We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whatever happened to this great pub?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden
Ranked #1 of 1 Hambleden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cholsey, Oxon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Whatever happened to this great pub?”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We've been coming here for years!! This is the second time in a couple of months, since the refurb, we've been disappointed with the food. The first time there were a couple of parties and the staff were pretty stretched so OK we forgave that one (even after a 50 minute wait). Went on Saturday with fingers crossed. Ham and eggs for me. Fish and chips for my wife. Quite frankly I've had better in a greasy spoon café. Management need to get a grip and stop overpricing for rubbish food from an equally rubbish menu.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnBoyCholsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and I'm sincerely sorry that you have felt underwhelmed on your last two visits; we have made some changes in response to customer feedback on the menu in the last month and I'm disappointed we didn't manage to satisfy you - my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    54
    20
    13
    10
See reviews for
23
113
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Lovely place and lovely accommodation! No complaints at all...just try and it won't disappointed you. We've got the Reservoir room, the bed was really comfortable, the toilet very good, the dinner and the breakfast amazing..Thanks to all the staff,especially to Ewa who has been very kind and helpfully!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maro2085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for such wonderful compliments on every aspect of your stay; I'm really thrilled to hear you enjoyed it so much and will share your comments with Ewa, who will be equally pleased to hear them. I do hope we can host you again soon, and perhaps for longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I stayed here with my husband last weekend and really liked both the pub and the village. Our room (The Reservoir) was cosy with a very comfortable bed and a good bathroom. It had all the amenities we needed including filter coffee, lovely biscuits and proper sugar cubes instead of those awful packets. The bathroom had a wonderfully deep bath, perfect for a soak after a long day. It also had a powerful shower. My one and only gripe is that in order to look in the mirror to dry my hair, I had to move both the table and the mirror nearer to the plug; ok, not a major problem, but I don't really want to have to do furniture removals in order to use the hairdryer. A mirror on the wall or even an extension lead for the hairdryer would do the trick. Like I aid, a minor point and the only fault. There was a Beer Festival over the whole weekend. We knew about it and it was partly the reason we chose the hotel. It was small and low key in the garden at the rear of the hotel. There was a BBQ and also a band.We didn't sample the food, but the beers were good - I am not really a real ale person, but I enjoyed a few different ones having read the 'bumph' about each one. They were very good. The band were entertaining and kept playing when I am sure that their hands must have been almost numb with cold! They certainly added to the atmosphere and had people dancing along on the grass. Breakfast was excellent. We did not sample the restaurant food so I cannot speak for that, but the comments made in earlier reviews re the food certainly don't apply to breakfast. There was a good selection of well presented cold foods and the cooked meal was hearty and included sausage and bacon of decent quality. There was a plentiful supply of coffee and toast. No complaints at all. The pub is in a delightful village nestling in the most beautiful countryside. We stopped at the local village of Turville - a walk up to the windmill affords lovely views and the village is well worth a visit. We also went to Henley on Thames which had a very good tapas restaurant on the high street....that's why we couldn't manage the BBQ!
I would certainly recommend the Stag and Huntsman and would happily return.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back overlooking the garden, which meant we had no noise from the car park or ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thanks for such a lovely review. I'm really please that you enjoyed our annual beer festival. I'll certainly look into getting a more practical mirror put in the bedroom so thanks for the feedback. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future if not for next year’s beer festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

A lovely old pub in a beautiful village. The staff were excellent and my dog was made very welcome. Such a shame that the food wasn't at the same high standard - small portions, that weren't a good enough quality to justify the price. I will still return though as everything else was very enjoyable & relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bandbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thanks for leaving your feedback; whilst I'm really pleased to hear you enjoyed the majority of your stay, I'm disappointed you didn't feel the food met your expectations. We are in the process of reviewing our menus and plan to launch a new menu within the next couple of weeks; I hope you decide to eat with us on your next visit and it would be great if you could let me know what you think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

To see my negative review has been removed by the pub - what appalling customer relations. Used to be lovely but the service and food a couple of weeks ago was awful. Waited an hour and a half for a pathetic BBQ. Such a shame

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Flower1783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Flower1783, you posted your previous review on the restaurant page for The Stag & Huntsman (this is the accommodation page); I replied to your review and also sent you an email asking you to contact me in response to your email directly to the pub. Please rest assured we would not remove any review as we believe all feedback and a balanced opinion is important; I do hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Used to be a lovely pub but after this visit, would not hurry back. No atmosphere in the bar, staff indifferent, food (what there was) OK but small portions and over-priced. Food stained menus. Ate quickly and left for somewhere better to have another drink. Didn't stay so can't comment on accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank colin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for your comments, I have taken each one on board and I'm truly sorry you didn't have the kind of experience we aim to offer our customers - it sounds as though we let you down on a number of points. We are planning to change our menu content in the near future and I do hope you come back again soon to see the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Stag and The Huntsman is a charming English pub in a gorgeous setting. The hotel accommodation is beautifully appointed. Luxury bed linen, toiletries and decor are a delightful surprise. The hotel dining area and beer garden are the perfect place for a formal or casual dining experience. The small village is a perfect place to start you "Midsomer Murder" tour. The tea shop/post office is the perfect place for cream tea and to get your Midsomer tour book

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thanks for such a wonderful review; great to hear that we ticked all the right boxes and look forward to seeing you back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hambleden
0.0 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
602 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
764 reviews
0.0 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden

Property: The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden
Address: The Stag and Huntsman, Hambleden RG9 6RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Hambleden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hambleden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the Chiltern Hills, between Henley and Marlow and just up from the River Thames, The Stag & Huntsman, lovingly restored, maintains the old world charm of a village pub. With a focus towards the local community - Hambleden and the local residents - the myriad of small and cosy drinking and eating spaces within the pub, the nine letting bedrooms and the pretty garden also provide a resting place and watering hole for those who travel further distances to the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Stag & Huntsman at Hambleden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing