We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is very bad we did not stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden
Ranked #1 of 1 Hambleden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food is very bad we did not stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

We had fish and chips nasty cold not cooked soft batter unhelpful staff chips tasted reheated see picture. Do not eat here over price crap in a lovely village get a new chef would be the only way ahead also so staff who smile would be good try the dog and badger up the road much better the manager of the stag should visit get some tips

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackpot137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
I was really disappointed to read your review as it sounds as though we failed to deliver our usual high standards on both service and the quality of our food - I can only offer my sincere apologies and reassure you that I will be discussing your feedback in our team meeting. We work hard to offer creative and tasty menus and it's a real shame that you did not experience all we have to offer on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    53
    18
    12
    10
See reviews for
22
108
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were only able to stay for one night but absolutely loved it - it's such a treat to stay somewhere with heaps of character reminiscent of old England. The bed and bedding were exceptional and it was just a short walk downstairs into the dining area where we had some really super food.
Everyone was really helpful. The village itself is wonderful - not to be missed!!!
Thank you so much!!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank byfieldhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Many thanks for your comments, it's a pleasure to read you enjoyed The Stag & Huntsman so much. We're very proud of our old country village pub and it's wonderful to be able to offer a small selection of rooms that also maintain such a traditional, yet luxurious, feel. Great to hear you enjoyed your meals and hope you come back and see us in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had an overnight stop here last week and whilst the room was very nice it was still not ready at 4pm and was very hot. The pub is ordinary and the breakfast service was not great, the cooked breakfast was pretty tasteless, billed as a luxury Bed & Breakfast this it was not! Only one person serving and they had workmen in who were very noisy!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yorkshiretraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us as much as we’d hope. If you choose to stay again, please let us know if you're hot and we can offer you a fan - as a listed building we are unable to install air con I'm afraid. I'm also sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your breakfast, we pride ourselves on using excellent quality and locally sourced ingredients wherever possible, which we think adds something special to all dishes, so I will pass your comments on to our Head Chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
185 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Parking can be tricky in this picturesque (out of the way) village. Welcoming, friendly staff. Lots of nooks and crannies to drink or dine. Excellent pub food (REALLY!). Well priced. Lost half point for cold plates. Otherwise a perfect pub. Americans would LOVE this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
What a score! Many thanks for such a good review; I'm really pleased to read how much you enjoyed your meal and will pass on your comments about the cold plates - that was clearly a slip on the day and I apologise; I do hope you return soon and we can give you a 10 out of 10 experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

The countryside is absolutely breath taking, the hotel is set in a very beautiful and quiet location with outdoor sitting area. Our bedroom was small but well appointed. The bed was comfortable and cotton linen a must for me. The bathroom was also well decorated all in all a warm atmosphere.The dining room was well decorated and had simple furnishings with beautiful wood flooring, and some leather chairs, it was very welcoming.
Breakfast was fantastic, toasted seeded bread, ham, cheese, cereal eggs of all sorts, yogurt and jam.
Without hesitation I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for such a positive review, delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the luxurious furnishings; we are indeed very lucky to have such a lovely property in this beautiful location in the Chilterns. Great to hear you'll be back, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

One night stay as a bank holiday treat. Room was lovely cannon wood well fitted out , we could open the window and had a pleasant view of pub garden and the fields. The bathroom is very nicely fitted ,all new and very clean. We had a quick barbecue lunch , this was poor value for money and the team need to look at this ASAP.otherwise think they will loose local trade. My husband supplies restaurants and hotels with all fresh foods ,meat fish and veg,so we know how much things cost! The skewers were rather thin ,didn't get a potato though was on the blackboard. I,m sure they know they are being cheeky with the £11.95 cost .
Dinner however was beautifully cooked and presented in the sweet dining room. Not cheap but good. We had a lovely cooked breakfast using good bacon etc. staff worked hard and were very pleasant , think they do need two staff though in a morning ,not one.
We would return ,its a lovely part of the world . It would be a pity for them to have more negative reviews if all they need to alter is what they provide for the price with regard to BBQ.
H

Room Tip: Cannons wood very pleasant excellent bathroom Sorry no fitness or pool can,t get the spots undone!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beechnut_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thanks for leaving us your thoughts; really happy to read you had such a nice stay and enjoyed dinner with us - we are passionate about fantastic quality, locally sourced, seasonal produce and we believe our menus are good value to that end. On your note about the BBQ, it was launched over the May bank holiday and we have since listened to feedback and tweaked our prices so I do hope you're tempted to return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We arrived early with our sons & daughter-in-laws but were told by a very unhelpful young man that check in was at 3pm,which we did realize, but as we had been on a brewery tour we just wanted to settle down and get some lunch, so we ordered drinks but then overheard a very pleasant young lady telling someone that their room was ready so we asked again if ours were ready. The young man was not impressed but did check and told us 2 of the rooms were ready.

We got our cases from the car, but as one of my sons was on his way to the room he encountered a VERY rude cleaning lady who asked him or the number of his room. He told her that he was in "The Pit" to which she replied, " i said, what number are you in?" As all the rooms had a large key tag with the name of the room on he hadn't realized that there was also a metal disc which once may have had a number on it but it was so worn it was you couldn't read it!

This wasn't the first encounter with this rude cleaner, as my other son had spoken to her previously and got much the same response.

Thankfully the staff at breakfast were much more helpful and pleasant. But have to say, the breakfast was very disappointing. I had read a review which also told of a depleted buffet, and it was just the same.

At the time of our booking we also reserved a table for dinner, based on the menu we had looked at online. Unfortunately we found that this is changed frequently. The new menu was very pretentious and over priced so we decided to drive in to Henley where we had much more choice and better value for money.

It is such a shame that there were so many negatives about this place because the rooms were lovely and so comfortable and the village was beautiful.

I think that they need to look at the staff situation as they have got one or two that need some customer care training. Unfortunately we didn't get their names.

I wouldn't go back!

Room Tip: We had "Chestnuts " It was a lovely room but was above the bar, so if there was anyone in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback; I was very disappointed to read about your experience to be honest and I sincerely apologise for the fact that your stay did not live up to the standards that we take pride in. I will be investigating the way you were spoken to with the team and I'm also sorry that you did not stay for dinner. Our menus are carefully designed to make the most of local and seasonal ingredients, and they change on a monthly basis because of that - I apologise if this was not made clear to you. I truly hope you will return and please do contact me at The Stag & Huntsman if you would like to discuss your stay with me personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hambleden
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.0 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
0.0 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
0.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden

Property: The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden
Address: Hambleden RG9 6RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Hambleden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hambleden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the Chiltern Hills, between Henley and Marlow and just up from the River Thames, The Stag & Huntsman, lovingly restored, maintains the old world charm of a village pub. With a focus towards the local community - Hambleden and the local residents - the myriad of small and cosy drinking and eating spaces within the pub, the nine letting bedrooms and the pretty garden also provide a resting place and watering hole for those who travel further distances to the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing