We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cherry Tree Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Catherine Wheel(Henley-on-Thames)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Phyllis Court Club(Henley-on-Thames)
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Vin(Henley-on-Thames)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Red Lion Hotel(Henley-on-Thames)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The George Hotel(Pangbourne)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Henley Business School(Henley-on-Thames)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Fyne Henley(Henley-on-Thames)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse(Moulsford-on-Thames)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
136
94
30
28
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
94
30
28
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubcherry treerisottolog fireon arrivalsunday lunchfamily weddingshort drivestayed for one nighthenley on thamesshort stayfollowing morningsandwichespoached eggsfull englishtroutcheryl
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed here whilst attending the 80s Rewind Festival and the staff had kindly arranged a taxi drop off and collect to the festival. They also kindly provided our key to allow us to get back at what unearthly hour we chose! That ended up being not as unearthly as we first thought (must be our age!) and let ourselves in to our room about 11pm.
The room looked lovely but by morning we realised that it actually could do with a good clean. The room was dusty and cobwebbed. It's in the countryside so perhaps you can expect this but the bathroom was clearly receiving minimal cleaning. The tiled floor needed a thorough clean. The edges and skirting s were a different colour to the rest of the floor.
The towel rail we hung our towels on was covered thick with dust on each 'rung'.
The tiles on the wall within the shower area were brown instead of white. Not nice.
If you are a light sleep then perhaps like me you were woken every time someone used their sinks in their respect on suites. Lying in bed I had to listen the the drains work the water down the system - my sink acting like an amplifier! I first thought my wife or I had left the tap on?!
Shutting the bathroom door sadly didn't remedy the problem.
Breakfast was held in the main pub area. Lovely setting and the staff member serving us very nice. My wife is gluten intolerant but sadly they did not cater for this - the staff member did not have any knowledge of the menu in this respect except to offer a GFree cereal (which I was told tasted like cardboard!) No tomato sauce. No English mustard. No baked beans. No alternatives for my wife's breakfast. The tea was served in a teapot without a lid and the entire breakfast time left us with the impression we were nothing more than unexpected guests.
Unlike a lot of good english moaners we did speak with the staff member upon checking out and invited her manager to inspect our room. Apparently the manager was unavailable. We were offered discount but it was such a shame that our stay was tainted. These criticisms could be easily rectified. The pub looks wonderful and the setting is chocolate box. Shame.

Room Tip: Don't chose the Cherry room. It may pay to have the room at the opposite end of the row as clearly the drains run towards the Cherry room?
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights while I was doing the Tough Mudder on Saturday morning. The place was great, the pub area very welcoming (beer and fish & chips all as you'd desire), the room cosy and well-appointed. We needed to be at the race start for early Saturday morning, so they gave us a breakfast tray in the evening already made up - juices, cereal, croissants etc, and there was a kettle and so forth in the room.

Less than a ten minute drive to the race start, and we were back in the afternoon for a nap once we were done. The breakfast tray hadn't been taken away, although the beds had been made up, so no drama there. The other big selling point of this place is its proximity to the Crooked Billet - a less than 10 minute walk to get to a sensational restaurant where you can enjoy their wine before rolling back to bed.

If I find myself doing the Henley Tough Mudder, or more likely, visiting the Crooked Billet again, I'll definitely be staying at the Cherry Tree!

Oh, from memory, the wifi didn't work very well/at all in the rooms, so you had to go into the pub to use it. It was free.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cairoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We enjoyed our lunch on a sunny day outside in the garden. We arrived a bit late for lunch but they were still welcoming and ready to serve us. We had their special sandwiches with French fries which were good but rather expensive. The only thing we didn't like was the Brakspears beer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zenMaster62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Soft pillows, super bed, delightfully clean,well thought out and neat little room in a kind of barn separate from the main pub. We were in "Walnut" our friends were in "Plum" Great breakfast
Shower was powerful and hot but the head wouldn't balance on the rail thingy, but that was just in our "Walnut" room, so we let them know (people dont you know, they just complain on Tripadvisor later!)
Rather warm room as others have noted, we also couldnt work out why so we had the fan on all night so that was ok
Phone signal poor but that was not their fault and a walk out into the road = problem remedied
A lovely pub in a delightful location and we will happily return

Room Tip: Walnut is the furthest away from the car park but near the kitchen so we were a bit worried but we heard nothing through the thick walls
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 666Bunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Having read the reviews we were expecting better. The room was quite nice but rather small. The bathroom was good, although the hot water was dangerously hot. Preferable to lukewarm but difficult to balance the shower, and impossible to wash hands under the hot tap.

It was a warm day, but not particularly hot, but the rooms were really warm. We had to open the front door to let the heat out a couple of times in the night as we could not sleep. It registered over 25C on the wall thermostat. The window was permanently wide open so we could not see why it was so hot, but wondered if it was coming from the hot water pipes. The people in the room next to us were boiled as well.

Breakfast was very good indeed, all fresh and nicely cooked, and the staff were friendly. We did not manage to eat in the main bar as we gave up trying to order after nearly 15 minutes at the bar. Two other people gave up before us. Perhaps we just arrived at a bad time.

The surrounding countryside is beautiful, and the place was otherwise friendly, but rather overpriced. It was nice and quiet, which pub accommodation is not always, and we liked having direct access to the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crunchie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews