We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cherry Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Row
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We came across this hotel purely by luck and now can't wait to return, from being greeted with a smile, to being personally shown to our beautiful room, nothing was ever to much trouble for anyone, the food we ate in the bar was perfect, the menu choice excellent and we could name our time for breakfast as we were the only two people staying - we will be back very very soon

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    80
    27
    28
    14
See reviews for
43
124
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Very pleasent stay for one night great room nice en-suite/shower and really good food and friendly service. The pub is dog friendly. We have a small terrier called zak who also liked the room and the sausage I smugled back after breakfast for him.
Would definetly stay again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pangbourne,Berks,UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We live fairly locally but this was our first visit to the Cherry Tree Inn. The pub looked nice on arrival and the Barmaid was welcoming. We had drinks in the bar first and then went through into the back restaurant, The first table we chose was actually quite cold - next to a window that wouldn't shut properly and a large radiator that was turned off. We asked to change tables and the waitress was fine with that. I ordered "Red Snapper" and my husband ordered a steak and we chose bread and oils and some olives as a joint starter. The bread and oils were lovely, but the mains were not good. My husband's steak was tasteless and dry and for £19.25 was appallingly bad value. It just comes with chips and a boat of hollandaise. The quality of meat was very poor.
My "snapper" was a thick cutlet which did not appear to be fully cooked, tasted strange and was inedible. It came with new potatoes which were virtually cold and some peas and carrots. To be fair they took it away quickly when we complained and did not charge for it. I then had moules which were lovely, but by this time I had really been put off eating and my husband had virtually finished his meal (he left some steak as it was so tasteless).
We had been really looking forward to a nice meal out, but clearly there was a kitchen/quality control problem last night and we won't be going back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raingoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

A Christmas present from our daughter and son-in-law for us and two of our friends to have afternoon tea on Friday 27th December
We arrived at 3.00pm, the table was all set up ready, and we enjoyed our sandwiches and cream cakes with the cup of tea, Even the sun was shining for our afternoon trip
Very friendly and helpful staff.....a very pleasant afternoon.....thankyou very much

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

This is a return trip for us this time with friends. Quaint pub (watch your head on the low beams) that has a good number of tables for meals. Regular specials which reflect the country background. Rooms are cosy and very warm with quality touches. As it's a short drive from London with Hendon and Oxford in East reach it's a great short break base and a short stagger to the room in the evening.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fidge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night on a visit to Henley-on-Thames. We were warmly welcomed and the room was clean and comfortable. The evening meal was more top restaurant quality rather than pub grub, as was the breakfast. There is no doubt we will stay and dine here again - Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night recently on a business trip. The room was pleasant although very cold when I arrived....remedied by turning the heating on and shutting the window! Breakfast was beautifully cooked and delicious. I would stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebe105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Row
5.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
763 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
602 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
528 reviews
4.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
148 reviews
2.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherry Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherry Tree Inn

Property: The Cherry Tree Inn
Address: Main Street, Stoke Row, Henley-on-Thames RG9 5QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames > Stoke Row
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Row
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cherry Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful pub/inn/restaurant in Stoke Row, in the heart of the South Oxfordshire countryside in the Chiltern Hills. Elegant, chic design gives a warm, inviting feeling and the overall ethos of The Cherry Tree is one of comfort, enjoyment and relaxation. Food is key here with bi monthly menu changes of seasonal produce. Well kept beers, fantastic wines and great champagnes make this a place for a weekend away with a loved one, catch up with friends or equally happy catering for corporate groups. Likewise, it is a wonderful local pub in a beautiful Oxfordshire village. Four en-suite letting rooms in the barn are fresh, crisp, elegant and clean and most comfortable. Overall, a wonderful experience and not to be missed if in this part of the country. There is a definite air of class about this place and the London set flock to it in droves for a great country fix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cherry Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cherry Tree Hotel Henley-On-Thames
Cherry Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing