We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful service, disappointing food and unfriendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cherry Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Row
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We had heard such great things about the Cherry Tree and, indeed, are very fond of its' sister pub, The Unicorn. We were hugely disappointed. The setting is stunning and the pub garden and interior are delightful with wisteria climbing the front of the building. We too went on Bank Holiday Monday and waited over an hour and a half for our lunch. I agree with the below comment.. it was not that busy at all. Indeed, it was not at full capacity and there were many tables empty. When our food eventually did arrive there was only one other table eating and so I cannot understand why it took so long. When it did arrive, we sent the food back. It was hugely disappointing generally but more so given: the price, reputation of the pub, and the wait. I had a Cesar salad which I had ordered with dressing on the side. Needless to say it came dressed and was a couple of leaves of iceberg lettuce and a couple of anchovies. That was what we had waited so long for.

One member of staff was delightful and very helpful. The others were rude and unfriendly. I asked if our dogs might have a water bowl.. it was a very hot day and this is a "dog friendly" pub. When it hadn't arrived, after 20minutes,I chased it up, only to be told that they had more important things to deal with than water for my dogs. Safe to say the water bowl never arrived.

My husband had been away for the Sat and Sun of the bank holiday and so we had planned a lovely day, walking the dogs in Stoke Rowe, followed by lunch at The Cherry Tree. We left hungry and extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cconn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

This pretty pub restaurant with wisteria clambering over the door is a super setting for an evening drink in the garden followed by delicious supper. Service was very prompt and the food good. We finished the meal with a shared cheeseboard which was the only mistake as the portions were miniscule - but delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank LEA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My partner booked us an over night stay as a surprise Birthday present for me. I couldn't have chosen a more perfect place to stay. I am rather particular or fussy if you like when it comes to a high standard of service, food and accommodation. I could not fault either of these. The warm welcome we received when we arrived, the excellent standard of service, food that was out of this world and a spotlessly clean room/bathroom which were beautifully designed, what more can I say? We were looked after by Vicky, who I believe is the manageress and Hilary. I took note of their names and many other things as we shall be telling all our friends and family about the wonderful time we had. We will definitely be coming back. Thank you all at The Cherry Tree.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Arrived on bike and relaxed out front enjoying the lovely scene of a "chocolate box" pub with vibrant wisteria growing around its timeless facade. This is somewhere I must return and try the food. I would think it is the perfect place to dine alfresco on a beautiful sunny day. I was made very welcome at the bar and I notice that the barn adjacent to the pub had been converted into very comfortable accommodation. The menu looked very inviting and the beer was well kept. Can't wait to return when I will be able to give a more in depth report.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TedFisher27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We booked a table for a family meal on Bank Holiday Monday. We arrived in good time for our reservation and although quite busy, a number of tables were empty, so not at maximum capacity. We waited for one hour twenty minutes for our food to arrive and during this time no one came to let us know why there was a delay or to take drink orders. We had to chase up ourselves. As for the food, it was dreadful. My salad, costing £11.90 I believe, consisted of undressed salad leaves that were wilted, 3 croutons a couple of chunks of cheese and a small scattering of pine nuts. It was completely inedible. The burgers were undercooked and presented with undercooked chips, a cheese substitute smeared on the top that looked like scrambled eggs and a slice of tomato and a piece of lettuce. The fish and chips were adequate.
We won't be returning.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank HighmoorQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Visited early evening after some local mountain biking, lovely pub and very friendly service. Beer was excellent and the food was great. Mains are fairly priced, but starters a little overpriced - which seems to be the fashion nowadays. Overall though very good and we'll definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

arrived to a very freindly welcome , and was shown our room which was to the side of the inn in a seperate building was lovely , everything was good apart from the kettle that was not cordless and the flex to the kettle wasnt very l;ong so had to fill kettle and place on floor aldo didnt seem to boil had three four goes to get water hot this was the only very minor fault apary from that it was great breakfast was also very good and would stay there again without a doubt .

Room Tip: we stayed in the room called cherry massive bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennypenny45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Row
4.9 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
661 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
805 reviews
2.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
159 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
563 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherry Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherry Tree Inn

Address: Main Street, Stoke Row, Henley-on-Thames RG9 5QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames > Stoke Row
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Row
Price Range: £81 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cherry Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful pub/inn/restaurant in Stoke Row, in the heart of the South Oxfordshire countryside in the Chiltern Hills. Elegant, chic design gives a warm, inviting feeling and the overall ethos of The Cherry Tree is one of comfort, enjoyment and relaxation. Food is key here with bi monthly menu changes of seasonal produce. Well kept beers, fantastic wines and great champagnes make this a place for a weekend away with a loved one, catch up with friends or equally happy catering for corporate groups. Likewise, it is a wonderful local pub in a beautiful Oxfordshire village. Four en-suite letting rooms in the barn are fresh, crisp, elegant and clean and most comfortable. Overall, a wonderful experience and not to be missed if in this part of the country. There is a definite air of class about this place and the London set flock to it in droves for a great country fix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cherry Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cherry Tree Hotel Henley-On-Thames
Cherry Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing