We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit and miss (restaurant only)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cherry Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cherry Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Row
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hit and miss (restaurant only)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

It's a shame about the Cherry Tree. It could and should be a great restaurant. It has a good location, it is well decorated, the bar is popular and the staff are welcoming and friendly. However the meal we had there was disappointing, overpriced and the quality of service was variable.

For just about £20 you'd expect something special from a steak. I suppose they think the location warrants paying over the odds, or something, but they are wrong. It would be fine - for £11.50, but NOT for £19.50, it was tasty but too small, the chips in a little bucket were fine but the napkin that surrounded them was bunched up in the bottom of the bucket so they didn't have to put so many chips in. Other food was ok, nothing very special. So why charge special prices?

They forgot to cook one of the main courses, so we had a wait until that arrived. To their credit they didn't charge for this.

The lemon meringue pie dessert was a (not very funny) joke; a very small slice of what appeared to be just pastry with no detectable lemon. If there was any there you would need a micrometer to find it. It was served with nice marscapone and meringue but again the dish was completely let down by the missing lemon. And its size.

Add to this the forgotten drinks orders and the presentation of the wrong bill at the end of the meal and it makes for a disappointing evening and is somewhere we won't go back to. Which is a shame as, to repeat myself, it could be really nice.

No idea about the accommodation, I expect that is fine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkshire_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    77
    27
    28
    13
See reviews for
40
123
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We went for a meal with friends.
I am afraid the experience was a disappointment for all of us.
If you charge top prices for food you need to deliver something special, this is not fine dining or a restaurant so the feeling was average food that was nothing special.
The service lacked enthusiasm, you should not have to go to the bar to order more drinks....therefore we felt the service was not as attentive as it should have been.
The service charge being automatically added to the bill was presumptuous, we would rather have made our own decision.
This establishment has a lot going for it but lacks in many ways, better value can be had else where locally.
If you want top money you have to deliver top food and service.
The consensus was we will not be going back to eat, such a shame.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbr1100bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoy going to The Cherry Tree where Vicky and her team always offer excellent service. It's great to have a dog-friendly pub - they are welcomed in the bar on leads - and where there is a good atmosphere whether you choose to have a 3 course meal, a snack or just a pint.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jillypolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

(This review is based on the restaurant only) Stopped off here after a nice drive but ended up being rather disappointed in the overall experience. The owners seemed to think the place was their living room turning the music up to a level on par with a club at times and let the dog run around. The food was well presented but the quality didn't match the price, it was comparable to your local weatherspoons but double the price, sadly wont be going again anytime soon.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feighery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Great place for a relaxing evening. We arrived and were greeted with a smile and shown to the lovely Plum room. We ate in the restaurant and had a very tasty 3 course meal. In the morning the breakfast was also very high quality and served at anytime you requested.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

It's early days (as it hasn't happened yet), but initial impression is very good having spoken a couple of times to Liz at the Cherry Tree. The room is booked, PLUM, I believe, and a table for two is reserved for Friday evening coming - 7th Feb.
So far so good - more to follow :-)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank steveinterestingdavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was in a cute little annex with it's own front door and it was lovely and comfortable. The village is cute and the inn is in a very quiet area so you get a great nights sleep. The owner was very friendly and the pub is very warm and welcoming with some delicious food in the evening. Breakfast was fantastic- really enjoyable and a very relaxed atmosphere so you felt in no rush. The inn makes for a really lovely romantic weekend away and it is great being so close to London if you want to pop in for the day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Row
4.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
2.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
4.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherry Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherry Tree Inn

Property: The Cherry Tree Inn
Address: Main Street, Stoke Row, Henley-on-Thames RG9 5QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames > Stoke Row
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Row
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cherry Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful pub/inn/restaurant in Stoke Row, in the heart of the South Oxfordshire countryside in the Chiltern Hills. Elegant, chic design gives a warm, inviting feeling and the overall ethos of The Cherry Tree is one of comfort, enjoyment and relaxation. Food is key here with bi monthly menu changes of seasonal produce. Well kept beers, fantastic wines and great champagnes make this a place for a weekend away with a loved one, catch up with friends or equally happy catering for corporate groups. Likewise, it is a wonderful local pub in a beautiful Oxfordshire village. Four en-suite letting rooms in the barn are fresh, crisp, elegant and clean and most comfortable. Overall, a wonderful experience and not to be missed if in this part of the country. There is a definite air of class about this place and the London set flock to it in droves for a great country fix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Cherry Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cherry Tree Hotel Henley-On-Thames
Cherry Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing