We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost lived up to Alistair Sawday's recommendation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cherry Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Row
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We booked this hotel from the write up in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay. We stayed for two nights for Henley Royal Regatta and it was perfect for that purpose being only 5 or 6 miles from Henley town.
It really is a pub with rooms, the rooms are in a converted building adjacent to the pub and are very modern and stylish in design. My only complaint is that straight away I noticed that they were not cleaned to a high standard and although such a minor thing overall left a grubby impression!! They certainly weren't dirty but the skirting boards and bedside lights had a layer of dust on them. The bathroom was small and functional.
The food in the pub was very good, we ate there both evenings and there is a friendly atmosphere with plently of local people enjoying the pub and the food.
I would certainly consider booking a room here again for regatta weekend, it is good value and was lovely to come back to the peaceful location after the crowds and heat of regatta.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DicknDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2009

I came across the cherry tree's web site while looking for some where nice to escape for the weekend and to be honest I wish I'd stayed at home.
I noticed on the web site that all the reviews are old and I can only assume that no one from Sawday's had been near this place for a long time, as it failed to deliver on every level.
No hot water for the duration of the stay, even though the staff kept telling us that it was fixed. Our room wasn't cleaned on the 2nd day and no one turned up to cook breakfast.
The general level of cleanliness was poor through-out and the rooms needed some real TLC, carpets stained, marks on the paint work and light not working.
The food on the first night was okay, though the service was all over the place but lunch on the Saturday was poor. My food was stone cold and my wife's was over cooked and dry, when we tried to explain this to the manager/person in charge they just shrugged their shoulders and walked off.
My only suggestion would be - stay in Henley and eat at the Crooked ?, a small pub around the corner that was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KKK1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

We stayed once before on a 60th birthday celebration, The room was cold on arrival though we had made a reservation. Well designed and appointed . We had to leave early the following day to go to a funeral so the breakfast was necessarily rushed. Which was a shame as it was excellent. The meal the previous evening was also excellent though the service was ordinary given the fact that we selected this venue from Sawday's Guide. Locals appeared to be given a warmer welcome than the staying guests. And were served first even though later arrivals :(

Recently,in the area, we decided to return for a Sunday afternoon drink only. Despite the fact that the sign says 'Bar open all day' we were told that the place was closed - even though the doors were open. When we said that we just wanted a drink we got a shrug in response. So we left and went to a nearby village pub where the welcome was responsive.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freefromenvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Our welcome on arrival was indifferent to the point of being rude. Our attempts to have a hot bath before dinner were thwarted by the inadequate amount of hot water available. In the evening on arrival the radiators weren't working so room slightly cold, but bizarrely came on full blast in the middle of the night thus disturbing our sleep! The room hadn't been cleaned thoroughly and some of the fittings were falling apart - all a bit tired. Claim on web-site that rooms have flat-screen TV is misleading! Walls are thin, allowing noise from adjacent rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2008

I had read two good reviews in guides so was expecting great things but was very disappointed. We arrived to find the neon lit pub surrounded by 1950s suburban housing. The heating was not on in the room so it was freezing (and small). The staff were unwelcoming.

The bathrooms had been poorly fitted, the taps moved when turned on and off and by Sunday one had fallen to bits, the shower never seemed to give hot water but the taps - which didnt have mixers gave scalding hot water.

Dinner was fine, but the service was slow and inexperienced, we ordered wine, the waiter poured some for my partner to taste and then just walked off without filling the glasses.

The worst was Sunday morning - they only have four rooms but we waited over three quarters of an hour for any food to arrive - we were told there was no toast as they had run out and the other table was told there was no marmalade. When it came it was a good breakfast but the delay had completely spoiled it.. The other couples all agreed they would not be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berkeley08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2008

What a mix of reviews! I stayed in Feb 08 and it was fantastic. We had one of the rooms set adside from the main pub (to the left hand side) and it was immaculate, Molton Brown bath products and bottled water and apples in the bedroom! The food in the restaurant was superb, I would even consider driving 2 hours from home just to go again! The staff were friendly and helpful, we were the last ones in the bar in the evening for about an hour and they didn't rush us to leave and were even helpful and friendly when we arrived for breakfast at 11am the following morning. A definite "must-stay"!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSCSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2008

My husband and I spent one disappointing night at the Cherry Tree Inn, and were only grateful that our stay wasn't any longer. Our sparsely furnished room in the barn conversion was small, dark, dingy, and didn't seem to have been cleaned in weeks. (The previous occupants' euro coins still littered the room). The room was cold, gloomy and dimly lit, and the cream carpet stained with varying shades of brown. The bed was comprised of a hard, uncomfortable mattress, a thin, mean little duvet (fine if you don't mind being cold at night, as there were no blankets), and more stains, this time on the sheets. The bathroom was (pointlessly) almost as big as our room, and featured broken taps, a noisy cistern, and not a single drop of hot water.

Closing the door on our miserable little room, we headed to the restaurant for dinner. Whilst the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was distinctly average. The crab risotto didn't seem to contain any crab, and my husband's steak was fatty and tasteless.

The next morning there was still no heating or hot water.....we'd have been grateful for even tepid water by this point. The smiley polish manager we spoke to unhelpfully explained that there was a known problem with the boiler, but 'no-one knows how to fix it' and that he would 'speak to chef', which worried us a little....it was starting to feel like an episode of Fawlty Towers.

Following a hearty cooked breakfast in the dining room, we negotiated our way past the morning delivery of fish and wondered whether it included the missing crab from the previous night? Returning to our musty room to gather our belongings, we discovered, just as we were about to check out, that through the miracle of modern science, our room now featured warm(ish water)!

If you are planning to stay at the Cherry Tree Inn, my advice is don't bother.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kctheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Row
4.9 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
676 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
824 reviews
5 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
162 reviews
2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
641 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherry Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherry Tree Inn

Address: Main Street, Stoke Row, Henley-on-Thames RG9 5QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames > Stoke Row
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Row
Price Range: £81 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cherry Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful pub/inn/restaurant in Stoke Row, in the heart of the South Oxfordshire countryside in the Chiltern Hills. Elegant, chic design gives a warm, inviting feeling and the overall ethos of The Cherry Tree is one of comfort, enjoyment and relaxation. Food is key here with bi monthly menu changes of seasonal produce. Well kept beers, fantastic wines and great champagnes make this a place for a weekend away with a loved one, catch up with friends or equally happy catering for corporate groups. Likewise, it is a wonderful local pub in a beautiful Oxfordshire village. Four en-suite letting rooms in the barn are fresh, crisp, elegant and clean and most comfortable. Overall, a wonderful experience and not to be missed if in this part of the country. There is a definite air of class about this place and the London set flock to it in droves for a great country fix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Cherry Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cherry Tree Hotel Henley-On-Thames
Cherry Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing