We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely pub with rooms just outside Henley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cherry Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Row
birmingham
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“lovely pub with rooms just outside Henley”
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We stayed over a weekend whilst visiting national trust properties and Stonor Park concert. The Inn is really a lovely English country pub with restaurant and a few rooms.Outside tables amongst the trees are very pleasant on a warm day. Staff are very friendly and breakfast was excellent with good sausages and eggs. We did not stay for dinner but would have liked to as the menu looked yummy.Rooms are modern and reasonably large with comfortable beds. You get a little noise in the evenings from outside drinkers and diners who are quite close to your windows but you expect that from a country inn and almost adds to the ambience of the place.No air con in the bedrooms means that on hot days it is a little warm to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    80
    27
    28
    14
See reviews for
43
124
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Arrived earlier than expected but the staff had the room ready for us and were very helpful. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable and we would definitely stay there again. My only critisism would be the breakfast, I would have liked more choice which would have included cereals and orange juice.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarah32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
146 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We booked this hotel from the write up in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay. We stayed for two nights for Henley Royal Regatta and it was perfect for that purpose being only 5 or 6 miles from Henley town.
It really is a pub with rooms, the rooms are in a converted building adjacent to the pub and are very modern and stylish in design. My only complaint is that straight away I noticed that they were not cleaned to a high standard and although such a minor thing overall left a grubby impression!! They certainly weren't dirty but the skirting boards and bedside lights had a layer of dust on them. The bathroom was small and functional.
The food in the pub was very good, we ate there both evenings and there is a friendly atmosphere with plently of local people enjoying the pub and the food.
I would certainly consider booking a room here again for regatta weekend, it is good value and was lovely to come back to the peaceful location after the crowds and heat of regatta.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DicknDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2009

I came across the cherry tree's web site while looking for some where nice to escape for the weekend and to be honest I wish I'd stayed at home.
I noticed on the web site that all the reviews are old and I can only assume that no one from Sawday's had been near this place for a long time, as it failed to deliver on every level.
No hot water for the duration of the stay, even though the staff kept telling us that it was fixed. Our room wasn't cleaned on the 2nd day and no one turned up to cook breakfast.
The general level of cleanliness was poor through-out and the rooms needed some real TLC, carpets stained, marks on the paint work and light not working.
The food on the first night was okay, though the service was all over the place but lunch on the Saturday was poor. My food was stone cold and my wife's was over cooked and dry, when we tried to explain this to the manager/person in charge they just shrugged their shoulders and walked off.
My only suggestion would be - stay in Henley and eat at the Crooked ?, a small pub around the corner that was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKK1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

We stayed once before on a 60th birthday celebration, The room was cold on arrival though we had made a reservation. Well designed and appointed . We had to leave early the following day to go to a funeral so the breakfast was necessarily rushed. Which was a shame as it was excellent. The meal the previous evening was also excellent though the service was ordinary given the fact that we selected this venue from Sawday's Guide. Locals appeared to be given a warmer welcome than the staying guests. And were served first even though later arrivals :(

Recently,in the area, we decided to return for a Sunday afternoon drink only. Despite the fact that the sign says 'Bar open all day' we were told that the place was closed - even though the doors were open. When we said that we just wanted a drink we got a shrug in response. So we left and went to a nearby village pub where the welcome was responsive.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freefromenvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Our welcome on arrival was indifferent to the point of being rude. Our attempts to have a hot bath before dinner were thwarted by the inadequate amount of hot water available. In the evening on arrival the radiators weren't working so room slightly cold, but bizarrely came on full blast in the middle of the night thus disturbing our sleep! The room hadn't been cleaned thoroughly and some of the fittings were falling apart - all a bit tired. Claim on web-site that rooms have flat-screen TV is misleading! Walls are thin, allowing noise from adjacent rooms.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2008

I had read two good reviews in guides so was expecting great things but was very disappointed. We arrived to find the neon lit pub surrounded by 1950s suburban housing. The heating was not on in the room so it was freezing (and small). The staff were unwelcoming.

The bathrooms had been poorly fitted, the taps moved when turned on and off and by Sunday one had fallen to bits, the shower never seemed to give hot water but the taps - which didnt have mixers gave scalding hot water.

Dinner was fine, but the service was slow and inexperienced, we ordered wine, the waiter poured some for my partner to taste and then just walked off without filling the glasses.

The worst was Sunday morning - they only have four rooms but we waited over three quarters of an hour for any food to arrive - we were told there was no toast as they had run out and the other table was told there was no marmalade. When it came it was a good breakfast but the delay had completely spoiled it.. The other couples all agreed they would not be returning.

  • Liked — nicely decorated
  • Disliked — cold, poor service,
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkeley08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Row
5.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
2.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
4.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherry Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherry Tree Inn

Property: The Cherry Tree Inn
Address: Main Street, Stoke Row, Henley-on-Thames RG9 5QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames > Stoke Row
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Row
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cherry Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful pub/inn/restaurant in Stoke Row, in the heart of the South Oxfordshire countryside in the Chiltern Hills. Elegant, chic design gives a warm, inviting feeling and the overall ethos of The Cherry Tree is one of comfort, enjoyment and relaxation. Food is key here with bi monthly menu changes of seasonal produce. Well kept beers, fantastic wines and great champagnes make this a place for a weekend away with a loved one, catch up with friends or equally happy catering for corporate groups. Likewise, it is a wonderful local pub in a beautiful Oxfordshire village. Four en-suite letting rooms in the barn are fresh, crisp, elegant and clean and most comfortable. Overall, a wonderful experience and not to be missed if in this part of the country. There is a definite air of class about this place and the London set flock to it in droves for a great country fix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Cherry Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cherry Tree Hotel Henley-On-Thames
Cherry Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing