We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crooked Billet

The Crooked Billet
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Stoke Row
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$72
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open all day every day - 12 until late.Food orders from 12 – 3pm and 6.30pm onwards Monday – Friday.Cooking all day Saturday and Sunday.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
246 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Superb Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I love the Crooked Billet.....we travel at least an hour's drive to eat here. Love sitting in the front garden if the weather is lovely, as it has been of late. Great choice of food and I always have a delicious meal. The service is also very good. Would definitely recommend. :) Also worth mentioning at lunchtime you can have a two course meal for £15, which is exceptional value for money.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mx5fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    137
    62
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Ouseburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
727 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
“Citroen Lovin' Gastro Pub Rivals Eiffel Tower!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Just a week before, we were having lunch in the M' starred Jules Verne Restaurant in the E Tower. The reason for mentioning? Well other than showing off, it warrants a mention because our lunch at the Crooked Billet was really good - just a quarter of the price and 150ft lower. Plus there was a rusty old Citroen to remind us of our trip to gay Paris.

After negotiating the lane to the CB, we had a great early afternoon lunch with the duck llvers, pork main and spinnach dumplings being particular big hits with our party of four. The service was excellent and the time warp setting adding to the charm of the occaison. We'll be back and next time hope to link to a live music session, singing the Fog on the Tyne with one of my heroes. Summary - go back in time and see why England will always beat France - even after extra time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MStJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“So glad we went!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

I had been wanting to find this pub for many years: ever since I'd read that Kate Winslet had her first wedding reception here and that the guests were all served local bangers and mash. We have driven past the signs to Stoke Row from both Henley and Reading many, many times on our way to Oxford but never ventured to find it...until today.
Our driver followed his nose down the dirt track that couldn't possibly have a pub on it but perserverance paid off and we found it (The road in from the other side is signposted and presumably a better road).
The pub is unusual in that it has no bar - it is a gastro pub now I suppose. It is in a very unusual and interesting property - it is a bit run down in places but whereas in other establishments this may be a fault, here, at the state it is currently adds to the charm.
The four of us had the lunch menu for £20 and then three of us also had puddings for £5 each - we thought that was very good value compared to the prices on the a la carte menu. The portions are generous and the food was delicious and very well presented.
We are hoping to return for one of the musical nights.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia0763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice country feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Good atmosphere, friendly staff with good food to match.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Us_and_the_Snowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track, but worth tracking down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

You get a real sense of history at this place. They serve excellent food, local beers and wine and have wonderful live music regularly. But for goodness sake, don't talk when the band are playing!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Wyc0mbeWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crooked Billet also viewed

Peppard Common, Henley-on-Thames
Lower Shiplake, Henley-on-Thames
 
Shiplake, Henley-on-Thames
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Crooked Billet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing