We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
143
173
66
10
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
173
66
10
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriendship heightshigh end shoppingmetro stationwisconsin avenueamerican universitywhole foodsjimmy choounderground garagelocation is greatdc areawithin walking distanceoutdoor poolwalk in showersmall fridgetwo blocksshopping and restaurantshotel is located
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 407 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We love this hotel- and have stayed there several times over the past several years, most recently this past weekend. The rooms and lobby have been redone, which is great. Other reviewers have noted the lack of closet space and the odd layout of rooms- and I agree with them- but for the price, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, the metro, it can't be beat! We used to live in D.C. and so we prefer the neighborhood feeling of the place. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParisTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear ParisTourist, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very happy you enjoy the neighborhood feeling of our hotel and continue to return when you visit the area. It is great to hear you enjoy our location to shopping, restaurants and metro as well. Thank you for letting us know that while you too find the closet space and layout odd that you find our hotel a great value. We look forward to when you next return! Sincerely, A.Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

We had a full schedule in DC in rainy weather. The room was well appointed and comfortable. The garage had an elevator to the lobby. We grabbed a quick bite in the lobby. The flatbreads were Great! Service was marvelous. We used Uber. Metro was nearby but Uber was more convenient. Plan to return. The larger hotels we have visited in DC were like checking in at an airport

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Susan K, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel - we appreciate the great rating! It is wonderful to know you enjoyed our hotel decor and found the parking convenient to the hotel lobby. It is nice to see you had a chance to sample our flat breads in the restaurant and enjoyed the service there. Uber is a great way to get around in the rain but your are right, our location just two blocks from the metro is really convenient on a nice day. We hope you come for another visit soon! Sincerely, A. Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

My daughters recomended this hotel, because shopping nearby and closeness to DC,the rooms are spacious, but very little closet space. Renovated baths without tubs are great.Restaurant is very limited in hours and menu, and it was very limited in that sense, one could purchase frozen and heat in micro,not for me.
Parking was additional,prices for the rooms changed and was charged a different rate every day , worse than flights,pretty soon thy will charge for the bags.
Personel were very pleasant and eager to serve !
Oh, outdoor pool , closed for the season.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Susana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Susana V, thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy your daughters recommended us and hope that the next time you stay it will be an exceptional one. We are sorry to hear that you found our closet space to be limited. The closets are uniquely configured to hang clothes front to back instead of side to side. Due to age of the building (30+ years) we did our best with the redesign in 2009 to allow for more space inside the guestroom. It is a shame that the space did not meet your needs during your stay. We are also sorry that you felt our restaurant hours and menu to be limited. While it seems that you did have the opportunity to check out the fresh and frozen food items in our 24 lobby market, our full service restaurant Trattoria 5520 is just across the lobby and offers a full menu from appetizers and entrees, to sides and desserts. It is open Monday through Friday for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and Saturday and Sunday for breakfast and dinner only. We also offer evening room service every night of the week. We hope you do have the chance to stay with us again and try out our restaurant during one of these meals as well as get a chance to experience our outdoor pool which is open Memorial Day Weekend through Labor Day. We appreciate your comment regarding our guestroom rates. These can change daily. Most hotels in this market have been pricing this way and although we held out as long as we could, we too eventually had to make the change to daily pricing of guestrooms. The good news is you will see some great deals on certain nights because of this new way of pricing. Glad to hear you enjoyed your interaction with our staff and found them helpful. We do hope you will return again the next time you visit the area. Sincerely, A. Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

This hotel is fine if your travels take you to the north end of DC; I stay here from time to time when I visit my daughter who's a student at AU. It's not a great location if you don't have a car as it's not near a metro stop. The room is fine for one or two people, but would be cramped for a family. The strangest thing about this hotel is the closet space - it's tiny! The closet is maybe a foot deep; it's so shallow that you have to hang your clothes so that they're parallel to the closet door (which is about a foot away from the bed so it's difficult to get to as well). Also note that only some of the rooms have bathtubs so if that's important to you, make sure to check the room description. For people who are sensitive to perfumes, they have something incense-like going on in the main lobby. It wasn't overwhelming to me, but I generally don't like fake/chemical odors and perfumes added to my environment.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel are probably quieter
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travelinpdxgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear travelinpdxgirl, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so sorry that the size of the room and configuration of the closet did not meet your needs. Our hotel is a renovated property from a hotel that was built in in 1979, hence the different configuration of the room and closet space. Although it is to code, we do receive comments about the closet rods which allow you to hang up to 6 suits from back to front rather than side to side. Also, it is our double queen rooms that have bathtubs; our rooms with king beds have showers. Thank you for letting us know about the scent machine in our lobby. We do find that some people enjoy the "Courtyard Scent" and others are very sensitive to it. We will turn it off immediately if you let us know at the front desk. I do apologize our staff did not advise you that we are just a short 2.5 blocks to the Red Line Metro Station (Friendship Heights) that will take you to the AU Station (Tenleytown). That is an oversight on our part as our location to metro is one of the most appreciated features of the hotel. We hope you will come back for another visit soon so we can make your next stay exceptional.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We stay here on our visits to DC because it is near a subway stop, has easy parking, the rooms are comfortable and the hotel not too big. The area has ample shopping and restaurants and is very safe.

The Chevy Chase are is convenient for most of NW Washington.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Leonard S, Thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent stay! We appreciate the review and the great comments about our location convenient to Metro, shops and restaurants. It is always great to hear that our valued guests enjoy our guestrooms and amenities like our convenient parking. Come back for another visit soon! A. Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews