We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who says "vegan" can't be delicious?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Sage

Great Sage
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Clarksville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great Sage is anything but common, featuring a bold menu inspired by exotic flavors from around the world, using organic ingredients to nourish the body, and providing a warm, earthy, yet romantic atmosphere perfect for any occasion. Great Sage seeks to provide the highest quality gourmet foods created from only plant-based sources.Great Sage opened in June of 2004 as the third business to be added to the exciting new venture called, "Conscious Corner" in Clarksville, MD. Owners Jeff & Holly Kaufman and Jody Cutler began Conscious Corner in June of 2000 with Roots Market, an independent natural and organic market catering to the gourmet and natural foods enthusiast.
Walkersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Who says "vegan" can't be delicious?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

What a gem of a little restaurant! I'm not vegan but eat mostly vegetarian by choice. I've eaten here a few times and each time was delighted by the variety and hearty choices. If you are a vegan or vegetarian or just want to expand your boundaries outside of meat, this is the spot to try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    45
    13
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved the crabcake!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

My sister is vegan so she suggested we go. Great news, there is a Roots Grocery in the same shopping center. Food was fantastiic. I had the thai dish and she had the crabcake. Both were good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rjajthrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Perfect Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Gluten Free and Vegan Truly a find! Outstanding Food and great service. My only suggestion is that they should consider trying out the newer Gluten Free breads available

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Great Sage is a vegan paradise that has a menu varied enough to satisfy even the most confirmed meat eaters. There are creative and delicious dishes that are sure to keep you wanting to come back to try something else the next time. The restaurant ambiance is magnificent. You can come dressed up for a special dinner or slip in for a relaxed casual lunch. The servers are friendly and helpful in suggesting dishes. This is one restaurant where you don't want to skip dessert - but won't feel guilty as it is healthy!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lanpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food, but WAY overpriced....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I am not a veggie but I go because my wife is and she likes the restaurant. Most of what I've eaten is very good and healthy. However, the pricing is really high. For example a meatless
( obviously) Green Lentil And Green Chili Burger cost $17!!! Are you serious? I know it is organic but that is a ridiculously high price for lentils, green chile and a bun. I am still hungry when I am done. look at the menu prices and it is a little shocking what they charge to say the least. i think it is a good restaurant but give it a low grade based on the pricing...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PRF63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Sage also viewed

Clarksville, MD
Clarksville, MD
 

Been to Great Sage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing