not really something a weary road warrior travelers wishes to hear after a long day of meetings or hours on hellish highways.
Price was reasonable as were staying on Marriott E certs, parking reasonable for DC at 15.00 per night, so all in all, it's one of the few things in DC that still works and you do get pretty good value for your money.

Room Tip: Did I mention that rooms are small, if traveling with more then 2 or three folks probably need an ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Small rooms (really small sized closet and restroom), non-working obnoxious wifi, faulty and noisy A/C, etc,, etc., but hey, it's a Courtyard, so all of that could be "understood", but then the over the top new Yorkish adr does not fit the picture. Service is good though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MexTraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chevy Chase
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Bethesda Court Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
421 reviews
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase
Address: 5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Chevy Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a perfect location close to our Nation's Capital when you stay at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase. We're a preferred choice among hotels in Chevy Chase, Maryland for business and leisure travel, offering proximity to Washington D.C. and its top destinations like American University, government offices and tourist attractions. We've received coveted LEED Gold Certification, making us an ideal hotel for those looking for green accommodations. Enjoy spacious hotel rooms and everything you need for a wonderful stay here, including free Wi-Fi, a seasonal outdoor pool, an on-site restaurant and ample meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chevy Chase Hotel Chevy Chase
Holiday Inn Chevy Chase
Chevy Chase Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing