We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kanua Tera Ecolodge
Nearby Hotels
Les cases de Plum(Le Mont-Dore)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nouvata(Noumea)
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Lagon Hotel(Noumea)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
23
66
35
21
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
66
35
21
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed 3 nights in a bungalow at Kanua Tera. Separated by a fringe of trees, the shallow lagoon lapped almost at our verandah. Our goal was to stay in a place within easy access of the Parc Provincial de la Rivière Bleue, home of the Kagu or Cagou, a lovely flightless bird the size of a large chicken. Found only on New Caledonia, it is in danger of extinction and is a delight to see. It was a longer drive from Kanua Tera to the Parc than was described to us or than we anticipated, but other than driving by one huge, ugly sprawling nickle mine, the countryside is strikingly different than other parts of the country and well worth seeing. Once in the Lodge, we found it very comfortable. The food at dinner and breakfast was appealing and tasty, although they seem to have run out of eggs one morning. Over all it is a place with presence.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KesDonahue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed here two nights because its the only accommodation close to the Goro nickel mine that is not in the mining camp. Its down a small access road by the beach.
The accommodation is mostly thatched bungalow's. I stayed mid week so it was quiet but its a popular spot with the mine workers and families at weekends.
Food at the restaurant was simple but good. Breakfast is limited to continental.
Internet access is available around reception but not in the rooms.

Room Tip: Check the bathroom as some have leaking pipes in the ceiling.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DougA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Lovely bungalow right on the beach. We stayed mid week which turned out to be a good chance, as apparently it filled up with mine workers and families with lots of children during the weekend. Stayed two nights, and could have managed another easily, but quite remote, with little around so wouldn't recommend more than 3 nights. Restaurant good but as usual expensive. Main point was roads getting there terrible, worst on Grand Terre, with pot holes our hired Yaris could disappear into. Make sure you arrive during daylight so you can navigate the holes. At one point had to get out and plan a route through a bad patch. However coast road there an enjoyable trip, and interesting to see the bottom of the island. Not really sure why it's called an Eco lodge? Not much Eco in evidence, but good quality place. 2 nights for 1 deal made it just affordable.

Room Tip: All rooms right on the beach. Bring your own wine and beer if you drink.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimStrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Planned to stay here for two nights. Upon arrival was pleased with location, greeting and general ambiance of the place. Located on a beautiful beach and is very secluded and relaxing. Everything was great...until we went to go to sleep. While lying in bed my wife spotted a rat eyeing us from above the door. I barked at it and it left...so we thought. After seeing him several times more we knew we would not be spending the nigtht alone and opten to go ask for another room. The next room we went to (pulling all of our baggage and our sleeping son) was not cleaned. Last attempt we found ourselves in a nice room with no rats in sight, however they couls be heard all night scurrying inside the grass walls.

The next morning I told them I was not staying another night and was leaving, and the manager on duty acted as though he was doing me a favour by charging me the 50% rate (we were using a cupon for buy one night and get one night free). I told him that the experience we had we should not have paid anything (3 room changes after 11 PM). I was told that we were out in the bush and there was "nothing that can be done about the rats, and every hotel in NC has them". I've stayed in ALOT of hotels in NC and this was a first. I told them that for starters they could close the large gap between the walls and the roof, and the response was "then it wouldn't be a traditional melanesean experience". I believe most people would give up a little authenticity to have a rodent free stay!

I contacted the hotel GM and got nothing other than a "je suis desole". The rates are extremely high at 23000 XPF / night for this experience. I will admit, it it wasn't for the rats it would have been a nice experience, as the place is beautiful. Maybe they are doing something about it, so don't rule it out. I just feel it necessary to warn those who may have phobias!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jasonhigdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We stayed for two nights in a well furnished traditional thatched tropical bungalow that slept three people. The resort is situated in Port Boise Bay right on a beautiful sandy beach and you can wade out to the coral reef. There is snorkel gear and 2 person kayaks for hire. The staff were very friendly, but service was a little slow when the restaurant got busy. The hotel is very well designed and constructed and blends very well into the surrounding forest, but it is quite remote. The food was very good but was fairly expensive and the bar has a large drinks selection. Overall, a very nice realaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickyP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews