We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of The Crooked Billet

The Crooked Billet
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Stoke Row
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$72
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Open all day every day - 12 until late.Food orders from 12 – 3pm and 6.30pm onwards Monday – Friday.Cooking all day Saturday and Sunday.
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Popped in during a busy Sunday lunch time and was lucky enough to get a table outside. Food was exceptionally good and the service equally impressive.
Well recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DR_UK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    145
    63
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A lovely country pub that offers excellent food and service. There is a varied menu that caters for any taste. We went on a beautiful evening and were able to sit outside. The food isn't cheap but the presentation and quality are excellent. Looking forward to returning soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A HIDDEN GEM”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A small 17th century coaching inn set in the middle of Oxfordshire countryside. Wonderful food and great friendly staff. Always a fresh menu with some unusual dishes but try the venison. Local fresh vegetables and an extensive quality wine list.Dress smart or casual, just feel at home but do book at least 1 week ahead You WILL have a marvellous time!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PAUL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent value”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We have lived in Wallingford for 10 years and have never been to The Crooked Billet....we have missed out! My family and I went on Monday for a birthday of somebody who is very passionate about food but also with others who enjoy food. We were amazed at the standard and at the value. The set lunch menu is excellent with lots of choice,the staff were attentive and helpful, and the pub itself it quirky. We also went with our 9 month old son...the staff were accommodating and happy to have him. We will definitely be going back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tang_tatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful just wonderful”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

What a find... Beautiful food ....great atmosphere... great service... One of the best night outs I have ever had and will be back very soon despite the distance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank t0p_0f_the_hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crooked Billet also viewed

Peppard Common, Henley-on-Thames
Lower Shiplake, Henley-on-Thames
 
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Shiplake, Henley-on-Thames
 

Been to The Crooked Billet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing