We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfy”
Review of Hotel de la Baie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de la Baie
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here for one night before getting the ferry from Cherbourg. Not the easiest place to find but we did eventually and it is situated right on the beach at Donnville. Nice welcome from the reception and our room was just what we needed for one night. Very clean and a comfortable bed and en suite. Had dinner out in Granville as the hotel has a more corporate feel and its not our scene, however, great position, fairly priced and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mrandmrssilversurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Hotel is very new. Right on the beach.
There is a difference between 'sea view' and 'lateral sea view', be careful when booking, our sea view needed a bit of a neck stretch.
Rooms are lovely, distressed wood effect, all nice clean and new.

Breakfast was excellent, well worth €9.

Dinner was a little disappointing, I had ox cheeks as main, which was very nice but really not much of it, was still quite hungry afterwards...and when I mentioned it, it was suggested that I have dessert! But the rest of the group had enough in their mains. Next time I'd eat out

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smallfootstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Booked this hotel for a 2 day stay on the way back home to the UK, we did not realise it was a spa hotel, we knew it had a pool that wast it. This hotel is excellent, superb service and very friendly staff (apart from one over officious pool attandant). The family rooms were probably more suited to a family with younger children, a small observation rather than a gripe.

The restaurant was excellent with the 9 Euro breakfast proving superb value and quality. We had one evening meal and although a bit pricey the quality of food was great. We had the fixed price two course menu for 22 Euros per person.

The spa pool was a wonderfully relaxing end to our holiday and the bonus is you can still top up your tan as the pool has outside access to a decking area with loungers. very nice indeed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McFar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Hotel de la Baie is very new, well-equipped, and comfortable. Staff are friendly and facilities are good. Rooms are a good size and come with an excellent shower and separate bathroom and toilet. Everything is very comfortable and I slept very well.

Breakfast was €9 extra each but is good value, a very good buffet with a mixture of cooked and continental. The restaurant is very pleasant and bright, the only shame is that they have put the car park in between the beach and the hotel spoiling what would be a superb view of the fantastic beach which runs in front of the hotel and a couple of miles either side.

The only problem is that the hotel is a long way from Granville if you have no car, as we did not. In the morning it is a lovely walk alongside the beach and across the cliff tops for around 35 minutes. It seemed a bit further on the way back after dinner though! It’s a great hotel for a beach holiday but not so good for seeing the town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Although headlined as being in Manche, this hotel is fairly and squarely by the beach in Donville le Bains, a couple of miles north of Granville. It is a brand new Best Western and looks and smells like a new hotel. Public areas are spacious with the look of a four star hotel, and there is a large restaurant where we ate at one night. It was OK, but I would recommend a fish restaurant by the docks at Granville as being a better bet with better food and better value. There is an outside terrace where you can sit overlooking the sea. There are various spa treatments you can have if you are so inclined.

Rooms are a reasonable size, wood floor not carpet. Separate WC and shower rooms. Good lighting. Inoffensive decor. Very comfortable beds. Wifi is excellent. Tea and coffee in rooms.

Overall a very good quality hotel with no real niggles and, when we booked it, at a price we thought quite reasonable by French standards these days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pentangle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurélien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank juliencousin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donville-les-Bains
1.1 mi away
Mercure Granville Le Grand Large Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel des Bains
Hotel des Bains
#4 of 7 in Granville
335 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel ibis Granville Port de Plaisance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Granville
Ibis Budget Granville
#5 of 7 in Granville
446 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Relais des Iles
Le Relais des Iles
#1 of 1 in Coudeville-sur-Mer
146 reviews
12.8 mi away
La Villa Julia
La Villa Julia
#1 of 3 in Agon-Coutainville
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Baie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Baie

Address: Ermitage Street, 50350 Donville-les-Bains, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Baie)
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Donville-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Donville-les-Bains
Price Range: £93 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Baie 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de la Baie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing