We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but too many tables”
Review of The Crooked Billet

The Crooked Billet
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Stoke Row
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$72
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Open all day every day - 12 until late.Food orders from 12 – 3pm and 6.30pm onwards Monday – Friday.Cooking all day Saturday and Sunday.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food but too many tables”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We always like to go here for special meal and usually enjoy the food. Tonight was very good but the only thing that stops it getting five stars is the cramped seating in the back room. This really does spoil what is a great setting. Service was excellent. I usually stick to the excellent beer as the wine is only served in small glasses or full bottles.

Helpful?
Thank Greypounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    145
    63
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a starter!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We ate here last night for the first time in about 12 months. Great to see some new dishes on the menu and that the service & atmosphere were as good as ever. I have to single out a dish that I tried for the first time - haggis on toast with a fried egg and a 'HP jus'!! Quite simply exceptional. Great to find the Crooked Billet still on top, top form.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NHK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Gastro Pub Dining”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

You will need a sat nav to get here as it is diffcult to find. The setting is lovely and as it was a sunny day we sat outside. We ate from the lunch menu (good value) and main menu. Highlights were the Haggis on toast, sea bass and duck with a side of Dauphinoise. Not so good were the vege options and the deconstructed jaffa cake which just did not quite work. The wine is expensive (bottle of Fleurie £ 45!!) and the service was good in parts but suffered due to volume of diners at the start and being seated outside (forgotten). The setting and the sunshine made it a lovely day but those little things which make something five rather than four were not there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrStuffy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
392 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great food but cramped hard seating”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

A very rural location well off the beaten track.

The menu is imaginative and the food quality is excellent. We found the tables to be small and the seating uncomfortable. The service was friendly but a bit hectic at times.

A geat meal but not the best meal experience, especially considering the prices.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stevew07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good meal, espensive wine list for what they offer”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Have been there a few time recently . Nice meal , very big starter ( too much and I am a good eater !! ) they charge for bread and butter which I don't like . Very nice staff but dirty glasses on table and tables next to us . Expensive wine list compare to other restaurant in the area ( cheapest bottle £22 and a 175 ml glass £5.75 a bit too much for quality offered !! Morgon at £45 !! Big mark up !!!
Food is good but didn't try desert as portion are huge . Choosing 2 starters instead of a starter and main is more than enough !!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blewtribals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crooked Billet also viewed

Peppard Common, Henley-on-Thames
Lower Shiplake, Henley-on-Thames
 
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Shiplake, Henley-on-Thames
 

Been to The Crooked Billet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing